Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    Member bk T's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Auckland
    Posts
    6,186

    Default PCIE cable - single or double?

    Had a general discussion with a fiend regarding the use of a single PCIE connector, or a dual PCIE connectors.

    As the GPU requires 2 powers, to use a double PCIE connectors looks tidier; whereas running two single PCIEs makes a bit more 'messy'.

    Does it really matter whether running two separate cables or just one with two connectors?

  2. #2
    Senior Member piroska's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2017
    Location
    With Kim-Jong-Mum
    Posts
    3,059

    Default Re: PCIE cable - single or double?

    Never seen a double power cable. I think it would depend on the PSU, is it on separate rails or not?
    Anyway what's wrong with cable ties? Makes all of them neat.
    Ex-pctek

  3. #3
    Member bk T's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Auckland
    Posts
    6,186

    Default Re: PCIE cable - single or double?

    They are quite common among Corsair PSUs.


    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	corsair.PNG 
Views:	22 
Size:	44.3 KB 
ID:	10697

    Both of my PCs have that at home.

  4. #4
    Member bk T's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Auckland
    Posts
    6,186

    Default Re: PCIE cable - single or double?

    From my existing PC.


    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	corsair2.jpg 
Views:	35 
Size:	39.8 KB 
ID:	10698

  5. #5
    amateur expert dugimodo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Posts
    8,059

    Default Re: PCIE cable - single or double?

    If it's a decent PSU it should make no difference, and if it's a single rail design it definitely will make no difference.
    Having 4 connectors across 2 different cables allows for the use of 2 graphics cards. If you had to split the cables what would the point of the second connector be.

    The only time I would worry about it is if you have a PSU that's near the lower limit for your system and there's a need to make sure the load is spread evenly.
    Most lower wattage PSUs only have a single cable because they couldn't handle the load from two graphics cards anyway.

    Maybe I use different brands from piroska but dual connectors on one cable has been very common on all my builds over the years and I've never had any issue with using both on one card.
    Ryzen 2700X, 16Gb DDR4RAM, 512GB M.2 NVME SSD, MSI GTX1070

  6. #6
    Senior Member piroska's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2017
    Location
    With Kim-Jong-Mum
    Posts
    3,059

    Default Re: PCIE cable - single or double?

    Quote Originally Posted by bk T View Post
    From my existing PC.


    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	corsair2.jpg 
Views:	35 
Size:	39.8 KB 
ID:	10698
    Oh that. Thats not what I pictured, I picture something like side by side.
    Thats just a normal cable, satas are like that too
    Ex-pctek

Similar Threads

  1. Single side vs double side ram
    By Tukapa in forum PressF1
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 28-07-2005, 11:06 PM
  2. Single click double clicks, please help
    By Wilky in forum PressF1
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 03-11-2003, 06:52 PM
  3. Single or double sided SDRAM?
    By Mike in forum PressF1
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 08-05-2003, 12:14 AM
  4. Single side & double side RAM
    By Blue_face in forum PressF1
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 13-02-2003, 09:51 PM
  5. Replies: 9
    Last Post: 25-09-2002, 10:35 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •