Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 12
  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Posts
    2,413

    Exclamation Problems with TVNZ on demand

    For the past week, or so, I have not been able to use TVNZ on demand. The files will not run, just go blank when activated. No error notifications.
    This is the same on several computers, W10, Mint, W7, & 2 Chromebooks. TV3 (NZ), Channel 7 (AU), & Channel 9 (AU) have no problems.
    The Australian stations use a Nord VPN.

    TVNZ does work on KODI

  2. #2

    Default Re: Problems with TVNZ on demand

    Quote Originally Posted by mzee View Post
    For the past week, or so, I have not been able to use TVNZ on demand. The files will not run, just go blank when activated. No error notifications.
    This is the same on several computers, W10, Mint, W7, & 2 Chromebooks. TV3 (NZ), Channel 7 (AU), & Channel 9 (AU) have no problems.
    The Australian stations use a Nord VPN.

    TVNZ does work on KODI
    I had the same problem yesterday. I thought I must have been doing something wrong.

    Who do we advise?
    It is better to wear out than to rust out.
    - Richard Chamberlain, Tour of the Hebrides

    Us husbands are a sorry lot.

  3. #3
    Computer Technician wainuitech's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Wellington
    Posts
    27,122

    Default Re: Problems with TVNZ on demand

    The problem is Browser related. Previous problem - exact same thing blank.

    Mint ( linux) - forget it its always been a hit and miss anyway.

    If you use Firefox it gives problems, same thing nothing but a blank window where the film ( or what ever you are watching) is meant to be.

    Just tried it on Microsofts Edge and Edge DEV , Opera - loaded and played perfectly, Tried on Chrome - it did work but was having problems. Firefox -- Forget it.

    Its the formats that are being use theses days.
    Update / Upgrades = Replace old bugs with new ones.

  4. #4

    Default Re: Problems with TVNZ on demand

    Quote Originally Posted by wainuitech View Post
    The problem is Browser related. Previous problem - exact same thing blank.
    That's what I have been getting using Chrome. Tried it with IE and it works perfectly.

    Thanks for that, Wainui. Much appreciated.
    It is better to wear out than to rust out.
    - Richard Chamberlain, Tour of the Hebrides

    Us husbands are a sorry lot.

  5. #5
    Senior
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Christchurch
    Posts
    335

    Default Re: Problems with TVNZ on demand

    Could it be something to do with updates. My phone is set to not auto update apps and if an app like TVNZ isn't working properly it's usually because I haven't updated it. Checking my PC today I have the same issues re blank screen etc and TVNZ apparently "locks previous versions of the app so everyone updates to a better experience of TVNZ on Demand". How do I know if I received the recent TVNZ update? I don't understand the workings of On Demand on my PC like how it gets updated but I was thinking it is a FF or Chrome issue as Wainui said. What settings in my PC would ensure TVNZ on Demand updates?

  6. #6
    VoidMaster
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Posts
    5,844

    Default Re: Problems with TVNZ on demand

    Maybe this would help:

    How to Add a Trusted Site in Windows 10: https://www.majorgeeks.com/content/p...indows_10.html
    It's not the least charm of a theory that it is refutable. The hundred-times-refuted theory of "free will" owes its persistence to this charm alone; some one is always appearing who feels himself strong enough to refute it - Friedrich Nietzsche

  7. #7
    Senior
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Christchurch
    Posts
    335

    Default Re: Problems with TVNZ on demand

    Scrub my prevous post I don't know what I'm talking about. I just needed to disable UBlock Origin. All good now.

  8. #8
    Senior Member piroska's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2017
    Location
    With Kim-Jong-Mum
    Posts
    1,844

    Default Re: Problems with TVNZ on demand

    Quote Originally Posted by wainuitech View Post
    The problem is Browser related.
    Mint ( linux) - forget it its always been a hit and miss anyway.

    .
    Slimjet - YOU suggested, works for me on Mint.
    Still.
    Ex-pctek

  9. #9
    Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Posts
    2,413

    Default Re: Problems with TVNZ on demand

    Problem solved. Removed Firefox Quantum 70.
    Installed Firefox Browser 70.0.1 (64-bit)
    Mozilla Firefox for Linux Mint-1.0

    This was a new entry in the Mint repository. Works fine.

  10. #10
    Computer Technician wainuitech's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Wellington
    Posts
    27,122

    Default Re: Problems with TVNZ on demand

    Quote Originally Posted by piroska View Post
    Slimjet - YOU suggested, works for me on Mint.
    Still.
    oh yeah Forgot about that. Seems strange though, sometimes programs work sometimes not, guess if the sites ( Like TV on Demand) keep changing the goal posts it makes life awkward.

    On A side note - I'm waiting till Flash is no longer supported fully, then wait for the complaints from some of the sites
    Update / Upgrades = Replace old bugs with new ones.

Similar Threads

  1. TVNZ on demand erratic
    By mzee in forum PC World Chat
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 12-03-2017, 02:00 PM
  2. Problems with TVNZ On Demand on firefox?
    By xyz823 in forum PressF1
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 20-08-2009, 09:12 PM
  3. TVNZ - on demand.
    By martynz in forum PC World Chat
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 04-04-2009, 01:44 PM
  4. TVNZ On Demand
    By Trev in forum PC World Chat
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 01-12-2007, 03:04 PM
  5. tvnz on demand
    By wotz in forum PressF1
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 10-07-2007, 10:53 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •