Page 2 of 5 FirstFirst 12345 LastLast
Results 11 to 20 of 44
  1. #11
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Christchurch
    Posts
    2,118

    Default Re: No 1809 win 10 update for me?

    HP laptop latest here 1803. Loading desktop icons takes forever to roll over from white to actual icon.

    Better leave 1809 on back burner.

    Used to boot in 15 seconds, now one could have a cuppa, at least shutdown is about 5 seconds.

    Should get the Ruskies to test their software, like they do with elections.

  2. #12
    Soaring like an Eagle gary67's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    In a field in Hanmer
    Posts
    14,188

    Default Re: No 1809 win 10 update for me?

    Quote Originally Posted by 1101 View Post
    Honestly, that means nothing at all. A bit like saying : I drive drunk, never crashed & never been caught
    Plenty have had serious issues. Not everyone, but plenty of people.
    1809 was so bad MS withdrew it within a few days .

    MS fired most of the testing staff for updates. What they are doing is using the public(insiders) to test updates for them .
    And again & again , bugs reported by insiders arnt being fixed before the updates are released
    So its now a crap shoot as to what issues windows updates will have.
    Climb down, my comment has merit because Speedy said it will crash HP's as it affects HP computers. It does not, it might affect some HP laptops but certainly not all of them

  3. #13
    Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Posts
    2,334

    Default Re: No 1809 win 10 update for me?

    I don't update W10 any more, I hardly ever use it. I use Mint most of the time with no hassles at all. I also have W7 in a virtual machine hosted by Mint which I often use instead of W10.

  4. #14
    Member bk T's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Auckland
    Posts
    5,852

    Default Re: No 1809 win 10 update for me?

    Win10 auto update can be annoying, at times.

    How nice if we can choose to update as and when we feel like it, just like older versions of Windows.

  5. #15
    Computer Technician wainuitech's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Wellington
    Posts
    26,129

    Default Re: No 1809 win 10 update for me?

    Quote Originally Posted by bk T View Post
    Win10 auto update can be annoying, at times.

    How nice if we can choose to update as and when we feel like it, just like older versions of Windows.
    You can, as long as you have the professional version.

    The problem is most home users and lots of businesses ONLY have the cutdown less options Home edition, this is what's brought in the toaster shop PC's.

    What all the bells and whistles upgrade to Professional.
    Update / Upgrades = Replace old bugs with new ones.

  6. #16
    Senior Member 1101's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    5,819

    Default Re: No 1809 win 10 update for me?

    Win Pro lets you delay feature/build updates (untill well tested out in the wild) , thats quite usefull.

    Win10 (pro & home) doesnt give full control over updates . They'll come in eventually, wanted or not.
    You have to hack or use 3rd party tools for that
    https://www.tenforums.com/windows-up...ompletely.html

  7. #17
    Short Member pcuser42's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Pukekohe Shuttle
    Posts
    9,988

    Default Re: No 1809 win 10 update for me?

    Quote Originally Posted by wainuitech View Post
    You can, as long as you have the professional version. The problem is most home users and lots of businesses ONLY have the cutdown less options Home edition, this is what's brought in the toaster shop PC's. What all the bells and whistles upgrade to Professional.
    The people buying the toaster shop PCs are also normally the ones who need updates the most
    "He who resorts to personal insults hath lost the argument."

    Twitter

  8. #18
    Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Posts
    2,334

    Default Re: No 1809 win 10 update for me?

    Quote Originally Posted by 1101 View Post
    Win Pro lets you delay feature/build updates (untill well tested out in the wild) , thats quite usefull.

    Win10 (pro & home) doesnt give full control over updates . They'll come in eventually, wanted or not.
    You have to hack or use 3rd party tools for that
    https://www.tenforums.com/windows-up...ompletely.html
    I just turn off " Auto Update" in Group Policy.
    A friend has a fancy HP laptop which cost her about $3,000, It had Windows 10 Home in it! For that kind of money I would expect Windows 10 Pro. I upgraded it.

  9. #19
    Senior Member 1101's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    5,819

    Default Re: No 1809 win 10 update for me?

    The home/pro thing is just a scam from MS to make more money

    Pro users are usually server connected, so they are allready paying more for server user licences . MS is effectively charging them twice, 4x if using Terminal services

    If Pro was really buseness orientated by MS, and they DIDNT force games & non business crap in via updates, then maybee they could justify its extra cost.

  10. #20
    Computer Technician wainuitech's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Wellington
    Posts
    26,129

    Default Re: No 1809 win 10 update for me?

    Quote Originally Posted by 1101 View Post
    The home/pro thing is just a scam from MS to make more money

    Pro users are usually server connected, so they are allready paying more for server user licences . MS is effectively charging them twice, 4x if using Terminal services

    If Pro was really buseness orientated by MS, and they DIDNT force games & non business crap in via updates, then maybee they could justify its extra cost.
    Actually only some of that's correct (the games part). Windows Pro has several options that home doesn't.

    Home cant do the following:

    • Can't Join A domain or Azure (which a Business may have setup) Joining a Domain Server is totally different to a workgroup ( you would know that)
    • Doesn't have Group Police Management
    • Doesn't have bitlocker
    • Doesn't have Device Guard
    • Doesn't have Remote Desktop **


    Also doesn't have other settings that Pro Does have (Adjusting Updates to name just one)

    **Remote desktop- Home can log into a remote desktop, either TO Pro, or TO a server, BUT you cant log into a home remote desktop, if you go into Settings > System > Remote Desktop, .theres a message saying your Home is not capable.

    If you want remote you either have to use Quick Assist ( that works both ways on Home) but you have to manually enter codes each time, or a third party program Like TeamViwer if you want unattended.
    Last edited by wainuitech; 02-11-2018 at 10:39 AM.
    Update / Upgrades = Replace old bugs with new ones.

Similar Threads

  1. Windows 10 October Update (1809)
    By chiefnz in forum PressF1
    Replies: 22
    Last Post: 17-10-2018, 06:01 PM
  2. Replies: 5
    Last Post: 05-08-2012, 05:30 PM
  3. MS Update CD and Win 98SE update pack
    By Susan B in forum PressF1
    Replies: 16
    Last Post: 24-05-2004, 10:58 PM
  4. Replies: 1
    Last Post: 05-10-2003, 01:41 PM
  5. Live update will not update liveupdate
    By Sam H in forum PressF1
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 27-07-2002, 07:46 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •