Results 1 to 8 of 8
  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Hawke's Bay
    Posts
    157

    Default Can a CAT6 wired outlet from a modem at the end or the house, be used to create WiFi?

    WiFi is okay in most of the house. But the signal is poor in the front room.
    The house is wired back to the modem with CAT6 cable.
    Is there anything mains powered that could also be plugged into one of these outlets to create WiFi in this room?
    TIA, Peter.

  2. #2
    Senior Member Paul.Cov's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Posts
    2,723

    Default Re: Can a CAT6 wired outlet from a modem at the end or the house, be used to create W

    You can use that outlet to connect it to a Wifi transmitter / extender, but if you're wondering whether a cable out of the modem will act like a transmission aerial, then no, it won't, as the signal will be at the wrong frequency for WiFi, and will be using the wrong protocols as well.

  3. #3
    Computer Technician wainuitech's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Wellington
    Posts
    27,846

    Default Re: Can a CAT6 wired outlet from a modem at the end or the house, be used to create W

    Yep, Wireless Access Point.

    Been putting in a couple of Flat mounted either on Ceiling or walls, no power required if the Router / Switch has a PoE ( power over Ethernet) port, other wise the supplied injector can be plugged in by the router.

    https://www.tp-link.com/au/business-...unt-ap/eap115/

    Heres mine-- Ceiling mount above me in the lounge and Injector under desk other end of house.

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Ceiling .jpg 
Views:	40 
Size:	23.7 KB 
ID:	10526Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Injector.jpg 
Views:	47 
Size:	41.5 KB 
ID:	10527

    Personally wouldn't use extenders, they are not as cracked up as the advertising makes you believe.

    With the Access point linked above you could plug in a short Cable (or long if that's what you want) , to the Access Point and mount it on the wall, floor where ever you want.

  4. #4
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Hawke's Bay
    Posts
    157

    Default Re: Can a CAT6 wired outlet from a modem at the end or the house, be used to create W

    Thanks Paul & Wainui
    I imagined a small device that would plug into a mains-power wall-socket for power then an ADSL plug to connect to the wall outlet that is wired from the modem.
    Not a range extender or signal booster from the modem.
    If that makes sense?

  5. #5
    Computer Technician wainuitech's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Wellington
    Posts
    27,846

    Default Re: Can a CAT6 wired outlet from a modem at the end or the house, be used to create W

    You can always use a Powerline Wireless Kit https://www.tp-link.com/us/home-netw...tl-wpa4220kit/

    They are meant to carry the internet through power wiring in your house. Used plenty of them quite often.

    Not to sure if the power plug as power and the cable into the existing ethernet outlet would work, as its not meant to be like that, but worst case you would use the units as they are meant - via the power sockets.

    If you watch the video bottom right they show how they actually work. These are not extenders as such, the signal from the adapter is 100% and is not relied on by the existing Wireless .
    Last edited by wainuitech; 02-10-2020 at 10:19 PM.

  6. #6
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Hawke's Bay
    Posts
    157

    Default Re: Can a CAT6 wired outlet from a modem at the end or the house, be used to create W

    The model TP-Link 305 has been suggested that will meet my Wi-Fi needs.
    Is there anyone familiar with this device?

  7. #7
    Computer Technician wainuitech's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Wellington
    Posts
    27,846

    Default Re: Can a CAT6 wired outlet from a modem at the end or the house, be used to create W

    BY Default its an Extender ( not what you want) According to the TP-Link site it can be changed into a Wireless access Point, ( which is what you do want.)

    https://www.tp-link.com/us/support/faq/1401/

  8. #8
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Hawke's Bay
    Posts
    157

    Default Re: Can a CAT6 wired outlet from a modem at the end or the house, be used to create W

    Thank you Wainui, now I know it's a 'Wireless access Point' that I need.
    Thanks once again.

Similar Threads

  1. Covering a house with dual wifi routers?
    By Johnnz in forum PressF1
    Replies: 24
    Last Post: 22-11-2015, 03:46 PM
  2. extend wifi coverage in the house
    By fireslug in forum PressF1
    Replies: 20
    Last Post: 12-07-2013, 01:58 PM
  3. extend wifi coverage in the house
    By fireslug in forum PC World Chat
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 01-07-2013, 03:39 AM
  4. Replies: 3
    Last Post: 14-09-2011, 05:06 PM
  5. Best wifi option for 2 story house
    By gum digger in forum PressF1
    Replies: 18
    Last Post: 29-07-2010, 12:59 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •