Page 3 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast
Results 21 to 30 of 34

Thread: System Upgrade

  1. #21
    Senior Member 1101's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    6,839

    Default Re: System Upgrade

    [QUOTE=Driftwood
    But if I go to Boot Priority, it says "The system couldn't find any bootable devices"
    Thinking there may be an issue with the M.2, I tried another hard drive with a working OS on several of the SATA ports.
    [/QUOTE]

    as a test.
    Connect ONLY 1 spare BLANK HD (no M.2)
    Do a clean install of Win10 & see if that boots

    It may be some weird UEFI/safe boot issue , or some motherboards have a stupid RAID option that can screw things up (perhaps your old board was setup as bootable RAID single drives)

    The best option with a new MB & CPU is a clean install.
    Sometimes if you take a HD from another system it wont boot on a new MB/pc , especially if the new MB is significantly different .

  2. #22
    Senior Member Driftwood's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    Central Otago
    Posts
    2,967

    Default Re: System Upgrade

    I thank you for the replies.
    CSM didn't appear to be one of the options in the menu.
    Maybe Asus calls it something else.
    Are having some success though.
    When I disconnected all hard drives & connected one blank it still showed up as unbootable device.
    But when I connected a USB windows 10 ISO success.
    So have reconnected the M.2 & are currently re-installing windows.

    Re the extra 4 pin power.
    The system starts fine on 16gb memory but when I add another 16gb it hesitates & appears reluctant.
    I didn't like to push the issue, so will leave it on 16gb for now.
    Had a quick look round at new PSU's.
    Not too many available with that extra plug.

  3. #23
    Enterprise IT Consultant chiefnz's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Sydney AU
    Posts
    1,618

    Default Re: System Upgrade

    EVGA SuperNOVA G+ 650W Modular Power Supply - I have this one and it has 2 outputs for CPU....and includes the cables.

    Asus PRIME Z370-P
    Core i7-8700K
    Corsair Hydro H100x
    16GB Klevv BOLT X Gaming 3200MHz DDR4
    Intel 660P 512GB M.2 NVMe
    Crucial P1 1TB M.2 NVMe
    Seagate Barracuda 4TB SATA
    GTX 1660 SUPER OC
    Corsair Crystal 460X
    EVGA SuperNOVA G+ 650W

  4. #24
    Senior Member Driftwood's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    Central Otago
    Posts
    2,967

    Default Re: System Upgrade

    Thanks, I'll order one of those.
    I'll keep the system on light duties until it arrives.
    Haven't been able to activate windows yet.
    Last time I looked I had 5 systems on my account, now there is only 2
    They are both old retired systems, go figure.

  5. #25
    Senior Member Driftwood's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    Central Otago
    Posts
    2,967

    Default Re: System Upgrade

    Quote Originally Posted by chiefnz View Post
    EVGA SuperNOVA G+ 650W Modular Power Supply - I have this one and it has 2 outputs for CPU....and includes the cables.
    Would you happen to have the part number of that PSU ?
    I've looked at all the EVGA SuperNova 650W spec I can find & they all state under connectors, EPS (CPU) 1x 8pin (4+4)
    I need 4+4+2

  6. #26
    Computer Technician wainuitech's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Wellington
    Posts
    27,753

    Default Re: System Upgrade

    I need 4+4+2
    Looking at the ASUS Site the motherboard has 8 ports for the CPU ( standard)

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Ports.jpg 
Views:	11 
Size:	32.0 KB 
ID:	10461

    If it requires a 10 they wont be easy to come by as standard are 8
    Last edited by wainuitech; 05-08-2020 at 09:16 PM.

  7. #27
    Senior Member Driftwood's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    Central Otago
    Posts
    2,967

    Default Re: System Upgrade

    Have a look at the TUF Gaming Z490-Plus Wifi
    Actually has 12 I cant count.
    Last edited by Driftwood; 05-08-2020 at 09:18 PM.

  8. #28
    Computer Technician wainuitech's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Wellington
    Posts
    27,753

    Default Re: System Upgrade

    The original post said using Intel i9-9900k CPU on Asus Z390-E motherboard.

    Missed the later post where it was changed.

    Never seen a 10 pin CPU, not to say theres no such thing could take a bit of looking to find one.

    Been looking at even the top end Gaming PSU's and all have the same basic Cables. The picture is from Silverstones.

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Power Connectors.jpg 
Views:	12 
Size:	39.7 KB 
ID:	10462
    Last edited by wainuitech; 05-08-2020 at 09:48 PM.

  9. #29
    Senior Member Driftwood's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    Central Otago
    Posts
    2,967

    Default Re: System Upgrade

    Seems to be going ok without it now I done the updates.
    Added the second 16gb stick with no issues.
    Main problem now is MS wont let me re-activate.
    Just logged to my account & it's got the system listed there now, maybe it needs more time to activate.

  10. #30
    Computer Technician wainuitech's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Wellington
    Posts
    27,753

    Default Re: System Upgrade

    If it was an original install previously activated it may not let you until you deactivate the old one and select you changed hardware. When the original licence was entered it tied the original motherboard to that key, so the activation is looking for the identifier and its different to the original. This is why when doing a reinstall you don't enter a Key activation already has the motherboard details and auto activates. If it was a completely fresh install then when entering the key it would usually accept it.

    Had similar today, had a W10 Home that I was upgrading to Professional. The Home was retail, the Pro OEM didn't want to know about it Sorted it in the end, wiped the drive and installed Pro Fresh.
    Last edited by wainuitech; 05-08-2020 at 10:48 PM.

Similar Threads

  1. Operating system upgrade.
    By ChazTheGeek in forum PressF1
    Replies: 17
    Last Post: 21-03-2012, 07:34 AM
  2. System upgrade
    By PCT Joe in forum PressF1
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 14-01-2011, 05:57 PM
  3. Core 2 Duo system upgrade
    By Nyuuji in forum PressF1
    Replies: 19
    Last Post: 20-01-2007, 09:10 AM
  4. upgrade system
    By i-gordon in forum PressF1
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 08-03-2003, 09:52 PM
  5. System upgrade
    By in forum PressF1
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 11-04-2001, 12:12 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •