Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 19

Hybrid View

Previous Post Previous Post   Next Post Next Post
  1. #1
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2015
    Posts
    710

    Default Rollback from W10 v 1903 to v 1809 and reinstal 1903 or scrap the lot and start fresh

    Hi. A question or two about W10 v1903. The Official release.
    The 1903 that I have installed has develped a few problems that I have mentioned in other threads so I won't go to deeply into them here.
    Calculator was there in 1903 but has disappeared. Seach finds nothing. Using Run to search for Calc.exe finds nothing. Calc file exists in System 32 but is not an exe or .dll. Double click the calc entry and get zero esponse.
    Visual C++ 2013 I had notifiaction to remove it. Can't remember if it was Vis C++ 86 or x64.
    System restore hadn't completed after 6 hours doing the Registry
    Anyway, on to my questions.
    I have a full back up of the W10 v1809 Pro I had installed. I can download a new ISO of the W10 v 1903x64 or use the Windows tool to upgrade the v1809 I may roll back to.
    Rolling back will cause loss of new Programs/ Updates/ Game advancement that I now have in the 1903 W10 I am running since I upgraded to it
    So, would I be best to rollback to v1809 x64 Pro and then upgrade to the latest W10 v 1903 version using the Windows tool or would I be better off scrapping all that is on the C Drive and Fresh instal W10 v1903 Pro x64 and then get all updates and Netfx and Visual C++ and all drivers installed from doing a fresh start?
    W10 I have now is on the Corsair Force MP300 M.2 NVMe SSD

    thanks
    Asus Prime B450M-A./ AMD Ryzen5 2400G./ GSkill FlareX DDR4 16GB 2933 (@2400MHz.)/ Radeon RX580 Nitro+ 8GD5./ Corsair Force MP300 M.2 SSD./ Samsung Evo 860 500GB SSD./ Corsair HX750 PSU./ W10 x64 Pro v1903...……..
    Last edited by kioti; 04-06-2019 at 05:46 PM.

  2. #2
    Computer Technician wainuitech's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Wellington
    Posts
    28,669

    Default Re: Rollback from W10 v 1903 to v 1809 and reinstal 1903 or scrap the lot and start f

    Try running a few commands first. From CMD as admin.


    sfc /scannow

    Then

    dism /online /cleanup-image /restorehealth


    "IF" either of those commands appear to hang at any point DONT stop them, as they will b e repairing the faults. Stopping them by force will often cause even more damage.

    You can try a repair install if that doesn't sort it.

    Simple enough to do. Load up the media 1903 is on, Either DVD or a Mounted ISO ( Not USB) then click on setup.exe and follow onscreen. Once it starts it can take several hours so just let it run, stopping it will almost guarantee an unbootable system.

    No Idea as to whats caused the original corruption, can be from many sources.
    Last edited by wainuitech; 04-06-2019 at 07:48 PM.

  3. #3
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2015
    Posts
    710

    Default Re: Rollback from W10 v 1903 to v 1809 and reinstal 1903 or scrap the lot and start f

    Quote Originally Posted by wainuitech View Post
    Try running a few commands first. From CMD as admin.


    sfc /scannow

    Then

    dism /online /cleanup-image /restorehealth


    "IF" either of those commands appear to hang at any point DONT stop them, as they will b e repairing the faults. Stopping them by force will often cause even more damage.

    You can try a repair install if that doesn't sort it.

    Simple enough to do. Load up the media 1903 is on, Either DVD or a Mounted ISO ( Not USB) then click on setup.exe and follow onscreen. Once it starts it can take several hours so just let it run, stopping it will almost guarantee an unbootable system.

    No Idea as to whats caused the original corruption, can be from many sources.
    wainuitech, cheers. I will try the Command prompts as Admin first...I start doing that now.
    As for a Repair install I never considered doing that because the only repair-instal I have ever done when an OS went bad on me was the Repair Upgrade to a higher version of OS which is why when I was using W7 I always installed Professional so I could up to Ultimate if needs be.
    I have the W10 Pro x64 v 1903 on DVD, from the link you suppled me a 6 to 8 weeks ago.
    I will go perform the CMD prompts now and if no success then I will start the repair install from the DVD and go bed let it do its thing while I seep.
    cheers
    Garry

  4. #4
    Member bk T's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Auckland
    Posts
    6,334

    Default Re: Rollback from W10 v 1903 to v 1809 and reinstal 1903 or scrap the lot and start f

    Quote Originally Posted by wainuitech View Post
    ...

    Simple enough to do. Load up the media 1903 is on, Either DVD or a Mounted ISO ( Not USB) then click on setup.exe and follow onscreen. ...
    MS still having problems with USB?

  5. #5
    Computer Technician wainuitech's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Wellington
    Posts
    28,669

    Default Re: Rollback from W10 v 1903 to v 1809 and reinstal 1903 or scrap the lot and start f

    Quote Originally Posted by bk T View Post
    MS still having problems with USB?
    No Idea, I i'm still using a slightly earlier ISO ( when it first came out to public) so they may have sorted it by now. But on the insider forum its been mentioned it wont be fixed until the next release.

    BTW, its usually only if trying to upgrade from a USB ( doesn't effect all USB installs) , done quite a few fresh installs and upgrades from USB without any problems.

  6. #6
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2015
    Posts
    710

    Default Re: Rollback from W10 v 1903 to v 1809 and reinstal 1903 or scrap the lot and start f

    ok I completed the Command prompts, did them separately and not in same Command prompt window.
    Both tests completed in 5 minutes each and sfc /scannow found no problems and the dism /online /cleanup-image /restorehealth operation completed successfully. Rebooted and still no calculator showing in Start/Programs. I will now set the repair instal into motion and maybe watch it for a hour.
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version. 

Name:	1__SFC SCANNOW TOOK 5 MINUTES TO COMPLETE.PNG 
Views:	55 
Size:	16.4 KB 
ID:	9676   Click image for larger version. 

Name:	2__dism  online  cleanup image restorehealth          took 5 minutes to complete.jpg 
Views:	75 
Size:	24.2 KB 
ID:	9677  

  7. #7
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2015
    Posts
    710

    Default Re: Rollback from W10 v 1903 to v 1809 and reinstal 1903 or scrap the lot and start f

    Ok I did the repair install and still no reshow of Calculator in Start -> Programs. When repair install reached 74% computer rebooted, when it came back onscreen I got a window saying "It looks like you started an upgrafe and booted from installation media. If you want to continue with the upgrade , remove the media from your PC and click Yes. If you want to perform a clean installation instead, click No" well I didn't boot from installation disc I was running the repair install from open W10 and on reboot I did not click to boot from dvd or cd.When given the choices of clicking Yes or No I took a stab at clicking Yes because I didn't want a clean installation. Maybe I do not understand MS Windows logical English! I mean I was doing a clean installation as a repair installation having opted to keep all apps and settings!
    This is beyond my simple brain really. What is the logic in that Window and its two options? Beyond this halfwit!
    Methinks its rollback to 1809 from the Windows.old in the C Drive and then upgrade to 1903 again either from the DVD I have created or get it direct installed using the Windows tool or the update assistant. Or maybe I just don't trust them because I so thick in the head and can't understand Yank English so I just Dload the ISO and throw out all I have in C Drive apart from docs and pics and any media files I will save elsewhere, and I do a Clean Fresh installation of W10 v 1903.
    A few pics where someone may be able to tell me that I shoulda click option No
    Cheers wainuitech, much obliged for your help and suggestions

    Garry
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version. 

Name:	REPAIR INSTAL REACHED 74pc AND REBOOTED AND I GET THIS INSCREEN. DECUDED TO USE THE CLICK YES OP.jpg 
Views:	40 
Size:	49.2 KB 
ID:	9678   Click image for larger version. 

Name:	THEN COMPUTER RESTARTED AND SHOW INSTALLING UPDATES.jpg 
Views:	60 
Size:	76.8 KB 
ID:	9679   Click image for larger version. 

Name:	STILL NO CALCULATOR AFTER REPAIR INSTAL IF THE REPAIR INSTAL ACTUALLY FINISHED.jpg 
Views:	79 
Size:	57.7 KB 
ID:	9680  
    Last edited by kioti; 05-06-2019 at 02:51 AM.

  8. #8
    Older by the minute
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Whitford
    Posts
    1,785

    Default Re: Rollback from W10 v 1903 to v 1809 and reinstal 1903 or scrap the lot and start f

    Did 1803 have the Calculator installed? If so then "Methinks its rollback to 1809 from the Windows.old in the C Drive and then upgrade to 1903 again either from the DVD I have created". However, is the DVD made from a downloaded copy of the Media ISO to be used on "other installations at a later time"? If so OK. If not, I would do it again so that the DVD could be used on other installations, don't quite know why my mind says this other than it should apply all the necessary addons such as Calculator and give you a sound operating system. I wouldn't tie your system up trying to upgrade from the MS download to your system, do it by ISO.

  9. #9
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2015
    Posts
    710

    Default Re: Rollback from W10 v 1903 to v 1809 and reinstal 1903 or scrap the lot and start f

    Quote Originally Posted by Bryan View Post
    Did 1803 have the Calculator installed? If so then "Methinks its rollback to 1809 from the Windows.old in the C Drive and then upgrade to 1903 again either from the DVD I have created". However, is the DVD made from a downloaded copy of the Media ISO to be used on "other installations at a later time"? If so OK. If not, I would do it again so that the DVD could be used on other installations, don't quite know why my mind says this other than it should apply all the necessary addons such as Calculator and give you a sound operating system. I wouldn't tie your system up trying to upgrade from the MS download to your system, do it by ISO.
    Bryan, hi. Yep 1809 x64 Pro had the calculator and when I installed the v1903 from a DVD I created from an ISO the link to which I was supplied from our fellow member, wainuitech. It was not the official release from MS Update or a Developers version of W10 v 1903 Pro, it was a release that was RTM and was about a month pre MS rolling it out, which is available as an Windows update/upgrade but it is not going out to all users of W10 v1809 from what I have read, its being sent out in batches to various countries kinda like a drip feed
    The v1903 that I downloaded from the link wainuitech supplied he said he had upgraded a few computers with it and there were no issues at all. So that is good enough for me.
    When I upgraded to v1903 Pro x64 calculator was there for me to use until one day it just vanished a week to and a bit ago. I don't use the utility very often but it is handy to have so I can use it when needed. The mystery is that various checks I have done show a positive and calculator is installed yet as I have said , using Search to unhide it returns "No results found for calculator" It was shortly after Windows installed some update/s that calculator vanished... by shortly I mean a day. I do not know what the updates were but it has been since that instal of updates that my computer has developed a couple of issues, such as informing me that Visual C++ 2013 was not for this computer and Windows took it upon itself to remove Vis C++ 2013, I cannot remember if it was x86 or x64 but as it stands now I have neither x86 nor x64 vis c++ 2013 installed in my computer.
    My W10 Pro x64 v1903 was as sound as a pound until calculator vanished. Ok, so I can get a 3rd party calculator in among a Desktop Gadgets app and use that, however, it just has me wondering what has gone wrong. I don't know if you have read my posts from the past 2 days but I have been through many tests such as Command prompts as Admin for sfc /scannow and dism /online /cleanup-image /restorehealth, both completed in 5 minutes and all was as it should be. So something is well screwy.
    Cheers for the interest and advice.
    Garry

    edit: the only reason I am hesitant to do the rollback to v1809 is that there is a computer game I play called Sniper Elite 4 and I have been playing it for 3 to 4 months. I have advanced from Cadet to Sniper Elite Hard mode, and if I roll back I will lose a LOT of the progress I have made because there is no Save folder in the instal Directory...the same as for Sniper elite V2 and V3.
    Last edited by kioti; 05-06-2019 at 02:55 PM.

  10. #10
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2015
    Posts
    710

    Default Re: Rollback from W10 v 1903 to v 1809 and reinstal 1903 or scrap the lot and start f

    To finish off this thread, I will say that I did the upgrade install again but this time I used the MediaCreation Tool 1903, and chose option "Upgrade this computer now" The program was downloaded and install began with option to keep all apps etc. Many updates were downloaded also. When it reached 74% installing I was waiting for it to restart like it did when I used the DVD of 1903. Happily I saw it go to 75% and steadily climb to 89% where it was hanging for 7-8minutes (as it did many times through the install) I looked away from screen for a couple of secs and showed it was going to restart. When it did it began installing the updates and after 3 restarts update install reached 100% (which it didn't the last attempt to repair install. Then after 3rd restart I had to log in to get windows usable and I was greeted with a lack screen and the word Hi. Then We have updates for you...after all was done I had open desktop. Sadly, Calculator is still not there for me to use. Baffles me that the Calc (exe) is in Windows System 32 and SysWOW64 ad will not show in Start/Programs. So at the end of the day now its a case of tolerate the no calc and get a 3rd party gadget of calculator.. roll back to v1899 that did have calculator, again try the upgrade save all apps etc, or Start from scratch. I will decide on that by the weekend. If I do the Fresh instal of W10 Pro v1903 x 64 well I just might buy a new M.2 NVMe for it and keep the existing one to play with as a 'try and fix it' challenge.
    Cheers and thanks.

    Garry
    Last edited by kioti; 05-06-2019 at 08:58 AM.

Similar Threads

  1. Notifications in Windows 10, version 1903
    By Cyberhuskey in forum PressF1
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 10-06-2019, 11:57 PM
  2. Replies: 7
    Last Post: 03-06-2019, 07:54 PM
  3. Calculator disappered in new W10 v 1903
    By kioti in forum PressF1
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 29-05-2019, 04:58 PM
  4. Latest Windows 10 1903 now officially available
    By wainuitech in forum PC World Chat
    Replies: 17
    Last Post: 27-05-2019, 09:26 PM
  5. Win 10 to Win 7....not rollback
    By kioti in forum PressF1
    Replies: 14
    Last Post: 07-04-2016, 12:57 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •