Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 17
  1. #1
    Member mzee's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Posts
    2,428

    Question Suitable Router for Fibre.

    I will shortly be connected to Fibre 100 Broadband.
    I have a TP-Link TL-WR1043ND V4 WiFi Router working with VDSL.
    Will this Router be suitable on Fibre, plugged in to the ONT?

    I understand that the ONT takes the place of a Modem as in ADSL. and VDSL setups.

  2. #2
    Senior Member pctek's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    In the Wild West
    Posts
    24,212

    Default Re: Suitable Router for Fibre.

    https://www.geekzone.co.nz/forums.as...topicid=215397

    See here, discussion on your router.

    Why not just use the one your ISP will send you?
    wipe your paws.

  3. #3
    Remember Richard's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Whangarei
    Posts
    2,333

    Default Re: Suitable Router for Fibre.

    Quote Originally Posted by mzee View Post

    I understand that the ONT takes the place of a Modem as in ADSL. and VDSL setups.
    What? Does it? I have a modem plugged in to the ONT and then a Nighthawk router. Have I done it correctly?

  4. #4
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Plimmerton
    Posts
    3,375

    Default Re: Suitable Router for Fibre.

    Depending on your ISP choice, the biggie could be no VLAN tagging.

  5. #5
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Plimmerton
    Posts
    3,375

    Default Re: Suitable Router for Fibre.

    My post above is for the OP.

  6. #6
    amateur expert dugimodo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Posts
    7,889

    Default Re: Suitable Router for Fibre.

    No your existing Router will not likely work on fibre unless your ISP doesn't use Vlan tagging or is willing to turn it off for you. You can use it as a switch/ access point if you reconfigure it but you'll still need another router connected to the ONT.

    ONT = Optical Network Termination, really it's just a specialised router which does the equivalent job to a modem on an ADSL/VDSL connection and in some cases also offers a phone connection.
    You need a router connected to the ONT, no need for a modem. However it's possible you could use a combination modem/router for it's routing/wi-fi abilities and ignore the modem part of it, in fact most ISPs supply one configured that way rather than a simple router.

    Stand alone Modems aren't actually very common, they were in the early days of broadband but what most people call modems these days are combination units that contain a modem and a router and a switch and wi-fi all in one unit.
    A modem would only have a single port in from the copper line and a single ethernet port out to the network, but even then it could still be a router and DHCP server. Point is a "modem" is probably more than that and can be used for it's other functions.
    Ryzen 2700X, 16Gb DDR4RAM, 512GB M.2 NVME SSD, MSI GTX1070

  7. #7
    Senior Member 1101's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    6,490

    Default Re: Suitable Router for Fibre.

    Quote Originally Posted by mzee View Post
    I have a TP-Link TL-WR1043ND V4 WiFi Router working with VDSL.
    Will this Router be suitable on Fibre, plugged in to the ONT?
    That supports VLAN tagging , so should work (?)
    See if the ISP will supply a freebee, just in case.

    Different ISPs seem to have different router config requirements (Setup in the router) . Good luck finding info on setting up router for some ISPs, they seem to make it hard to find that info

  8. #8
    Member mzee's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Posts
    2,428

    Default Re: Suitable Router for Fibre.

    Quote Originally Posted by pctek View Post
    https://www.geekzone.co.nz/forums.as...topicid=215397

    See here, discussion on your router.

    Why not just use the one your ISP will send you?
    Because its not free, and I already have the TP WiFi router (used with a Vigor modem), and an Innbox 50u modem/router which claims to support ADSL, VDSL, and Fibre, works well on VDSL.

  9. #9
    Member mzee's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Posts
    2,428

    Default Re: Suitable Router for Fibre.

    Quote Originally Posted by 1101 View Post
    That supports VLAN tagging , so should work (?)
    See if the ISP will supply a freebee, just in case.

    Different ISPs seem to have different router config requirements (Setup in the router) . Good luck finding info on setting up router for some ISPs, they seem to make it hard to find that info
    My ISP is Actrix, so shouldn't be a problem

  10. #10
    amateur expert dugimodo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Posts
    7,889

    Default Re: Suitable Router for Fibre.

    Seems like 1101 had it and I got it wrong, I just believed the geekzone post that said it wasn't supported.

    Found this, I think it's what you need http://www.tp-link.com/us/faq-1584.html and it does list your router in the applies to list.

    try it and see, or just use the freebie. I have a W9980 and it definitely doesn't work on Spark fibre I know that much, but the freebie has been stable for a year now.
    Ryzen 2700X, 16Gb DDR4RAM, 512GB M.2 NVME SSD, MSI GTX1070

Similar Threads

  1. FIbre router - question for Chil
    By R.M. in forum PressF1
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 25-08-2016, 06:25 PM
  2. Fibre with NOW and router question
    By swazi in forum PressF1
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 12-01-2016, 12:51 PM
  3. Replies: 48
    Last Post: 09-02-2015, 10:45 PM
  4. Fibre capable wifi router
    By bk T in forum PressF1
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 27-07-2014, 11:11 PM
  5. Fibre Router
    By stainton in forum PressF1
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 12-12-2009, 08:36 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •