Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
Results 11 to 17 of 17
  1. #11

    Default Re: Setting up a home media centre

    Forget WDlive, old tech now and won't play H265 codec.

  2. #12
    Short Member pcuser42's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Pukekohe Shuttle
    Posts
    10,108

    Default Re: Setting up a home media centre

    Quote Originally Posted by dugimodo View Post
    Chromecast is cool, I got one recently. However I don't think it's particularly convenient if the device is in a different room, makes controlling playback a bit of a nuisance.
    It's really best for use with a portable Device in my opinion. Works brilliantly from my phone and tablet.
    I have a Chromecast in the lounge and use Plex on my phone to cast to it. All my media is sitting on a computer tucked away in the office - works well for me.
    "He who resorts to personal insults hath lost the argument."

    Twitter

  3. #13
    ...
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    The 'naki
    Posts
    197

    Default Re: Setting up a home media centre

    Quote Originally Posted by wainuitech View Post
    Theres quite a few options. Depends on how much you want to spend.

    What is a rough budget ?

    Is the Computer a Laptop or Desktop ?
    Hi.
    Thanks
    Budget - $100-300?
    My computer is a iMac
    There are 10 people in life, those that know Binary, and those that don't.

  4. #14
    ...
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    The 'naki
    Posts
    197

    Default Re: Setting up a home media centre

    Hi everything .thanks for all your thoughts.
    My computer is an Apple Imac
    I don't want anything that uses wifi - I want fixed ethernet cable only.

    I aim considering building a dedicated server computer.

    WDlive - Agreed I think it may have codec issues.
    Chromecast - wifi only I believe?
    Small computer server with windows - looks like a good option. Any issues given my main computer is apple?

    Alternatively, I just stumbled upon this -

    www.himediatech.com/q10iv.html

    It has a build in HDD, ethernet plug, usb port and HDMI out along with 7.1 audio. This looks like the perfect solution - does anyone see any issues with it?
    There are 10 people in life, those that know Binary, and those that don't.

  5. #15
    Senior Member Driftwood's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    Central Otago
    Posts
    3,053

    Default Re: Setting up a home media centre

    There are a few reviews on the net, one link below.

    http://www.techadvisor.co.uk/review/...eview-3650976/

  6. #16
    Computer Technician wainuitech's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Wellington
    Posts
    28,506

    Default Re: Setting up a home media centre

    The reason I asked if it were a laptop or desktop is simply because if it were close enough or portable you can simply plug the computer into the TV Via a HDMI Cable.

    But that Unit should work fine. You may not get it in NZ so it may need to be imported from overseas. There are plentry about, ranging in prices. Only thing you need to keep in mind if getting from overseas is what the power adapter/plug is. It has to be either Aussie or NZ.

    Example:http://www.ebay.com.au/itm/HiMedia-Q10-Pro-Internet-TV-Box-BD-3D-4K-UHD-HDR-Bluetooth-Android-5-1

    Running kodi means it will play just about anything.

  7. #17
    ...
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    The 'naki
    Posts
    197

    Default Re: Setting up a home media centre

    Quote Originally Posted by wainuitech View Post
    The reason I asked if it were a laptop or desktop is simply because if it were close enough or portable you can simply plug the computer into the TV Via a HDMI Cable.

    But that Unit should work fine. You may not get it in NZ so it may need to be imported from overseas. There are plentry about, ranging in prices. Only thing you need to keep in mind if getting from overseas is what the power adapter/plug is. It has to be either Aussie or NZ.

    Example:http://www.ebay.com.au/itm/HiMedia-Q10-Pro-Internet-TV-Box-BD-3D-4K-UHD-HDR-Bluetooth-Android-5-1

    Running kodi means it will play just about anything.
    Great thanks.
    Yeah I think I will just go with this. it will serve me well for a long time I think.

    My imac isn't in my TV room, and I hate carrying laptops around. I just wanted a simple solution and I think this device provides it.
    Now to ensure I can disable wifi and bluetooth - if so I'll be locking it in : )
    Thanks
    There are 10 people in life, those that know Binary, and those that don't.

Similar Threads

  1. Home Theatre Media Centre PC
    By Driftwood in forum PressF1
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 30-09-2011, 01:12 PM
  2. XP Media-Centre Sens Vs XP Home
    By Dist in forum PressF1
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 30-07-2009, 10:32 PM
  3. Home Media Centre Setup
    By stardotstar in forum PressF1
    Replies: 27
    Last Post: 16-04-2009, 08:14 AM
  4. Setting up a media centre with Media Portal
    By KiwiLinc in forum PressF1
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 23-05-2006, 12:55 PM
  5. Media Centre edition versus xp home..
    By Mcpisik in forum PressF1
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 01-11-2005, 08:12 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •