Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast
Results 11 to 20 of 22

Thread: Active@ help

  1. #11
    Senior Member Pato's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Kapiti Coast
    Posts
    1,925

    Default Re: Active@ help

    That gives me something to think about. Active@ is a good programme but it is playing games with me at present.

  2. #12
    Senior Member Pato's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Kapiti Coast
    Posts
    1,925

    Default Re: Active@ help

    wainuitech. I have wiped my previous backups and trying again with Active@. Does this look normal for the backup?Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Active@ new backup.PNG 
Views:	17 
Size:	29.3 KB 
ID:	9289

  3. #13
    Old guy
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Posts
    2,083

    Default Re: Active@ help

    That is the normal screen you see when you select Disk to Image. Select what you want to backup there and click next.

  4. #14
    Senior Member Pato's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Kapiti Coast
    Posts
    1,925

    Default Re: Active@ help

    Quote Originally Posted by CliveM View Post
    That is the normal screen you see when you select Disk to Image. Select what you want to backup there and click next.
    What is the Local Disk (2)?

  5. #15
    Computer Technician wainuitech's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Wellington
    Posts
    26,211

    Default Re: Active@ help

    Quote Originally Posted by Pato View Post
    What is the Local Disk (2)?
    looking at the picture, Disk 3 (E) looks like a external HDD/ back up drive

    Disk 0 May be a Internal 1 TB Hard Drive ( storage etc)

    Disk 1 Main Drive, the partitions in Disk 1 are fine, (2) is a recovery partition - look at its size its tiny.


    To back up, you don't need to select Disk 0 unless you really want to back that up as well, ( theres not enough room anyway on the external HDD) just backup Disk 1, then when asked, disk 3 for the location
    Update / Upgrades = Replace old bugs with new ones.

  6. #16
    Senior Member Pato's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Kapiti Coast
    Posts
    1,925

    Default Re: Active@ help

    Disk 3 (F) IS my backup drive. I thought I would have to backup my "E" drive as well as my "C" drive. So all I have to tick is Disk 1?

  7. #17
    Computer Technician wainuitech's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Wellington
    Posts
    26,211

    Default Re: Active@ help

    Quote Originally Posted by Pato View Post
    Disk 3 (F) IS my backup drive. I thought I would have to backup my "E" drive as well as my "C" drive. So all I have to tick is Disk 1?
    Yep, tick Disk 1, the partitions will automatically populate:

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Select.png 
Views:	6 
Size:	37.2 KB 
ID:	9290

    Next window it will ask where to back it up to, select disk 3

    Just a very quick example, https://streamable.com/7yrdo my Disk 0 is the main drive, Disk 1 (E) is the internal storage, if I had of carried on it would have started to back up, you can also select a Folder if you have one on the backup drive, this is in case you want multiple backups ( different computers or dates).

    I'd actually do it to a LAN storage on a server,wont include that as it will only be confusing
    Update / Upgrades = Replace old bugs with new ones.

  8. #18
    Senior Member Pato's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Kapiti Coast
    Posts
    1,925

    Default Re: Active@ help

    Thanks again. View log says backup successful. Hope I don't have the same problem when I try to do a Differential back at a later date. Can I use the Boot Disk I created when I first installed the program last year?

  9. #19
    Computer Technician wainuitech's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Wellington
    Posts
    26,211

    Default Re: Active@ help

    Quote Originally Posted by Pato View Post
    Thanks again. View log says backup successful. Hope I don't have the same problem when I try to do a Differential back at a later date. Can I use the Boot Disk I created when I first installed the program last year?
    If you use the same version as the backup then yes.

    Personally I don't bother with Differential backs, its just as easy to manually run a FULL backup, keep both on your storages, then delete the oldest one every couple of months as its replaced.

    When you download the trial with the disk creator it creates a so called 21 day trial, BUT it still works for months(years) afterwards. If you buy it then there's no prompt for trial usage.

    Pays to use the same versions, meaning if you have version 9 of the Free, then use version 9 boot CD.

    What you can do is download and install the free version ( doesn't expire) for doing backups etc, then download the trial Boot CD installer option at the same time, either create the CD, that way its the same version. There has been sometimes I got the CD's mixed up, and an image made with ( lets say V7) the V8 CD wont work with it.

    Pays to try them out every so often after creating, all I do is throw in a spare HDD, ( after disconnecting the original) and drop the image back as long as it boots into the OS, data there = all good, then change the drives back.
    Update / Upgrades = Replace old bugs with new ones.

  10. #20
    Soaring like an Eagle gary67's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    In a field in Hanmer
    Posts
    14,210

    Default Re: Active@ help

    I went into disk management and told my laptop to always use the assigned drive letter for my backup portable drive. I chose Z as its at the end of the alphabet and so doesn't affect any other drives that might be plugged in.

Similar Threads

  1. Active@ help
    By Pato in forum PressF1
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 12-10-2016, 09:55 AM
  2. Active-x
    By Rock in forum PressF1
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 27-05-2008, 08:10 PM
  3. Active X
    By Smithie 38 in forum PressF1
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: 01-12-2003, 09:43 AM
  4. Replies: 0
    Last Post: 19-01-2001, 12:57 PM
  5. Active X
    By in forum PressF1
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 20-01-2000, 11:48 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •