I installed a shareware program after downloading it from the Internet, but didn't use it much (Paintshop pro). It only gives a limited time for use, and by the time I wanted to try it, the time period had run out and it wouldn't run. I uninstalled it, deleted files in the relevent folder and deleted part of the Win.ini file relating to the program then reinstalled the shareware. It still said that the time period had run out. How did it know it had been installed before?