Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 18

Thread: More Expence

  1. #1
    Senior Member Driftwood's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    Central Otago
    Posts
    2,902

    Default More Expence

    I’m about to fit a new graphics card, but these new ones have done away with the DVI interface & now have HDMI, DP & Type-C
    My current monitor has VGA, DVI & HDMI but only the DVI is 144Hz, which I want.
    It’s my understanding that HDMI or DP adaptor to DVI will only produce 50-60 Hz.
    If this is the case I may have to start looking for a new monitor.
    Current one is Asus VG278HV.

  2. #2
    Senior Member 1101's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    6,440

    Default Re: More Expence

    Quote Originally Posted by Driftwood View Post
    Iím about to fit a new graphics card, but these new ones have done away with the DVI interface & now have HDMI, DP & Type-C
    My current monitor has VGA, DVI & HDMI but only the DVI is 144Hz, which I want.
    Itís my understanding that HDMI or DP adaptor to DVI will only produce 50-60 Hz.
    If this is the case I may have to start looking for a new monitor.
    Current one is Asus VG278HV.
    huh ?? not sure what youre trying to achieve.
    Why do need 144Hz ? newer DP ver supports it
    Is it your monitor that doesnt support 144 via DP ?

    first card I looked at : DVI
    will it support 144, dont know .
    https://www.pbtech.co.nz/product/VGA...-E-Graphics-Ca

    anyway
    https://www.displayninja.com/which-c...eed-for-144hz/
    https://www.displayninja.com/what-does-144hz-mean/

  3. #3
    amateur expert dugimodo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Posts
    7,868

    Default Re: More Expence

    I think there are active adapters for display port to DVI that support 144hz but I'm not sure. I know display port can go above 60 hz but it seems adapting it to DVI somehow breaks that ability?
    It would seem crazy that both your monitor and graphics card can do 144hz but you are stymied by them having different interfaces.

    Nobody "needs" 144hz but some gamers swear by it for fast reaction first person shooters and for the smoothness. I've not experienced it myself but the claim is you wouldn't go back. I'm happy at 75hz and don't want to ruin that.

    A bit of googling found similar questions on toms hardware and reddit but my skimming found no definite answer. You might have to read those yourself, too much work for my level of interest

    I had a much simpler issue with my last monitor purchase, no HDMI only display port and DVI so I had to buy a new cable. I liked everything being HDMI - TV, Blu ray play, PC, etc rather than multiple different types of cables. I hope we don't go back to everything being different again. One of my monitors kept randomly blanking briefly on display port so I went DVI on that one, never figured out if it was the cable or something else though.
    Ryzen 2700X, 16Gb DDR4RAM, 512GB M.2 NVME SSD, MSI GTX1070

  4. #4
    Computer Technician wainuitech's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Wellington
    Posts
    27,171

    Default Re: More Expence

    Depends on what the card is I guess as to the outputs, got a almost identical card today ( wont damn well work in the HP --- That's another story)

    But its got the same outputs as the one 1101 linked. 1xHDMI, 1xDVI-D, 1xD-Sub (VGA)
    Update / Upgrades = Replace old bugs with new ones.

  5. #5
    Senior Member Driftwood's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    Central Otago
    Posts
    2,902

    Default Re: More Expence

    As stated, my current monitor is Asus VG278HV https://www.asus.com/Monitors/VG278HV/
    I/O DVI-D HDMI D-Sub (144Hz only on DVI-D)

    New graphics card not stated, ROG-STRIX-RTX2080-O8G-GAMING
    https://www.asus.com/us/Graphics-Car...80-O8G-GAMING/
    I/O HDMI DP Type-C

  6. #6
    Computer Technician wainuitech's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Wellington
    Posts
    27,171

    Default Re: More Expence

    Just buy a HDMI cable ( if you dont have one already) Problem solved, both have the HDMI ports.
    Update / Upgrades = Replace old bugs with new ones.

  7. #7
    Senior Member Driftwood's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    Central Otago
    Posts
    2,902

    Default Re: More Expence

    If only it was that easy.
    Tried a HDMI cable with my current GTX1080 set-up, comes through at 50Hz
    If I use a HDMI to DVI adaptor, it comes through at 60Hz

  8. #8
    Computer Technician wainuitech's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Wellington
    Posts
    27,171

    Default Re: More Expence

    Have a read of the Answer HERE.

    Then take into consideration that Display Port (DP) will run 144Hz, see the following Ports list https://www.displayninja.com/which-c...eed-for-144hz/ ( read the section on DVI the port must be Dual-Link.)


    Could be a simple case you got da wrong cables / adapters.
    Last edited by wainuitech; 15-10-2019 at 08:46 PM.
    Update / Upgrades = Replace old bugs with new ones.

  9. #9
    Senior Member Driftwood's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    Central Otago
    Posts
    2,902

    Default Re: More Expence

    Probably should have mentioned in the first post, I have been running this current setup @ 144Hz for several years, so I know the DVI-D cable works ok.

    Thanks for finding those links, but already been there yesterday before I posted this thread.
    I found quite a number of active DisplayPort to DVI-D Dual Link Adaptors.
    They start at around $50 & go to several hundred.
    They are USB powered & claim 1080P or higher but couldn’t find one claiming more than 60Hz

    I was rather hoping someone else had been down this road & could advise from having the same experience.

    I’ll probably be fitting the new card tomorrow, just waiting for another fan to arrive.
    May get some different results from that.

  10. #10
    Senior Member Driftwood's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    Central Otago
    Posts
    2,902

    Default Re: More Expence

    I think I chose a good title for this thread.
    Just ordered a new PSU for this project.
    Got the new fan & GPU installed & was just connecting everything up.
    Woops, only one 8 pin PCI express plug.
    Guess they didn't need two of them when I put the system together 5 years ago.

    I guess a new monitor will be next thing.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •