Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 11
  1. #1
    Zippity Fan Club Member prefect's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    Ghlen Ehden 36.918767 S 174.624701 E
    Posts
    8,480

    Smile ASDL TO VDSL SPARK ACHTUNG THERE ARE ISSUES.

    Rung them on Monday to change to VDSL as the computer tech who was fixing my computer said I would be mad not to.
    Spoke to someone there who didn't really know the details of the deal kept talking about a contract. Any way something happened got a text on Tuesday saying I will be connected Friday 7.30 PM. Got another text yesterday saying now connecting 7.00pm Thursday which is today as I am typing this sad story.
    I saw the Chorus man at the cabinet on the street as I came home and I thought I bet he is setting me up for VDSL. However there was no VDSL router in the letter box(My TP one is ASDL2 only) or on my doorstep and I had a vision of doom. Sure enough turned the computer on and no internet. Rung the clowns at Spark and they said after being on hold for a long time several times no router was lined up to be sent.
    They would now be sending a router in 3-5 business days. So no internet but they gave me 20gig on my cellie and I tethered it to my sons laptop its surprisingly fast for mobile data, I can wait. You would have thought they would co ordinate the package ie connect VDSL and receive the router at the same time. Been a loyal NZPO through to Spark customer since the late 70s but alas it does not count any more.
    The service tech who got me onto this said that it was in the package for a chorus man to come and fit a splitter if necessary and hook everything up for free. Like f**** according to the call centre its a posted out router and you have to hook it up yourself no splitter.
    Can anyone shed any light on what the upgrade package really is please? I am on Spark unlimited BB and home phone with a mobile add ons.
    Any tips for the set up can I do the splitting myself, my wiring skills are such that I have had some spectacular burnouts of vehicle wiring by messing it up if that is any help.
    Its amazing how Potatoes give us chips,fries and Vodka.

    Get your s*** together every other vegetable.

  2. #2
    Computer Technician wainuitech's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Wellington
    Posts
    25,027

    Default Re: ASDL TO VDSL SPARK ACHTUNG THERE ARE ISSUES.

    The modem /Router should already be pre configured, so it "should" be simply plug in and away you go.

    The Splitter is usually just for if you have a phone connected to the same outlet.

    "IF" the modem doesn't auto Sync with spark, HERES the settings. But normally only required for non Spark Modem/Routers.

    The last TP-Link Modem I put in on spark VDSL, more or less sorted its self, just worked through the setup Wizard, hardest part was selecting the correct Provider and telling it to use VDSL not ADSL.
    Last edited by wainuitech; 16-02-2017 at 07:21 PM.
    One thing positive about Windows 10 is that there is never a dull moment anymore on ye olde computer

  3. #3
    amateur expert dugimodo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Posts
    6,847

    Default Re: ASDL TO VDSL SPARK ACHTUNG THERE ARE ISSUES.

    Well I'm not sure if it still is but installing a master splitter used to be a mandatory part of the VDSL package with spark, mainly because the cheap plug in ones just aren't good enough for reliable VDSL operation and cause a lot of faults.
    When I signed up via the web page (which I find easier and more reliable than ringing them) I got a modem by mail first and then a visit from a tech to set it all up including rewiring my jackpoint and ETP for VDSL.

    The standard for VDSL is to have a master splitter and a dedicated VDSL jackpoint. Of course that's actually a chorus policy not a spark one, the line and cabinet/exchange equipment is theirs. Technically there's nothing stopping them from setting the exchange end back to ADSL2+ until your modem arrives, but it might be risky if they forgot to change it back The VDSL cards are backwards compatible in theory.
    i7 6700K, 16Gb DDR4RAM, 512GB M.2 SSD, Gigabyte GTX980

  4. #4
    Zippity Fan Club Member prefect's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    Ghlen Ehden 36.918767 S 174.624701 E
    Posts
    8,480

    Default Re: ASDL TO VDSL SPARK ACHTUNG THERE ARE ISSUES.

    Thanks Guys for the replies, I will investigate further about the splitter.
    Its amazing how Potatoes give us chips,fries and Vodka.

    Get your s*** together every other vegetable.

  5. #5
    amateur expert dugimodo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Posts
    6,847

    Default Re: ASDL TO VDSL SPARK ACHTUNG THERE ARE ISSUES.

    Oh and they are supposed to use cat 5 cable to the jackpoint as well, something a lot of installers conveniently forget (although honestly the 2 pair homelan cable previously used is built to the same standard as cat 5, just has 2 fewer pairs).
    If I remember I could ask someone at work what the current rules are, I work for one of Choruses service companies and I know who to ask. Not my personal area though.
    i7 6700K, 16Gb DDR4RAM, 512GB M.2 SSD, Gigabyte GTX980

  6. #6
    Senior Member pctek's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    In the Wild West
    Posts
    24,120

    Default Re: ASDL TO VDSL SPARK ACHTUNG THERE ARE ISSUES.

    Quote Originally Posted by prefect View Post
    Rung them on Monday to change to VDSL as the computer tech who was fixing my computer said I would be mad not to..
    Guess I'm mad then.

    have they not done fibre at your place yet?
    I'd wait and do that, VDSL is a in between thing.

    I haven't done fibre either, but I'll wait.....it's more expensive as yet, the installs are still problematic and I don't really care yet.
    But eventually we'll all have to.
    wipe your paws.

  7. #7
    Senior Member paulw's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Auckland / Tauranga
    Posts
    3,831

    Default Re: ASDL TO VDSL SPARK ACHTUNG THERE ARE ISSUES.

    Quote Originally Posted by dugimodo View Post
    Well I'm not sure if it still is but installing a master splitter used to be a mandatory part of the VDSL package with spark, mainly because the cheap plug in ones just aren't good enough for reliable VDSL operation and cause a lot of faults.
    When I signed up via the web page (which I find easier and more reliable than ringing them) I got a modem by mail first and then a visit from a tech to set it all up including rewiring my jackpoint and ETP for VDSL.

    The standard for VDSL is to have a master splitter and a dedicated VDSL jackpoint. Of course that's actually a chorus policy not a spark one, the line and cabinet/exchange equipment is theirs. Technically there's nothing stopping them from setting the exchange end back to ADSL2+ until your modem arrives, but it might be risky if they forgot to change it back The VDSL cards are backwards compatible in theory.
    No master filter installed these days as Chorus charge too much for it. I believe it can still be done for about $199
    Regards,

    Paul W
    Taco Bell is not a Mexican telephone company

  8. #8
    amateur expert dugimodo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Posts
    6,847

    Default Re: ASDL TO VDSL SPARK ACHTUNG THERE ARE ISSUES.

    Quote Originally Posted by pctek View Post
    Guess I'm mad then.

    have they not done fibre at your place yet?
    I'd wait and do that, VDSL is a in between thing.

    I haven't done fibre either, but I'll wait.....it's more expensive as yet, the installs are still problematic and I don't really care yet.
    But eventually we'll all have to.
    Maybe it's only when compared to VDSL but when I switched to fibre my plan got $10 cheaper as well as faster and a free install - no brainer for me. You sure it's more expensive?
    i7 6700K, 16Gb DDR4RAM, 512GB M.2 SSD, Gigabyte GTX980

  9. #9
    Zippity Fan Club Member prefect's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    Ghlen Ehden 36.918767 S 174.624701 E
    Posts
    8,480

    Default Re: ASDL TO VDSL SPARK ACHTUNG THERE ARE ISSUES.

    Quote Originally Posted by dugimodo View Post
    Maybe it's only when compared to VDSL but when I switched to fibre my plan got $10 cheaper as well as faster and a free install - no brainer for me. You sure it's more expensive?
    Hey stop rubbing the fiber hook up in lol. Mt brother in Richmond has fibre, my mate in Karamea (Its not Dave) has fibre. But I only live in Auckland so not entitled yet.
    Its amazing how Potatoes give us chips,fries and Vodka.

    Get your s*** together every other vegetable.

  10. #10
    Zippity Fan Club Member prefect's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    Ghlen Ehden 36.918767 S 174.624701 E
    Posts
    8,480

    Default Re: ASDL TO VDSL SPARK ACHTUNG THERE ARE ISSUES.

    I just cant believe these clowns have configured the cabinet 5 days before I get the router effectively cutting off my internet.
    How do you surf porn and far right white power sites with no internet?
    Its amazing how Potatoes give us chips,fries and Vodka.

    Get your s*** together every other vegetable.

Similar Threads

  1. Weird DNS issues - 2Degrees VDSL
    By wratterus in forum PressF1
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 01-02-2017, 08:56 AM
  2. Achtung Baby: Jerries build a $36,000 PC
    By Chris Keall in forum PressF1
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 16-03-2007, 10:55 PM
  3. Smoothwall - ASDL USB Modem
    By Jester in forum PressF1
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 03-11-2003, 12:24 PM
  4. ASDL Hardware
    By Warren in forum PressF1
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 07-07-2002, 11:58 PM
  5. ASDL for Linux
    By amalmac in forum PressF1
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 23-06-2002, 01:04 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •