Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 23
  1. #1
    tweakedgeek tweak'e's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    winterlessnorth (well almost)
    Posts
    4,851

    Default change to vodafone 4g

    i got an email the other day saying vodafone is going to change me over to 4g broadband.
    i'm not sure if i even have a choice in it.
    they are even offering/saying its cheaper than my current adsl.
    the newly installed big black fibre lines out on the pole might have something to do with it.

    what i don't know is how well will it run. 4g signal is not always great here. plus it leaves all my comms limited to one network. if cell tower goes down i have no comms at all.
    Tweak it till it breaks

  2. #2
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Posts
    1,950

    Default Re: change to vodafone 4g

    I'd tell them NO!
    (they just want ALL the money - they don't have to pay Chorus if you go to their wireless network)
    Last edited by bevy121; 29-08-2020 at 12:34 PM.

  3. #3
    Computer Technician wainuitech's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Wellington
    Posts
    27,772

    Default Re: change to vodafone 4g

    You also may have no choice. ADSL runs through Telephone lines, all these are being removed slowly being replaced by either wireless or Fibre.

  4. #4
    Wrinkly Member! B.M.'s Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Mount Maunganui
    Posts
    7,534

    Default Re: change to vodafone 4g

    Well for my 1c worth I would have to declare Vodafone the Worst ISP ever!

    Recently, for me, the time came to move from a sloping section and stairs, to the Flat Earth Society.

    Some will relate to this.

    Anyway, all I wanted to do was shift my whole Telephone, ISP, (Plan) from one address to another only 4Km down the road.

    Having worked 15yrs with the old P&T I thought nothing got easier.

    Not with Vodafone! I was 10 days without telephone and 12 without Internet.

    To show their business acronym when they then replaced my Fibre with ADSL and charged me extra for their efforts!

    OK, Vodafone wasn’t my choice, because I had trouble with them in Aus, but came about because they bought Clear and have gone down hill since.
    Global Warming is Mann made.
    .
    .
    The government cannot give to anybody anything that the government does not first take from somebody else.

  5. #5
    tweakedgeek tweak'e's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    winterlessnorth (well almost)
    Posts
    4,851

    Default Re: change to vodafone 4g

    Quote Originally Posted by B.M. View Post
    Well for my 1c worth I would have to declare Vodafone the Worst ISP ever!

    Recently, for me, the time came to move from a sloping section and stairs, to the Flat Earth Society.

    Some will relate to this.

    Anyway, all I wanted to do was shift my whole Telephone, ISP, (Plan) from one address to another only 4Km down the road.

    Having worked 15yrs with the old P&T I thought nothing got easier.

    Not with Vodafone! I was 10 days without telephone and 12 without Internet.

    To show their business acronym when they then replaced my Fibre with ADSL and charged me extra for their efforts!

    OK, Vodafone wasn’t my choice, because I had trouble with them in Aus, but came about because they bought Clear and have gone down hill since.
    are you sure the problem was with vodafone?
    a lot of that stuff is actually done by chorus and they are morons.
    Tweak it till it breaks

  6. #6
    Senior Member paulw's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Auckland / Tauranga
    Posts
    4,048

    Default Re: change to vodafone 4g

    Quote Originally Posted by wainuitech View Post
    You also may have no choice. ADSL runs through Telephone lines, all these are being removed slowly being replaced by either wireless or Fibre.
    To my knowledge no copper is being removed at this stage. This is Vodafone trying to save money by not paying Chorus and pocketing the diffence by trying to force you on to wireless broadband.
    Regards,

    Paul W
    Taco Bell is not a Mexican telephone company

  7. #7
    Wrinkly Member! B.M.'s Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Mount Maunganui
    Posts
    7,534

    Default Re: change to vodafone 4g

    Quote Originally Posted by tweak'e View Post
    are you sure the problem was with vodafone?
    a lot of that stuff is actually done by chorus and they are morons.
    Well Vodafone is whom I have an account with, so the “Buck Stops There”.

    The quality of their sub-contractors is not my problem either.
    Global Warming is Mann made.
    .
    .
    The government cannot give to anybody anything that the government does not first take from somebody else.

  8. #8
    Soaring like an Eagle gary67's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    In a field in Hanmer
    Posts
    14,673

    Default Re: change to vodafone 4g

    We have Spark 4G here because we have no other option, it does work great, but we keep our cellphones on 2D so that we have the option of communication if one network goes down.

  9. #9
    Computer Technician wainuitech's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Wellington
    Posts
    27,772

    Default Re: change to vodafone 4g

    Quote Originally Posted by paulw View Post
    To my knowledge no copper is being removed at this stage. This is Vodafone trying to save money by not paying Chorus and pocketing the diffence by trying to force you on to wireless broadband.
    The Writings on the wall for copper lines in many areas, and if people cant see it then they are fools.

    https://www.chorus.co.nz/copper-network

    From another Article.
    Running two networks is not an economic proposition for Chorus. Indeed, the copper network is ageing and was often described as costly to maintain by Chorus in its days as Telecom's network arm.Many thousands of pages were submitted explaining just how costly the copper lines were to operate when the copper network was the heart of New Zealand's telecommunications system. Now that it is surplus to requirements, Chorus quite rightly would like to shut it down where alternatives are in play and when a significant number of customers have moved to alternatives, such as fibre or fixed wireless services.
    https://www.stuff.co.nz/business/121...ime-from-march
    Last edited by wainuitech; 29-08-2020 at 10:23 PM.

  10. #10
    Senior Member paulw's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Auckland / Tauranga
    Posts
    4,048

    Default Re: change to vodafone 4g

    Quote Originally Posted by wainuitech View Post
    The Writings on the wall for copper lines in many areas, and if people cant see it then they are fools.

    https://www.chorus.co.nz/copper-network

    From another Article.


    https://www.stuff.co.nz/business/121...ime-from-march
    That's true but has the OP got access to fiber?? If not then copper is not going away in his street.
    Regards,

    Paul W
    Taco Bell is not a Mexican telephone company

Similar Threads

  1. Vodafone
    By ianhnz in forum PressF1
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 07-06-2011, 11:55 PM
  2. N85 on Vodafone
    By Erger in forum PressF1
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 18-04-2011, 01:57 PM
  3. Replies: 2
    Last Post: 30-07-2007, 08:11 PM
  4. Vodafone 3G
    By jesseycy in forum PC World Chat
    Replies: 35
    Last Post: 02-09-2005, 03:05 PM
  5. [OT] Vodafone
    By Lohsing in forum PressF1
    Replies: 19
    Last Post: 22-06-2004, 05:37 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •