Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 15
  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Hawke's Bay
    Posts
    161

    Default Can a MySky box and Freeview tv be jointly plugged in the same ethernet wall socket?

    Can a MySky box and Freeview tv be jointly plugged into the same ethernet wall socket that is wired through the house from the modem?
    Then I should be able to download media to both the tv and Sky box without swapping the two leads about.
    Thanks in advance. Peter.

  2. #2
    Unknown Device wratterus's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Top of the South
    Posts
    12,338

    Default Re: Can a MySky box and Freeview tv be jointly plugged in the same ethernet wall sock

    You can technically do this with an adapter at each end that splits the 4 pair CAT cable into 2 lots of 4 pairs, which will give you 2x 100Mbps links.

    http://www.dynamix.co.nz/C-RJ45LT2

    Honestly it's probably easier to get a switch and a couple of patch cables.
    Microsoft: "You've got questions. We've got dancing paperclips."

  3. #3
    Unknown Device wratterus's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Top of the South
    Posts
    12,338

    Default Re: Can a MySky box and Freeview tv be jointly plugged in the same ethernet wall sock

    2 lots of 2 pairs I should say.
    Microsoft: "You've got questions. We've got dancing paperclips."

  4. #4
    Computer Technician wainuitech's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Wellington
    Posts
    28,676

    Default Re: Can a MySky box and Freeview tv be jointly plugged in the same ethernet wall sock

    Quote Originally Posted by wratterus View Post
    You can technically do this with an adapter at each end that splits the 4 pair CAT cable into 2 lots of 4 pairs, which will give you 2x 100Mbps links.

    http://www.dynamix.co.nz/C-RJ45LT2

    Honestly it's probably easier to get a switch and a couple of patch cables.
    The switch would be a better option, a simple 5 port is under $30, throw in a couple of patch cables ( 1Mtr under $10 each) and away you go.

    Simple to setup, Plug it into the Power Socket,the cable from the wall goes into port 1 (keeps it simple, some switches have a port marked as IN ) then ports 2 & 3 cables go off to each device, the Router sorts out the IP address required. Having a single switch also means you have a couple of extra ports if you ever need to add more devices.

    If you want to be neat, wire tie the cables together.
    Last edited by wainuitech; 26-02-2019 at 11:47 AM.

  5. #5
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Hawke's Bay
    Posts
    161

    Default Re: Can a MySky box and Freeview tv be jointly plugged in the same ethernet wall sock

    Thank you wratterus & wainuitech
    Where might I purchase one of these 5-port switches and cables now there is no Dick Smith?
    Peter.

  6. #6
    Computer Technician wainuitech's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Wellington
    Posts
    28,676

    Default Re: Can a MySky box and Freeview tv be jointly plugged in the same ethernet wall sock

    For basic Switches, The ones I use are TP-Link, if you google "TP-Link 5-Port Gigabit desktop switch New Zealand" You'll get plenty of results. You generally could get Cables ( varying / Required length to suit your needs) from the same place.

    Any Compuiter place could supply you. Just Some examples:

    Mightyape https://www.mightyape.co.nz/computer...g/switches/all

    PBTech - https://www.pbtech.co.nz/product/SWH...managed-Switch

    I just have a 8 port Switch, one day I'll get around to mounting it on the wall out of site instead on Floor mounted


    I sell them as well, but normally the postage kills it from other places.

  7. #7
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Hawke's Bay
    Posts
    161

    Default Re: Can a MySky box and Freeview tv be jointly plugged in the same ethernet wall sock

    Can one of these Switches be mounted on the wall near my modem so as to give me the option to wire more ethernet points under the house than the present max of four from my modem?
    I hope this makes sense.
    Peter.

  8. #8
    Old guy
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Posts
    3,013

    Default Re: Can a MySky box and Freeview tv be jointly plugged in the same ethernet wall sock

    Quote Originally Posted by PeterE View Post
    Can one of these Switches be mounted on the wall near my modem so as to give me the option to wire more ethernet points under the house than the present max of four from my modem?
    I hope this makes sense.
    Peter.
    It certainly can.

  9. #9
    Computer Technician wainuitech's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Wellington
    Posts
    28,676

    Default Re: Can a MySky box and Freeview tv be jointly plugged in the same ethernet wall sock

    Quote Originally Posted by PeterE View Post
    Can one of these Switches be mounted on the wall near my modem so as to give me the option to wire more ethernet points under the house than the present max of four from my modem?
    I hope this makes sense.
    Peter.
    Yep they sure can

    As mentioned I use TP-Link. Got several, inside and in the workshop.

    Heres The 5 port wall mounted (in workshop) and the One in the lounge "floor Mounted" SWMBO decided we "had" to remove her old desk, put in Some shelving for "junk" its open backed, so need to close it off then I'll mount it out the way / Of Site.

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	TPlink 5 Port.jpg 
Views:	48 
Size:	44.9 KB 
ID:	9389Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Floor_mounted.jpg 
Views:	48 
Size:	35.9 KB 
ID:	9390

    Edited: not all switches have the mounting holes so any other brand you will have to look before buyng.
    Last edited by wainuitech; 28-02-2019 at 04:15 PM.

  10. #10
    Computer Technician wainuitech's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Wellington
    Posts
    28,676

    Default Re: Can a MySky box and Freeview tv be jointly plugged in the same ethernet wall sock

    Just adding more to above, the 5 /8 ports are only simple examples.

    What you can do (if you have need lots of outlets)

    Router = 4 ports - each cable connects to a 24 port Switch, so 1 port feeds 24, NOW x that by 4 , 4x24 Port switches = 92 Outlets -- (1 on each switch is in).

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	24_Port.jpg 
Views:	39 
Size:	24.2 KB 
ID:	9391

    From those 24 Ports switches you can "daisy chain" more switches.

    Here for example - Router, one port feeds a 8 port switch close by the router, from one of the ports that feeds to the 8 port in the lounge, which feeds 3 devices.

    Using my previous Picture:

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Switch_Config.jpg 
Views:	52 
Size:	23.0 KB 
ID:	9392

    We wont get into Different Subnets etc thats Stuff
    Last edited by wainuitech; 28-02-2019 at 05:41 PM.

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 2
    Last Post: 23-10-2010, 09:05 PM
  2. WTH!? rj45 to 240v-wall-socket adapters?
    By motorbyclist in forum PC World Chat
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 22-08-2006, 02:10 PM
  3. RJ45 wall socket Tool?
    By bk T in forum PressF1
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 07-05-2005, 05:10 PM
  4. RJ45 wall socket
    By bk T in forum PressF1
    Replies: 13
    Last Post: 27-04-2005, 11:49 AM
  5. RJ45 wall socket wiring
    By bk T in forum PressF1
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 25-11-2003, 10:42 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •