Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    May 2017
    Posts
    2

    Default Gargoyle - Static IP's aren't being static

    Similar issue to same thread posted back in 2013

    I have Gargoyle installed on my TP Link Archer C7. 1.9.1 I have the LAN DHCP enabled and have DHCP reservations setup

    default gateway was 192.168.1.1 with DHCP range of 192.168.1.100-192.168.1.250 and reservations within this range.

    All of a sudden after everything working devices started to get assigned 192.168.0.x and could not connect to internet.

    I had to change default gateway to 192.168.0.1 and then everything worked again for about 24 hours

    now devices are getting IP addresses that are not in the reservation? Again cannot connect to internet
    Last edited by outdoor; 17-05-2017 at 05:37 AM. Reason: update notify

  2. #2
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Posts
    838

    Default Re: Gargoyle - Static IP's aren't being static

    That is Windows performing it's own IP addresses when it can't find your DHCP server.

    There must be issues reaching the router at that time.

    You really need to start where the problem is, the device with the wrong IP. You should renew the IP and see if it correctly finds the router. Check its network card, the settings, ensuring gateway points to the router.

  3. #3
    Computer Technician wainuitech's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Wellington
    Posts
    25,039

    Default Re: Gargoyle - Static IP's aren't being static

    This is one reason why I personally don't use the router to give a device a static IP. I use the computer, Server, NAS, Network Printers what ever it is, enter the static IP into the device, then it tells the router It's taking that IP whether it likes it or not
    One thing positive about Windows 10 is that there is never a dull moment anymore on ye olde computer

  4. #4
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    May 2017
    Posts
    2

    Default Re: Gargoyle - Static IP's aren't being static

    It is every device though. Every device was being given an iPhone with a different subnet

    And in order to apply restrictions and quotas you have to have router reserve an ip

  5. #5
    Computer Technician wainuitech's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Wellington
    Posts
    25,039

    Default Re: Gargoyle - Static IP's aren't being static

    Quote Originally Posted by outdoor View Post
    It is every device though. Every device was being given an iPhone with a different subnet

    And in order to apply restrictions and quotas you have to have router reserve an ip
    Know how its meant to work.

    BUT now a little bit suspect --- Just located another thread in PF1 going back to 2003, EXACT same title, same grammar and same problem. Hmmmmmm That usually throws up red flags. But in case its actually real read the other post.

    http://pressf1.pcworld.co.nz/showthr...t-being-static
    Last edited by wainuitech; 20-05-2017 at 10:24 AM.
    One thing positive about Windows 10 is that there is never a dull moment anymore on ye olde computer

  6. #6
    Where is Metla these days Chilling_Silence's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Auckland
    Posts
    17,134

    Default Re: Gargoyle - Static IP's aren't being static

    What's in front of your C7 on the WAN side? There's another DHCP server on your LAN, basically.
    192.168.0.0/24 is *NOT* what Windows gives itself when it can't find an IP, that's 169.254.0.0/16

Similar Threads

  1. Gargoyle - Static IP's aren't being static
    By The Error Guy in forum PressF1
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 11-03-2013, 06:03 PM
  2. Static IP?
    By Cato in forum PressF1
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 30-06-2011, 05:23 PM
  3. Static ISP
    By JJJJJ in forum PressF1
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 04-04-2006, 08:38 AM
  4. Getting a static ip
    By ilikelinux in forum PressF1
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 22-04-2004, 01:11 PM
  5. JPG's look like TV static
    By in forum PressF1
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 20-06-2002, 05:07 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •