Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 17
  1. #1
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Christchurch
    Posts
    2,445

    Default Vodafone's new Broadband system

    We have been waiting for over 3 years for Enable to connect us to fibre, they acknowledge receipt of our emails and that's it.

    BH bought a new cellphone and had Vodafone take all her stuff off old phone onto new.

    I mentioned how our dealings with Enable were going with fibre and they commented that Vodafone were bringing out their new super fast Broadband.

    Received a letter yesterday as well as an email.

    Our question is: wtf is this UltraFast HFC, (Hibrid Fibre Coaxial) for short and do we kiss goodbye to Fibre?.

    Landline goes of course and phone connects through the computer.

    wainui you mentioned that you were with Vodafone, in the past!!!, your explanation would be greatly received.

    lurking and BH.

  2. #2
    Senior Member 1101's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    7,154

    Default Re: Vodafone's new Broadband system

    Quote Originally Posted by Lurking View Post

    Our question is: wtf is this UltraFast HFC, (Hibrid Fibre Coaxial) for short and do we kiss goodbye to Fibre?.
    I wouldnt.
    Get Fibre instead .

    from the internet
    "HFC (used to be called FibreX until the ComCom got grumpy) is fibre to the edge of the property, then a coax cable from the house to the fibre cable. Technically lower speeds than fibre to the house but you might not notice the lag depending on your current fibre speed.

    Vodafone will always push HFC in a house that's on that network because they don't have to pay the wholesale rate to Chorus for the fibre network."

  3. #3
    Enterprise IT Consultant chiefnz's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Sydney AU
    Posts
    1,670

    Default Re: Vodafone's new Broadband system

    Quote Originally Posted by 1101 View Post
    I wouldnt.
    Get Fibre instead .

    from the internet
    "HFC (used to be called FibreX until the ComCom got grumpy) is fibre to the edge of the property, then a coax cable from the house to the fibre cable. Technically lower speeds than fibre to the house but you might not notice the lag depending on your current fibre speed.

    Vodafone will always push HFC in a house that's on that network because they don't have to pay the wholesale rate to Chorus for the fibre network."
    I'm on HFC here in Aussie 1Gbps/50Mbps (Down/Up) - hasn't skipped a beat and the performance is fantastic...currently waiting to hear back about upping the upload speed to about 100Mbps at least....

    Asus PRIME Z370-P
    Core i7-8700K @ 5GHz
    Corsair Hydro H100x
    32GB DDR4 @ 3200MHz
    Intel 660P 512GB M.2 NVMe
    Crucial P1 1TB M.2 NVMe
    Crucial 512GB SSD
    Gigabyte RTX 2060 OC
    Corsair Crystal 460X
    EVGA SuperNOVA G+ 650W

  4. #4
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Christchurch
    Posts
    2,445

    Default Re: Vodafone's new Broadband system

    Thanks 1101, chiefnz, 50/50, have to toss a coin at this stage.

    Aussies' have 7 times our population and would indeed need a much better internet service.

    lurking and BH.

  5. #5
    Enterprise IT Consultant chiefnz's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Sydney AU
    Posts
    1,670

    Default Re: Vodafone's new Broadband system

    Fibre is obviously the better choice as it can support higher speeds but whether you can actually buy a service which is higher than 1Gbps is another story.

    1Gbps is plenty for home use to be honest so for me, whilst it's "cooler" having fibre, there is nothing wrong with HFC...

    I guess your decision will be determined by which is available, pricing for a service, speeds available and cost to get it installed.

    Asus PRIME Z370-P
    Core i7-8700K @ 5GHz
    Corsair Hydro H100x
    32GB DDR4 @ 3200MHz
    Intel 660P 512GB M.2 NVMe
    Crucial P1 1TB M.2 NVMe
    Crucial 512GB SSD
    Gigabyte RTX 2060 OC
    Corsair Crystal 460X
    EVGA SuperNOVA G+ 650W

  6. #6
    Senior Member piroska's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2017
    Location
    With Kim-Jong-Mum
    Posts
    3,132

    Default Re: Vodafone's new Broadband system

    get fibre.
    And not with Vodafone.
    Ex-pctek

  7. #7
    Wrinkly Member! B.M.'s Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Mount Maunganui
    Posts
    7,828

    Default Re: Vodafone's new Broadband system

    Quote Originally Posted by chiefnz View Post
    I'm on HFC here in Aussie 1Gbps/50Mbps (Down/Up) - hasn't skipped a beat and the performance is fantastic...currently waiting to hear back about upping the upload speed to about 100Mbps at least....
    Wow, can I ask what area you are in and which provider?

    My experience over there has been awful, and the only provider that worked reasonably was Telstra.

    Mind you that was on the East Coast of Queensland and Melbourne.
    Global Warming is Mann made.
    .
    The problems we face today are because the people who work for a living are now outnumbered by those who vote for a living.

    I take no responsibility for the accuracy of any media links I quote.

  8. #8
    Wrinkly Member! B.M.'s Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Mount Maunganui
    Posts
    7,828

    Default Re: Vodafone's new Broadband system

    Quote Originally Posted by piroska View Post
    get fibre.
    And not with Vodafone.
    +1
    Global Warming is Mann made.
    .
    The problems we face today are because the people who work for a living are now outnumbered by those who vote for a living.

    I take no responsibility for the accuracy of any media links I quote.

  9. #9
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Christchurch
    Posts
    2,445

    Default Re: Vodafone's new Broadband system

    Quote Originally Posted by piroska View Post
    get fibre.
    And not with Vodafone.
    As I said, been in contact with Enable several times. But they must have known that this other thing was in the pipeline with Voda. and have stalled because of it.

    Voda. is coming out next Tuesday to set it all up and I will ask them about why Enable has not been in touch about our free fibre connection.

    It does pee one off tho.

    lurking and BH

  10. #10
    Enterprise IT Consultant chiefnz's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Sydney AU
    Posts
    1,670

    Default Re: Vodafone's new Broadband system

    Quote Originally Posted by B.M. View Post
    Wow, can I ask what area you are in and which provider?

    My experience over there has been awful, and the only provider that worked reasonably was Telstra.

    Mind you that was on the East Coast of Queensland and Melbourne.
    I'm in Sydney, East Ryde, provider is Aussie Broadband... they have THE BEST service hands down. I used to be with Vodafone, then Telstra then Optus... they all sucked... Aussie BB has been awesome.

    Asus PRIME Z370-P
    Core i7-8700K @ 5GHz
    Corsair Hydro H100x
    32GB DDR4 @ 3200MHz
    Intel 660P 512GB M.2 NVMe
    Crucial P1 1TB M.2 NVMe
    Crucial 512GB SSD
    Gigabyte RTX 2060 OC
    Corsair Crystal 460X
    EVGA SuperNOVA G+ 650W

Similar Threads

  1. Vodafone 3G Broadband question
    By Mamaz_NZ in forum PressF1
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 01-09-2009, 01:28 PM
  2. Vodafone BroadBand?
    By dian77 in forum PressF1
    Replies: 13
    Last Post: 25-07-2008, 04:48 PM
  3. Vodafone 3g broadband.
    By pine-o-cleen in forum PC World Chat
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 27-06-2008, 05:24 PM
  4. Vodafone broadband
    By nerd in forum PressF1
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 06-06-2008, 10:32 PM
  5. Vodafone broadband
    By mzee in forum PressF1
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 03-05-2008, 07:55 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •