Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast
Results 11 to 20 of 26
  1. #11
    Wrinkly Member! B.M.'s Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Mount Maunganui
    Posts
    7,420

    Default Re: Do I have reason for complaint?

    Quote Originally Posted by wainuitech View Post
    Speed tests can be highly inaccurate.

    Just did one now, came through at 131mbps, downloaded a Linux ISO from Canterbury Via a Downloaded manager, ( its a good size ISO to test connections) started off slow, then all of a sudden jumped - Then after that did a speed test again all of a sudden 795mbps

    Attachment 10409

    But YES there's something wrong with your connection, at 100/20 you "should" on average be getting at lease 60-80.
    Yes, these “Speed” testers are a mystery at best.

    Even at the old place, with Fibre to within 3m from the computer, I could never get 100Mbs down but could always get 20Mbs up.

    The best I ever recorded was 40 odd Mbs down, but as I say could always get 20Mbs up.

    I argued with Vodafone initially, but gave up because 40Mbs was sufficient for me and I had better things to do than argue with “Drongos”.

    One thing I like about Australia is they have a Telecommunication Ombudsman who has teeth. HERE

    If an Australian ISP tries to have you on, you get a number from the Ombudsman that you present with your complaint to the ISP and they have 10 days to settle or the Ombudsman will.

    If the ISP is found guilty, they must remedy the matter, and could, and often, cop fines of thousands of dollars.

    Sort of “Cuts the Crap”.
    Last edited by B.M.; 27-06-2020 at 03:05 PM.
    Global Warming is Mann made.
    .
    .
    The government cannot give to anybody anything that the government does not first take from somebody else.

  2. #12
    Wrinkly Member! B.M.'s Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Mount Maunganui
    Posts
    7,420

    Default Re: Do I have reason for complaint?

    Quote Originally Posted by Jedsdad View Post
    The language is Thai.
    Did you have fibre at your last place or just DSL?
    I am trying to figure out why the big speed drop at your new place.
    What make and model of Modem do you have at your new place, is it connected to an ONT?
    Yes I had Fibre at my old place and the ONT sat beside the Modem/Switch, whatever, about 3 metres from the computer.

    The original Modem I still have is a HUAWEI HG859, and the new modem is anyone's guess, but it's Black (am I allowed to say that) and only has Vodafone on it.

    There is no ONT on site because I'm now Copper from the gate. (VDSL)?

    Don't get me started on getting the phone to work.

    As far as I'm concerned Vodafone are incompetent fools.
    Global Warming is Mann made.
    .
    .
    The government cannot give to anybody anything that the government does not first take from somebody else.

  3. #13
    Computer Technician wainuitech's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Wellington
    Posts
    27,499

    Default Re: Do I have reason for complaint?

    Quote Originally Posted by B.M. View Post
    but it's Black (am I allowed to say that) and only has Vodafone on it.
    Know the one you mean, you can also say its a really really dark Grey

    Sounds like it is VDSl ( if no ONT) or Cable modem.

    If its VDSL, no idea where they got the idea telling you the plans 100/20 ??

    If you have a look at the following all the VDSL plans are 24/8.5 https://www.glimp.co.nz/broadband/vdsl

    Even at the top of the page it says
    You can get speeds up to to 70Mbps or more, but your house has to be located up to 1200m of the cabinet or exchange.
    Last edited by wainuitech; 27-06-2020 at 04:04 PM.
    Update / Upgrades = Replace old bugs with new ones.

  4. #14
    Old guy
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Posts
    2,513

    Default Re: Do I have reason for complaint?

    The speeds you are reporting are not even good for VDL. If you do not have an ONT you do not have a Fiber connection. Yes you do have reason to complain.

  5. #15
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2016
    Posts
    117

    Default Re: Do I have reason for complaint?

    Just to be sure, you dont have the 3G/4G light going?
    Do you have a cable running from the DSL Port (grey port) to a jack point on the wall
    Are you plugging your PC directly into the Modem via an ethernet cable?
    Have you tried putting the old modem back on to see what happens if the DSL port is being used on the new modem?
    I am not sure what config Vodafone use for their modems but presume the configs on the network side are the same on both

  6. #16
    Wrinkly Member! B.M.'s Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Mount Maunganui
    Posts
    7,420

    Default Re: Do I have reason for complaint?

    OK, let me make things very,very, clear.

    I was told that Fibre went straight past the gate and connection wasn’t a problem!

    Fibre does apparently go past the gate, but not up the drive!

    My old, fully Fibre, plan was for 100/20Mps

    Because of this Vodafone said a VDSL connection would be adequate.

    Confirmed from their own Website. HERE

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	VDSL.jpg 
Views:	21 
Size:	35.5 KB 
ID:	10411

    Bottom line is I never got near what I was promised and paid for in my old place “Fibre” all the way, and what I’m getting now is a bloody joke.
    Global Warming is Mann made.
    .
    .
    The government cannot give to anybody anything that the government does not first take from somebody else.

  7. #17
    Senior Member piroska's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2017
    Location
    With Kim-Jong-Mum
    Posts
    2,365

    Default Re: Do I have reason for complaint?

    Quote Originally Posted by B.M. View Post
    One thing I like about Australia is they have a Telecommunication Ombudsman who has teeth. HERE
    .

    https://www.tdr.org.nz/making-a-comp...e-3-step-check

    Vodafone are listed. I have used TDR in the past and they DO chase it up and DO sort it.
    Ex-pctek

  8. #18
    Senior Member piroska's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2017
    Location
    With Kim-Jong-Mum
    Posts
    2,365

    Default Re: Do I have reason for complaint?

    Quote Originally Posted by B.M. View Post

    I was told that Fibre went straight past the gate and connection wasn’t a problem!

    Fibre does apparently go past the gate, but not up the drive!

    My old, fully Fibre, plan was for 100/20Mps

    Because of this Vodafone said a VDSL connection would be adequate.
    .

    So you need to have an ONT installed in this new house.
    Which they can do. Unless you rent and landlord has said no????


    VDSL is OK, it's UP TO 70mbps....not as fast as fibre but not bad.

    However you are not getting anywhere near.......40mbps would be fine...but it's not even that.
    Therefore there is an issue. Chase vodafone again and if no joy forward it to TDR.

    Personally I find Vodafone absolute pigs for sorting out issues, it's known, go take a look on geekzone...heaps of the same comments.
    Ex-pctek

  9. #19
    Wrinkly Member! B.M.'s Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Mount Maunganui
    Posts
    7,420

    Default Re: Do I have reason for complaint?

    Quote Originally Posted by piroska View Post
    So you need to have an ONT installed in this new house.
    Ummm why? I don't have any Fibre to terminate. It's copper from the road to the house I'm told.
    Global Warming is Mann made.
    .
    .
    The government cannot give to anybody anything that the government does not first take from somebody else.

  10. #20
    Old dick-head
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    between Lower Hutt & Carterton
    Posts
    1,171

    Default Re: Do I have reason for complaint?

    Quote Originally Posted by B.M. View Post
    Ummm why? I don't have any Fibre to terminate. It's copper from the road to the house I'm told.
    Ask Vodafone for a fibre plan. It is NOT for them to say that VDSL is all you need.

Similar Threads

  1. A comment....not a complaint
    By JJJJJ in forum PressF1
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: 07-10-2006, 12:19 PM
  2. TV1 complaint
    By Eric in forum PC World Chat
    Replies: 20
    Last Post: 17-01-2006, 04:38 PM
  3. Loshings - Auto bid complaint
    By drb1 in forum PC World Chat
    Replies: 50
    Last Post: 01-12-2005, 01:44 PM
  4. Loshings - Auto bid complaint
    By drb1 in forum PressF1
    Replies: 50
    Last Post: 01-12-2005, 01:44 PM
  5. A Complaint. Or is it just me?
    By JJJJJ in forum PC World Chat
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 17-12-2004, 08:44 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •