Page 1 of 4 1234 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 33

Thread: Skype Help

  1. #1
    Senior Member Pato's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Kapiti Coast
    Posts
    2,020

    Default Skype Help

    Just tried to use Skype after some months but it is dead. I am running Win10 and a Logitech C625 Webcam.

    Have checked in Device Manager and says it is running ok. Perhaps some of the windows automatic updates have upset things. OS build 17134.78. Any suggestions please.?

  2. #2
    Computer Technician wainuitech's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Wellington
    Posts
    28,038

    Default Re: Skype Help

    Open task manager and turn it off. You may find you have to use the app version from the start menu, The older version has been discontinued.

    https://support.skype.com/en/faq/FA3...indows-desktop

    To test the Cam, type Cam into the search, open it, see if it picks up the camera or not.
    Last edited by wainuitech; 27-05-2018 at 02:40 PM.

  3. #3
    Senior Member Pato's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Kapiti Coast
    Posts
    2,020

    Default Re: Skype Help

    I have just uninstalled/reinstalled Skype with the latest edition and now of course I have a blank canvas. Should have saved my contacts. DUH.

    I have to start from scratch now and it is a long time since I installed skype. It should be easy but nothing is happening at this stage. The old brain isn't as fast as it used to be.

  4. #4
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Auckland
    Posts
    779

    Default Re: Skype Help

    Your Contacts list is held by Skype out there, I thought, not in your computer.

  5. #5
    Senior Member Pato's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Kapiti Coast
    Posts
    2,020

    Default Re: Skype Help

    Quote Originally Posted by rumpty View Post
    Your Contacts list is held by Skype out there, I thought, not in your computer.
    Thanks. You are probably correct. I just have to get the dam thing working again.
    It's not detecting my Logitech Webcam so I don't know what is going on at present.

  6. #6
    Senior Member Driftwood's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    Central Otago
    Posts
    3,010

    Default Re: Skype Help

    Did you not read post #2

  7. #7
    Senior Member Pato's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Kapiti Coast
    Posts
    2,020

    Default Re: Skype Help

    Quote Originally Posted by Driftwood View Post
    Did you not read post #2
    Of course I read ii. I always appreciate the help of wainui. Doesn't alter fact that I can still not get it to work.

  8. #8
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Christchurch
    Posts
    2,428

    Default Re: Skype Help

    Our contacts came across ok, except for the most important one ! our son's no longer there.

    Notice each time W10 updates, there is always sometmhing that needs straightning out, desktop icons now take their time to refresh and W7 games always need to be re-loaded.

    lurking.

  9. #9
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Auckland
    Posts
    779

    Default Re: Skype Help

    Quote Originally Posted by Pato View Post
    Thanks. You are probably correct. I just have to get the dam thing working again.
    It's not detecting my Logitech Webcam so I don't know what is going on at present.
    Pato, here is what I did. Downloaded a driver for my Logitech 9000 camera from their website, (13.80), installed it, just the driver, unticked the other stuff.

    But the Skype app that W10 comes with kept telling me that the camera was in use by another application, but I couldn't find anything in Task Manager. Checked here and there, rebooted, but still had the message that the camera was already in use.

    Right, uninstalled W10s built in Skype, downloaded Skype Portable, the installer that is, from portableapps.com and installed that. All good, it works, sees my camera, and Skype is the familiar one with all the old setting options. 7.41.0.101. I have used the Skype portable version for years - Skype needs a bit of confining!

  10. #10
    Senior Member Pato's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Kapiti Coast
    Posts
    2,020

    Default Re: Skype Help

    Thanks rumpty I appreciate your help and suggestions. It is annoying because skype was working perfectly previously and stopped without any input from me.

Similar Threads

  1. Skype
    By lostsoul62 in forum PressF1
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 09-06-2013, 11:45 AM
  2. Skype 5.6
    By Ron24 in forum PressF1
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 19-10-2011, 02:47 PM
  3. Skype
    By B.M. in forum PressF1
    Replies: 12
    Last Post: 30-11-2008, 09:57 AM
  4. Skype
    By Baldy in forum PressF1
    Replies: 18
    Last Post: 19-09-2006, 05:42 PM
  5. Skype
    By B.M. in forum PressF1
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 23-08-2006, 10:04 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •