Page 1 of 4 1234 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 31
  1. #1
    Member bk T's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Auckland
    Posts
    6,125

    Default Wireless Access Point

    My friend is looking for wireless Access point for his double storey house as the ISP supplied wireless modem isn't powerful enough to cover the upstairs.

    Existing setup:

    Fibre ONT -> HG 659B wireless modem /router. This works fine for rooms on the ground floor but the two rooms upstairs have very weak signal coverage. He has one Ethernet cable run from the HG 659B to the living room upstairs. Running additional cable to other 2 bedrooms isn't practical. We are looking at buying a wireless access point or a wireless router, connect it to the Ethernet cable upstairs to cover the 2 rooms.

    Will the above configuration work? If so, what brand/model of access point / wireless router would you recommend?

    What are the differences between an Access Point and a Wireless Router?

  2. #2
    Senior Member 1101's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    6,896

    Default Re: Wireless Access Point

    An access point is wifi only. It does nothing else & you still need a router

    dont expect a magic fix from adding a new device . Sometimes a new router/access point does the job, sometimes not.
    walls and ceilings attenuate the signal. Just they way it is.
    Also , some devices work better than others with weak signal : my new tablet works where the old tablet couldnt get a good signal

    Powerline kit is a good option to consider . Most of the time that works really well, sometime not . Wont know untill its tried unfortunately
    Repeaters : just avoid them

    mesh kits : some have had good results , I suspect they wont work if theres too weak a signal

    Try the easy things 1st. Try another wifi channel . Try moving the wifi router , try positioning the arial (if it has external arial)
    turn off any other wireless devices, cordless phones , TV vid repeaters etc etc

    Otherwise, look here for the well proven wifi access points
    https://www.geekzone.co.nz/forums.as...topicid=197871

    Wifi : its convenience, not reliability :-)
    Last edited by 1101; 23-05-2018 at 11:23 AM.

  3. #3
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Posts
    1,162

    Default Re: Wireless Access Point

    Power line Adaptors are good for these situations.

    Access Points, Wireless Router, kinda no difference, as long as they provide a point of access. Access Points are probably a bit basic in setup.

    There's been tonnes of information shared here on setting these types of configurations up, although haven't read anything about these set ups in ages.

    So with the router/ap, you can use the same SSID (WiFi name and password), same or different channel (test it, sometimes it can interfere, so a unique channel has to be used), must turn DHCP off on the second router. Must not set up ISP information on it.

    Basically a lot of testing to see what gives best results, since it can be different for everyone.

  4. #4
    Computer Technician wainuitech's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Wellington
    Posts
    27,848

    Default Re: Wireless Access Point

    You can use a Router as a wireless access point by turning off the DHCP, but you cant use a Access point as a router, two different tings.

    The router is what supplies the IP address to the Access point. Having a cable already run is handy. While EOP devices usually work, if you wanted to use the cable then an access point is the option.
    You can get some nice looking access points these days, that don't require additional power plugs ( like the router would) I've installed a couple of Ubiquiti UAP-LR UniFi 802.11b/g/n 500mW Long Range Indoor Access Point, PoE included.

    They basically look like a dish / smoke detector and blend in quite well to most surroundings. They are around $160.

  5. #5
    Member bk T's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Auckland
    Posts
    6,125

    Default Re: Wireless Access Point

    Quote Originally Posted by wainuitech View Post
    You can use a Router as a wireless access point by turning off the DHCP, but you cant use a Access point as a router, two different tings.

    The router is what supplies the IP address to the Access point. Having a cable already run is handy. While EOP devices usually work, if you wanted to use the cable then an access point is the option.
    You can get some nice looking access points these days, that don't require additional power plugs ( like the router would) I've installed a couple of Ubiquiti UAP-LR UniFi 802.11b/g/n 500mW Long Range Indoor Access Point, PoE included.

    They basically look like a dish / smoke detector and blend in quite well to most surroundings. They are around $160.
    The Access point you mentioned looks good for our application.

    Am I right to say that we can just plug in the Ethernet cable to the Access point and it should just work, no settings required?

    Power to the access point via PoE?

  6. #6
    Old guy
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Posts
    2,651

    Default Re: Wireless Access Point

    Quote Originally Posted by bk T View Post
    The Access point you mentioned looks good for our application.

    Am I right to say that we can just plug in the Ethernet cable to the Access point and it should just work, no settings required?

    Power to the access point via PoE?
    No. The Ubiquiti AP does need to be given the basic wifi settings to work. Definately not just plug it in and go.

  7. #7
    Member bk T's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Auckland
    Posts
    6,125

    Default Re: Wireless Access Point

    How easy or difficult it is to set up?

    Similar to setting up a router?

    Probably we only need a password to access!

  8. #8
    Computer Technician wainuitech's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Wellington
    Posts
    27,848

    Default Re: Wireless Access Point

    Quote Originally Posted by bk T View Post
    How easy or difficult it is to set up?

    Similar to setting up a router?

    Probably we only need a password to access!
    Piece of cake. Been trying to find a simple video showing how its connected-- Bloody hell talk about woffle on them

    BUT - have a look at this one, scroll to about 1.30 then play till 3.30.
    https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=RaXTtvV-mek


    The software you have to install on a computer and its more or less follow your nose / instructions.
    Last edited by wainuitech; 23-05-2018 at 03:31 PM.

  9. #9
    Wanderer
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Posts
    7,452

    Default Re: Wireless Access Point

    I set up powerline (TP LINK) for a friend. With their 100Mbps fiber plan they got 50. Plug one in and attach network cable to the router. Plug in the other other unit in the bedrooms for example. Press the button with the one at the router and run to the bedroom and press the button. It's auto.

    These stuff, you just have to try it out. We installed network cable to the bedrooms behind wardrobes and thru the wall. Then again people still use phones right ... that's just wireless fortunately for us we can get 95% in all places. Yeah .. additional access points or powerline.

    We also used a PoE Ubiquiti with someone else. Yes, you need (1) network cable it carries the data and the power. So you don't need a separate power cord. But yeah ... you said initially wiring network cable wasn't suitable. But you need this (1) network cable from your main router to this Ubi device. If not that at least something that routes back to the router, maybe you have network switch something in between for eg.
    Last edited by Nomad; 23-05-2018 at 03:56 PM.

  10. #10
    Member bk T's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Auckland
    Posts
    6,125

    Default Re: Wireless Access Point

    Quote Originally Posted by wainuitech View Post
    Piece of cake. Been trying to find a simple video showing how its connected-- Bloody hell talk about woffle on them

    BUT - have a look at this one, scroll to about 1.30 then play till 3.30.
    https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=RaXTtvV-mek


    The software you have to install on a computer and its more or less follow your nose / instructions.
    Thanks. Looks simple enough for me to follow.

Similar Threads

  1. Cant see wireless access point
    By NZHawk in forum PressF1
    Replies: 12
    Last Post: 18-01-2011, 08:59 AM
  2. Wireless Access Point
    By CaptainVincent in forum PressF1
    Replies: 16
    Last Post: 29-04-2008, 10:56 AM
  3. Create a Wireless Access Point on XP?
    By Vicx in forum PressF1
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 18-12-2007, 09:00 PM
  4. Replies: 2
    Last Post: 21-03-2005, 08:01 AM
  5. Best Wireless Access Point
    By noone in forum PressF1
    Replies: 12
    Last Post: 16-01-2005, 08:40 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •