Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Toner Leak

Default Toner Leak

I know nothing about Laser Printers. I read that you can get Toner Leak and was wondering how often this happened?.

Old guy

Default Re: Toner Leak

I do not know and have never seen it and I have been using Laser printers for several years.

It can happen, but generally more so in cheap refills or third party Cartridges.

Had 1 Third party toner black blow out, what a mess, damn toner everywhere.
    Once I got the majority of the toner out the printer went outside and blew the rest out carefully with Compressed air.

DONT use a normal Vacuum cleaner to clean.

Have a read of this article leaky-cartridges-the-scourge-of-laser-printers/

Near the end of the article really says it all:
    Ultimately, the best way to avoid toner leaks is by sticking with genuine, brand name toner cartridge. Compatible cartridges have a higher chance of leaking, while OEM toner cartridges are put through a strenuous series of performance tests. Bottom line: brand name toner delivers better prints and a lower risk of toner leaks.
    Not to say the genuine Toners wont leak, just more of a chance they wont.
    Update / Upgrades = Replace old bugs with new ones.

Thanks. That is the info' I was after. My inkjet is on its way out so just planning ahead.

Whilst I am sure you are right wainui, I used refilled toner cartridges for over 5 years from NZ Toner Catridges (not sure I have the name 100% correct) in ChCh. Not a single problem.

Just get one!! This is not a time for agonising about non issues!

However, the lock down will make this a tricky job, unless you are an essential worker.

Forgot to check my printer (laser!!) so it has run out of paper. Never mind, I can re-purpose the flip side of paper I have around.

Quote Originally Posted by linw View Post
    Just get one!! This is not a time for agonising about non issues!

However, the lock down will make this a tricky job, unless you are an essential worker.