Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
Results 11 to 17 of 17
  1. #11
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Plimmerton
    Posts
    3,382

    Default Re: Suitable Router for Fibre.

    I also saw tagging wasn't available on the 1043ND V4. Happy to stand corrected, as well.

  2. #12
    Apple free in Appleby KarameaDave's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    Near Drummond, Southland
    Posts
    4,969

    Default Re: Suitable Router for Fibre.

    http://www.tp-link.com/us/faq-1584.html

    Shows how to configure VLAN tagging for
    Archer C3150( V1 ) , Archer C60( V1 ) , Archer C20( V2 ) , Archer C8( V1 V2 ) , Archer C9( V1 V2 ) , Archer C50( V2 ) , Touch P5( V1 ) , Archer C5400( V1 ) , Archer C1900( V1 ) , Archer C59( V1 ) , Archer C25( V1 ) , Archer C58( V1 ) , Archer C1200( V1 ) , Archer C2600( V1 ) , Archer C2( V3 ) , Archer C3200( V1 ) , TL-WR1043ND( V4 )

    Doesn't it?
    FTW

  3. #13
    Member mzee's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Posts
    2,428

    Default Re: Suitable Router for Fibre.

    My TL-WR1043ND V4 router does support VLAN tagging, but needs updated firmware which I have not found. I will get them to supply a new router and save the hassle.
    I had a flurry of emails at first, then the last one from Chorus stating that they had to get permission because we have a shared driveway. This is nonsense, we have a private driveway, as can clearly be seen on Google street maps. They have now remained silent for a couple of weeks. No hurry, the VDSL has improved as others have gone off it.

  4. #14
    Apple free in Appleby KarameaDave's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    Near Drummond, Southland
    Posts
    4,969

    Default Re: Suitable Router for Fibre.

    This should be the latest version 160607

    http://www.tp-link.com.au/download/T....html#Firmware
    FTW

  5. #15
    Where is Metla these days Chilling_Silence's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Auckland
    Posts
    17,146

    Default Re: Suitable Router for Fibre.

    Quote Originally Posted by mzee View Post
    My TL-WR1043ND V4 router does support VLAN tagging, but needs updated firmware which I have not found. I will get them to supply a new router and save the hassle.
    I had a flurry of emails at first, then the last one from Chorus stating that they had to get permission because we have a shared driveway. This is nonsense, we have a private driveway, as can clearly be seen on Google street maps. They have now remained silent for a couple of weeks. No hurry, the VDSL has improved as others have gone off it.
    Ring your ISP, ask them to make your circuit "Untagged" and "take you off VLAN 10".
    You can then use the TL-WR1043NDv4 without issue, no firmware upgrades, no messing around, just set the WAN port to "PPPoE" and that's all, you're good to go!
    I mostly do Bitcoin & DigiByte things these days, feel free to say hi on Twitter: https://twitter.com/dgb_chilling

    Before you ask a question here, or before you get upset by a response, see here:
    http://www.catb.org/~esr/faqs/smart-...ons.html#intro

  6. #16
    Where is Metla these days Chilling_Silence's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Auckland
    Posts
    17,146

    Default Re: Suitable Router for Fibre.

    Also, just for the record, those TL-WR1043 devices max out around 140mbps traffic (half-duplex), so they're only suitable for 100/20 plans.
    If you want 100/100 then you'll want something faster.
    The best device you can get is the Ubiquiti ER-X (EdgeRouter-X) for around $99. It'll do 940 / 800 concurrently, happily, and won't miss a beat... You can then run your TL-WR1043ND or any other device (Such as the UAP-AC-LR) as a Wireless Access Point.

    Most solid setup you can get there, HIGHLY recommend the investment.
    I mostly do Bitcoin & DigiByte things these days, feel free to say hi on Twitter: https://twitter.com/dgb_chilling

    Before you ask a question here, or before you get upset by a response, see here:
    http://www.catb.org/~esr/faqs/smart-...ons.html#intro

  7. #17
    Member mzee's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Posts
    2,428

    Default Re: Suitable Router for Fibre.

    Quote Originally Posted by Chilling_Silence View Post
    Also, just for the record, those TL-WR1043 devices max out around 140mbps traffic (half-duplex), so they're only suitable for 100/20 plans.
    If you want 100/100 then you'll want something faster.
    The best device you can get is the Ubiquiti ER-X (EdgeRouter-X) for around $99. It'll do 940 / 800 concurrently, happily, and won't miss a beat... You can then run your TL-WR1043ND or any other device (Such as the UAP-AC-LR) as a Wireless Access Point.

    Most solid setup you can get there, HIGHLY recommend the investment.
    I think I will keep the TL-WR1043 as a standby and get them to supply a suitable router.

Similar Threads

  1. FIbre router - question for Chil
    By R.M. in forum PressF1
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 25-08-2016, 05:25 PM
  2. Fibre with NOW and router question
    By swazi in forum PressF1
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 12-01-2016, 11:51 AM
  3. Replies: 48
    Last Post: 09-02-2015, 09:45 PM
  4. Fibre capable wifi router
    By bk T in forum PressF1
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 27-07-2014, 10:11 PM
  5. Fibre Router
    By stainton in forum PressF1
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 12-12-2009, 07:36 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •