Results 1 to 9 of 9
  1. #1
    Photographic enthusiast Misty's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Birkenhead, North Shore, AK (amongst the bush)
    Posts
    2,458

    Default Second Monitor has stopped working

    Today I disconnected my new tower to reconnect the old tower to tidy up the old tower before selling. Unfortunately (I have other words too!), when I reconnected the new tower again, the second monitor, which has been working absolutely fine went on strike. I use Windows 10. Have checked all of the connections and power is getting through to the second monitor, etc. (the power light flashes).

    The problem is that Windows 10 is not detecting the second monitor - it only shows one. I have tried in Display hitting "Detect" but no go! I have tried re-booting, etc.

    Went onto the web, being very careful of all of the "helpful" and highlighted suggestions to download this and that One suggestion, which did not seem to fit my predicament at all, but still I carried through, was to try updating my drivers for the video card and the monitors. Using Microsoft, I updated the video card, plus Microsoft told me that my Monitor driver (it only sees one of course at this stage) is fully up-to-date. I tried Display "Detect" again, but no joy! I cannot think that it is one of the cables, because everything was working fine before my little project.

    What else can I try please?
    Affinity Photo 1.8.5 (marvellous)
    Lightroom 6
    Nik Collection
    Sumatra for PDF
    Speccy
    AZZ Cardfile

  2. #2
    amateur expert dugimodo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Posts
    7,992

    Default Re: Second Monitor has stopped working

    Have you tried switching the monitors connections with each other?
    Ryzen 2700X, 16Gb DDR4RAM, 512GB M.2 NVME SSD, MSI GTX1070

  3. #3
    Computer Technician wainuitech's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Wellington
    Posts
    27,695

    Default Re: Second Monitor has stopped working

    Try the actual Driver software for the Graphic Card, the full install from the manufacture, not the one that MS downloads.

    The MS one is not the full and sometimes all functions of the cards dont work.

  4. #4
    Photographic enthusiast Misty's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Birkenhead, North Shore, AK (amongst the bush)
    Posts
    2,458

    Default Re: Second Monitor has stopped working

    Well, wainui, I have gone to the manufacturer and downloaded an updated driver. Unfortunately, this has not worked. Still, thanks for the suggestion!
    Affinity Photo 1.8.5 (marvellous)
    Lightroom 6
    Nik Collection
    Sumatra for PDF
    Speccy
    AZZ Cardfile

  5. #5
    Apple free in Appleby KarameaDave's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    Near Drummond, Southland
    Posts
    4,990

    Default Re: Second Monitor has stopped working

    Have you tried the second monitor on its own to confirm that it is working?
    FTW

  6. #6
    Photographic enthusiast Misty's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Birkenhead, North Shore, AK (amongst the bush)
    Posts
    2,458

    Default Re: Second Monitor has stopped working

    Hi dugimodo, have just belatedly looked at your idea - but unfortunately they have different connections.
    Affinity Photo 1.8.5 (marvellous)
    Lightroom 6
    Nik Collection
    Sumatra for PDF
    Speccy
    AZZ Cardfile

  7. #7
    Photographic enthusiast Misty's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Birkenhead, North Shore, AK (amongst the bush)
    Posts
    2,458

    Default Re: Second Monitor has stopped working

    Quote Originally Posted by KarameaDave View Post
    Have you tried the second monitor on its own to confirm that it is working?
    Hi Karamea Dave, have just tried and nothing happens! Seems I need to call in my marvelous IT guy.
    Affinity Photo 1.8.5 (marvellous)
    Lightroom 6
    Nik Collection
    Sumatra for PDF
    Speccy
    AZZ Cardfile

  8. #8
    Photographic enthusiast Misty's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Birkenhead, North Shore, AK (amongst the bush)
    Posts
    2,458

    Default Re: Second Monitor has stopped working

    Hi everyone, well the mystery is solved. Apparently you put the connection into one spot if you have a video card, but another spot if you do have a video card.
    Since I have a video card, I had put it in the wrong spot! Am sure there is a more technical term than "spot", so I await to hear what this is?
    Affinity Photo 1.8.5 (marvellous)
    Lightroom 6
    Nik Collection
    Sumatra for PDF
    Speccy
    AZZ Cardfile

  9. #9
    Computer Technician wainuitech's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Wellington
    Posts
    27,695

    Default Re: Second Monitor has stopped working

    If you have a Video Card you have to use the Connections on That, The Video Card over rides the Onboard Graphics. You can use both but needs the settings re arranged. Its easy to do - put the Monitor into the onboard by mistake.

Similar Threads

  1. Stopped working
    By Cicero in forum PressF1
    Replies: 24
    Last Post: 29-12-2015, 09:49 AM
  2. NIC stopped working
    By Xavier in forum PressF1
    Replies: 16
    Last Post: 09-11-2008, 09:53 AM
  3. monitor suddenly stopped working!
    By bizzack in forum PressF1
    Replies: 16
    Last Post: 28-07-2005, 01:03 PM
  4. Monitor Stopped Working
    By hamstar in forum PressF1
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 08-06-2005, 10:33 PM
  5. Monitor stopped working
    By agent in forum PressF1
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 22-01-2004, 11:05 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •