Results 1 to 4 of 4
  1. #1
    Junior Member learning's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Redmond
    Posts
    454

    Default Home Router DHCP Server Setup

    I have a old Netgear DSL modem router combo which is about 10 years old on which i changed the default router IP to be
    10.1.10.67
    255.255.255.0

    I also ran same router as DHCP server with pool range 10.1.10.1 - 10.1.10.254 with few DHCP reservations in that range for some of my home machines.
    This worked with no problems.

    I got a new Netgear Router now and tried to do same config but got error "Invalid Data. Lan IP can not be in DHCP pool range!"

    Is this something new with NetGear router or any home routers in general or has always been the case?

  2. #2
    Senior Member MushHead's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Posts
    504

    Default Re: Home Router DHCP Server Setup

    Honestly, I'd have never even thought to set the DHCP server's LAN address inside its pool range, so that restriction does make sense. However, I can also see that it wouldn't be that hard to write a DHCP server that allowed your scenario, because the server always should actually test for IP address conflicts when allocating from the pool, even for is own address.

  3. #3
    Junior Member learning's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Redmond
    Posts
    454

    Default Re: Home Router DHCP Server Setup

    Quote Originally Posted by MushHead View Post
    Honestly, I'd have never even thought to set the DHCP server's LAN address inside its pool range, so that restriction does make sense. However, I can also see that it wouldn't be that hard to write a DHCP server that allowed your scenario, because the server always should actually test for IP address conflicts when allocating from the pool, even for is own address.
    Thanks, I agree it should be able to do a check before allocating. Maybe new home modem /routers dont allow that anymore

    I would have probably not done that kind of setup years ago if I was aware of these restrictions. Only reason I tried to do same IP setup on new Router is I had setup a Win Server recently which is a Domain controller and running as a DNS server also, with its IP being 10.1.10.1

    Now with this new router complaining, not permitting DHCP LAN IP assignment in the range I need to give up 10.1.10.1 IP to it, which means my DC and DNS server would be re IP'd
    And I was trying to avoid re IP since I am not familiar with Windows Server - DNS and DC config....Just enough to use it with 'out of the box' install settings.

    Since my post I took the chance, gave up 10.1.10.1 to router and re IPd DC and DNS server and now all my home machines cant get DNS resolution from it.
    Now it will be a PIA to google and figure out how to fix it =\
    Last edited by learning; 13-12-2020 at 02:02 PM.

  4. #4
    Senior Member fred_fish's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Posts
    1,992

    Default Re: Home Router DHCP Server Setup

    Set your router to 10.1.10.254 and trim back your dhcp pool.
    Gathering of the storm
    And the winds are blowing wild
    Sweeping over cross and creed, country, colour and child

Similar Threads

  1. DHCP Server (IP Address )
    By AppleFan in forum PressF1
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 16-06-2015, 04:33 PM
  2. home network / server setup?
    By rainmaker in forum PressF1
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 13-06-2007, 10:09 AM
  3. Replies: 11
    Last Post: 25-03-2005, 01:46 PM
  4. XP and Linux - need to use a dhcp server
    By mcarroll_nz in forum PressF1
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 03-06-2003, 03:51 PM
  5. DHCP on winnt 4 server
    By boom23 in forum PressF1
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 15-08-2002, 11:33 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •