Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Wellington
    Posts
    391

    Default Any Zoom experts here?

    My wife and I have been watching some Zoom meetings put out by our local U3A. I have a laptop hooked up to our TV & stereo so we can watch streamed movies, concerts etc on the big screen in comfort with good sound. Audio/video go to the TV via HDMI and the digital audio signal goes from the TV to the stereo through a SPDF connection. All works just as it should - except when using Zoom. Then the sound insists on coming out via the laptop speakers, even though the default audio output is set to the HDMI. I can connect a pair of speakers to the laptop speaker socket so we can hear what's going on with reasonable sound, but my question is, why do I have to do this? It is almost as if Zoom somehow overrides the audio output setting, forcing it come out via the laptop audio.

  2. #2
    Wanderer
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Posts
    7,438

    Default Re: Any Zoom experts here?

    Try this:

    After logging in. On the top right under your sign in name normally with your 2 initials. There is a spanner nut icon - settings. Click that and then click audio. You can change the speaker output to the same as the system use or you can also ask Zoom to use a different output.

    What might be happening is that Zoom sound is not set to the same as your system, it might be set to your laptop speaker instead.


    FWIW on my Zoom set up which I have not changed it from factory. It is also set to my computer's default PC motherboard speaker output. It is not set to whatever is my system default. Maybe Zoom think with conferencing most people would be using something more up close than their LCD TV .......
    Last edited by Nomad; 25-08-2020 at 04:46 PM.

  3. #3
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Wellington
    Posts
    391

    Default Re: Any Zoom experts here?

    Quote Originally Posted by Nomad View Post
    Try this:

    After logging in. On the top right under your sign in name normally with your 2 initials. There is a spanner nut icon - settings. Click that and then click audio. You can change the speaker output to the same as the system use or you can also ask Zoom to use a different output.

    What might be happening is that Zoom sound is not set to the same as your system, it might be set to your laptop speaker instead.


    FWIW on my Zoom set up which I have not changed it from factory. It is also set to my computer's default PC motherboard speaker output. It is not set to whatever is my system default. Maybe Zoom think with conferencing most people would be using something more up close than their LCD TV .......
    OK, thanks. I will try that.

  4. #4
    Computer "Specialist" Agent_24's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    64 Bitville
    Posts
    14,225

    Default Re: Any Zoom experts here?

    In the Zoom window (when connected to a meeting), go down the bottom left to the Microphone icon, click the arrow beside it, and you can choose your input and output devices there, too.

  5. #5
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Wellington
    Posts
    391

    Default Re: Any Zoom experts here?

    Quote Originally Posted by Agent_24 View Post
    In the Zoom window (when connected to a meeting), go down the bottom left to the Microphone icon, click the arrow beside it, and you can choose your input and output devices there, too.
    Thanks. Good to know there are two possibilities.

  6. #6
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Wellington
    Posts
    391

    Default Re: Any Zoom experts here?

    Today was the first opportunity to check the changed sound setup for this morning's Zoom meeting. I tried Agent_24's suggestion and sure enough, that did the trick and the sound came though the TV.

    No doubt Nomad's idea would have also worked, but the Zoom setup being used goes pretty much automatically - just click a link in the email invitation and away it goes.

Similar Threads

  1. Zoom security issue
    By 1101 in forum PressF1
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 16-04-2020, 11:34 AM
  2. Do TV Cards have super zoom?
    By RusEvo in forum PressF1
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 22-02-2008, 07:38 PM
  3. Frontpage - how to zoom into the page
    By John W in forum PressF1
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 14-09-2005, 11:30 PM
  4. Zoom
    By Geoff in forum PressF1
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 17-03-2005, 11:23 AM
  5. Zoom IE5.50
    By laurie1 in forum PressF1
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 30-07-2002, 10:05 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •