Page 1 of 4 1234 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 33

Thread: Firefox?

  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Posts
    201

    Question Firefox?

    I love Firefox and I have used it for years and years BUT now I am finding more and more sites just don't load properly with Firefox.

    QUESTION: Am I alone in this?

    Yes, before someone asks, I am using the very latest version of Firefox and I regularly update it. :-)

  2. #2
    Soaring like an Eagle gary67's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    In a field in Hanmer
    Posts
    14,863

    Default Re: Firefox?

    Loads fine here 2 laptops and 2 phones on Firefox

  3. #3
    amateur expert dugimodo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Posts
    8,108

    Default Re: Firefox?

    I had issues with the google play store videos and installed chrome to fix them. Because I see no need for multiple browsers and chrome seems to be the most widely supported I've stuck with it.
    It may not be the fastest or the best, but for me at least it's been the most dependable. Prior to that I used FF for quite a few years.

    On the other had the whole video issue really annoyed me. Supposedly you can rent a movie from the play store and play it back in whatever browser you like. That was the official story at the time at least.
    So I rented a movie to try it out (Before Netflix was a thing here) and couldn't get it to play. FF, Edge, IE, none of them would play the movie, didn't want to waste my money so I installed chrome and away it went.
    Seems all a bit dodgy and underhanded but it converted me to chrome anyway.

    Incidentally I've tried to like edge a few times now, but I just can't do it.
    Ryzen 2700X, 16Gb DDR4RAM, 512GB M.2 NVME SSD, MSI GTX1070

  4. #4
    Short Member pcuser42's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Pukekohe Shuttle
    Posts
    10,108

    Default Re: Firefox?

    Never had a problem with Firefox not loading pages probably, at work it's usually Chrome that's playing naughty anyway

  5. #5
    Senior Member Paul.Cov's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Posts
    2,750

    Default Re: Firefox?

    A few days ago I upgraded to FF 63.0
    It has new built in ad blocking and anti-tracking features, which have led me to disable my older ad blocker.

    However, I'm finding there's a crazy lag in communicating to websites, and the lag seems to be on the outgoing end, waiting for FF to process a request to talk to whatever website.
    Websites load fine, and fast, once that initial communication is actually initiated, and a speed test shows good ping, etc, yet the responsiveness to clicking any link is definitely 'retarded' at best.

  6. #6
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Posts
    201

    Default Re: Firefox?

    An app developer I know says developers usually don't test websites and apps with Firefox because it has a low market share now compared to Chrome. Chrome works fine for me. But I don't like it.

    I read somewhere that it's because FF doesn't suppose flash anymore but Chrome does. I don't know if this is true?

  7. #7
    Short Member pcuser42's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Pukekohe Shuttle
    Posts
    10,108

    Default Re: Firefox?

    Quote Originally Posted by Billy View Post
    An app developer I know says developers usually don't test websites and apps with Firefox because it has a low market share now compared to Chrome. Chrome works fine for me. But I don't like it.

    I read somewhere that it's because FF doesn't suppose flash anymore but Chrome does. I don't know if this is true?
    Sounds like that developer is lazy. Always test in any browser with a decent market share (that includes Firefox).

    All browsers still support Flash, they just do so begrudgingly.
    "He who resorts to personal insults hath lost the argument."

    Twitter

  8. #8
    Re Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Beside the aviary,HB
    Posts
    836

    Default Re: Firefox?

    Same here. I can't get onto my Outlook website now with FF, and another suppliers website.Have to use Chrome to access them.

  9. #9
    Senior Member piroska's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2017
    Location
    With Kim-Jong-Mum
    Posts
    3,342

    Default Re: Firefox?

    Suddenly this morning almost every site I type into the address bar gives me
    The page isnít redirecting properly

    Firefox has detected that the server is redirecting the request for this address in a way that will never complete.

    This problem can sometimes be caused by disabling or refusing to accept cookies


    Cleared cache, cookies etc.
    In fact deleted cookies manually as well.

    If I google the site, then click select it they load fine.
    Ditto pressf1.co.nz

    Haven't changed anything at all, no new version or whatever.
    Ex-pctek

  10. #10
    Senior Member 1101's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    7,280

    Default Re: Firefox?

    Ive come across very few site that dont work in FF, those sites often dont work in Chrome either . I use IE for those.

    But, I have an ad-blocker in FF, that may be helping by blocking the crap that could otherwise cause issues ?

Similar Threads

  1. Firefox download freezes firefox
    By mikebartnz in forum PressF1
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 04-11-2010, 07:55 PM
  2. how many firefox add-ons do you use?
    By Mirddes in forum PC World Chat
    Replies: 38
    Last Post: 21-09-2009, 10:18 PM
  3. Replies: 9
    Last Post: 16-10-2008, 01:25 PM
  4. Firefox homepage reset - to firefox google japan
    By Morgenmuffel in forum PressF1
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 08-10-2008, 03:04 PM
  5. Replies: 3
    Last Post: 05-08-2006, 02:48 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •