Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 30
  1. #1
    i know nuffink tingle's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Wellington, ya just can't beat it on a good day!
    Posts
    259

    Default VDSL or ADSL on unlimited plan

    Hi all,
    I am currently on a Vodafone 80 GB ADSL plan ($78/mth) which most months is OK but there are months that I run out.
    Looking at my options I can go to an unlimited plan for $95/mth and choose either ADSL or VDSL. If I choose VDSL they need to send a new modem/router thing and on either option it is a 12 or 24 month plan.
    I've had a look around google but just getting more confused.
    So I guess I'm looking for some advice.
    Any help much appreciated in advance.
    T
    "Happiness is not having what you want, it's wanting what you have..."

  2. #2
    Where is Metla these days Chilling_Silence's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Auckland
    Posts
    17,146

    Default Re: VDSL or ADSL on unlimited plan

    Always VDSL2, but choose a different ISP if you can, not a fan of Vodafone, or their terrible routers they bundle, or their international oversubscription....
    The difference between VDSL2 vs ADSL2+ is night and day and it's *so* worth it if you do anything more than just the occasional email online, I can't recommend VDSL2 enough!
    I mostly do Bitcoin & DigiByte things these days, feel free to say hi on Twitter: https://twitter.com/dgb_chilling

    Before you ask a question here, or before you get upset by a response, see here:
    http://www.catb.org/~esr/faqs/smart-...ons.html#intro

  3. #3
    Old guy
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Posts
    3,013

    Default Re: VDSL or ADSL on unlimited plan

    VDSL unlimited is the way to go with the two options you have. If you have to buy extra data very often it will be about as cheap as your current costs and VDSL is far better than ADSL.

  4. #4
    i know nuffink tingle's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Wellington, ya just can't beat it on a good day!
    Posts
    259

    Default Re: VDSL or ADSL on unlimited plan

    Thanks for that.
    I've not heard of VDSL2, do all suppliers offer this?
    Any recommendations?
    "Happiness is not having what you want, it's wanting what you have..."

  5. #5
    Member Zippity's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Capital City
    Posts
    4,493

    Default Re: VDSL or ADSL on unlimited plan

    I am with Vodafone and have VDSL and use one of their routers.

    No issues in 2 years
    A married man should forget his mistakes. There's no use in two people remembering the same thing!

  6. #6
    Senior Member paulw's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Morrinsville
    Posts
    4,241

    Default Re: VDSL or ADSL on unlimited plan

    Hi Chill,

    What are the current Spark supplied VDSL routers like?? Moving house and going to VDSL so wondering. I have a TPLink currently on my ADSL2 and it's been real stable
    Regards,

    Paul W
    Taco Bell is not a Mexican telephone company

  7. #7
    Unknown Device wratterus's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Top of the South
    Posts
    12,338

    Default Re: VDSL or ADSL on unlimited plan

    Pretty sure Vodafone and Spark are supplying a similar Huawei modem at the moment, it's pretty junky.

    If you just want naked broadband I'd look at bigpipe. Otherwise anyone but Vodafone or MyRepublic.
    Microsoft: "You've got questions. We've got dancing paperclips."

  8. #8
    Member Zippity's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Capital City
    Posts
    4,493

    Default Re: VDSL or ADSL on unlimited plan

    Quote Originally Posted by wratterus View Post
    Pretty sure Vodafone and Spark are supplying a similar Huawei modem at the moment, it's pretty junky.
    Only in some people's eyes
    A married man should forget his mistakes. There's no use in two people remembering the same thing!

  9. #9
    Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    NZ
    Posts
    44,855

    Default Re: VDSL or ADSL on unlimited plan

    Vodafone's fibre modems / the HG659 is total crap lol. Well it is when I play on the Xbox. No matter what I try I cant get it off moderate, when I go online.

    It was fine when I changed to fibre, but over time, it got stuck on moderate.

    Tried to use the TPlink modem (as a wireless router). According to the TPlink site, you should be able to use its WAN port. Well not with this crappy modem

  10. #10
    Where is Metla these days Chilling_Silence's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Auckland
    Posts
    17,146

    Default Re: VDSL or ADSL on unlimited plan

    Quote Originally Posted by Zippity View Post
    Only in some people's eyes
    No they're junk regardless. If you're a single user with just a laptop and a cellphone, you might not push it terribly hard, but they fall over so often... It's really not even funny.
    I mostly do Bitcoin & DigiByte things these days, feel free to say hi on Twitter: https://twitter.com/dgb_chilling

    Before you ask a question here, or before you get upset by a response, see here:
    http://www.catb.org/~esr/faqs/smart-...ons.html#intro

Similar Threads

  1. Telecom's 'Unlimited' Data Plan
    By bk T in forum PressF1
    Replies: 16
    Last Post: 06-05-2014, 06:35 AM
  2. Please suggest me an unlimited broadband plan
    By reg.newlife in forum PC World Chat
    Replies: 14
    Last Post: 31-07-2010, 11:25 AM
  3. New Telecom unlimited traffic plan
    By wratterus in forum PressF1
    Replies: 29
    Last Post: 03-07-2009, 03:46 PM
  4. Telecome offers unlimited download plan
    By utopian201 in forum PC World Chat
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 03-07-2009, 10:02 AM
  5. Best ISP/plan for 256K unlimited ADSL
    By wsun013 in forum PressF1
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 11-10-2005, 09:32 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •