Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Question What to look for in buying a new laptop??

I currently got an Acer Aspire V3-571G laptop that I have been using since August 2012.

As my laptop battery has died and the dvd rom has given upÖ, itís time to look for another laptop.

As it has been a while since I looked for a laptop what sort of things should I look for in buying a new laptop? And what should I avoid??

Default Re: What to look for in buying a new laptop??

An SSD as well as a mechanical hard drive 8Gb RAM and anything else you would like really.

Oh and a full keyboard with number pad and a 17" screen.
    Last edited by gary67; 22-06-2018 at 05:46 PM.

Wanderer

Quote Originally Posted by stu161204 View Post
    I currently got an Acer Aspire V3-571G laptop that I have been using since August 2012.

As my laptop battery has died and the dvd rom has given up…, it’s time to look for another laptop.

As it has been a while since I looked for a laptop what sort of things should I look for in buying a new laptop? And what should I avoid??

What will you be using it for and is it your primary computer or do you a desktop PC for that?

When I use a laptop I am like many out there, just surfing the web etc etc. So for me I just got a ex lease Thinkpad, swapped in a SSD and 16GB RAM (8GB was prob enough but I went the max so I can use it longer). For a laptop, I would pick something more reliable like the pro range. HP Pro Book etc .. Lenovo Thinkpads. There is also size to think about. After having this Thinkpad T series, I kinda wishes I got the X. I did have 2 prior X before but thought I get something a bit larger, but I still prerfer something just portable even if it was just running around here at home and spending time in the warm lounge in the evenings

To me
    (a) quality model of laptop (new or used).
    (b) your preferable size?
    (c) SSD and 8GB at least. I would not consider a normal HDD.
    (d) speed wise that it fits your usage.