Results 1 to 9 of 9
  1. #1
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Posts
    145

    Default Two 2tb partitions on MBR?

    I have a 4TB WD drive and I'm trying to create 2x 2TB partitions as MBR. I need to use MBR as it's for my TV which doesn't recognise GPT, so I need 2x 2tb partitions, not a 4tb GPT.

    I've tried EaseUS partition manager, Acronis and Minitool, nothing can use the unpartitioned space after the first 2TB partition.

    As a last resort, can I at least use GPT and MBR on the same disk?

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	partition.jpg 
Views:	11 
Size:	36.8 KB 
ID:	9335

    https://i.imgur.com/HjUmGkz.jpg
    Last edited by Vicx; 04-02-2019 at 02:43 PM.

  2. #2
    amateur expert dugimodo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Posts
    7,546

    Default Re: Two 2tb partitions on MBR?

    I think the 2TB limit for MBR is in total for a disk regardless of how many partitions. I'm not certain but I don't think what you want is possible.
    Ryzen 2700X, 16Gb DDR4RAM, 512GB M.2 NVME SSD, MSI GTX1070

  3. #3
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Posts
    145

    Default Re: Two 2tb partitions on MBR?

    As WD drives don't use 512k anymore I don't think it's possible, only with the older ones. This is the only solution I found: https://superuser.com/questions/1123...ndows-with-mbr

  4. #4
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Posts
    145

    Default Re: Two 2tb partitions on MBR?

    Can't update my original post but I got it working, it IS possible to create additional partitions over 2TB on MBR but ONLY with Gparted.

    https://gparted.org/livecd.php
    https://www.pendrivelinux.com/yumi-m...t-usb-creator/

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	2x2tbMBR.JPG 
Views:	17 
Size:	30.1 KB 
ID:	9336

  5. #5
    amateur expert dugimodo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Posts
    7,546

    Default Re: Two 2tb partitions on MBR?

    The interesting question is, does the TV see the second partition? And does a PC?
    Ryzen 2700X, 16Gb DDR4RAM, 512GB M.2 NVME SSD, MSI GTX1070

  6. #6
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Posts
    145

    Default Re: Two 2tb partitions on MBR?

    yes Win10 and the TV can see both partitions, I was doubtful it'd work til I saw it.

  7. #7
    Computer Technician wainuitech's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Wellington
    Posts
    26,262

    Default Re: Two 2tb partitions on MBR?

    Quote Originally Posted by Vicx View Post
    Can't update my original post but I got it working, it IS possible to create additional partitions over 2TB on MBR but ONLY with Gparted.

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	2x2tbMBR.JPG 
Views:	17 
Size:	30.1 KB 
ID:	9336
    Awhh but the picture provided it shows they are UNDER 2 TB. If they were for example 2.5- 3 + the remainder then that would be true
    Update / Upgrades = Replace old bugs with new ones.

  8. #8
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Posts
    145

    Default Re: Two 2tb partitions on MBR?

    It's a 4tb drive and not all of that is useable, I want to utilise the unpartitioned space after 2tb, but you knew that.

  9. #9
    Computer Technician wainuitech's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Wellington
    Posts
    26,262

    Default Re: Two 2tb partitions on MBR?

    Quote Originally Posted by Vicx View Post
    It's a 4tb drive and not all of that is useable, I want to utilise the unpartitioned space after 2tb, but you knew that.
    Nope, you started you wanted partitions of 2TB with MBR,
    I'm trying to create 2x 2TB partitions as MBR
    Then produced a screen shot saying :
    it IS possible to create additional partitions over 2TB on MBR but ONLY with Gparted.
    Whats shown is two 1.82TB. BUT, if they were a partition of lets say 3TB in the first with the remainder another smaller partition then yes, but that's not whats shown. . GPARTED cant do operations that physically cant be done. A STD 4TB drive actually holds approx 3.638TB , which is what is shown with no spare space

    The limitations are caused by the 512K Sectors (for MBR)

    There are external disks available which present themselves as disks with 4096-byte sectors. On these disks, MBR can support up to 16 TB.
    Western Digital do have 4K drives, listed HERE

    What is not mentioned is if the drive is an external or internal.
    In the specification, it lists:
    512 emulation model number: 512 emulated (512 logical / 4K physical)
    512 native model number: 512 native (512 logical / 512 physical)

    The model numbers which are 512 emulated (512e) are 4K drives. They physically have 4096 bytes per sector.

    Please note the model numbers which are 512 native (512n) are not 4K drives. They are 512 physical bytes per sector.
    Update / Upgrades = Replace old bugs with new ones.

Similar Threads

  1. Partitions in XP
    By bpt2 in forum PressF1
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 16-03-2006, 11:02 AM
  2. hd partitions
    By Nodrog in forum PressF1
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 24-01-2004, 08:12 AM
  3. Partitions
    By Jester in forum PressF1
    Replies: 22
    Last Post: 29-10-2003, 12:36 PM
  4. Partitions
    By in forum PressF1
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 23-03-2002, 11:03 AM
  5. Partitions
    By in forum PressF1
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 21-03-2002, 07:36 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •