Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 13
  1. #1
    Senior Member pctek's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    In the Wild West
    Posts
    24,212

    Default Bonkers Windows Issue

    I think I posted this before. But theres further weirdness.

    Son has Win7, had an issue with a game and ended up installing SP1 as part of the fix.

    Since then it comes up not genuine.

    Randomly, takes ages sometimes, last was 2 weeks before it did it.
    Going to activate settles it, and then randomly a few days to a few weeks later it comes back.

    Done all the fixes suggested online, slmgr, registry etc etc.

    Rang MS.
    They wanted me to do all of the above again, explained that, he checked the reg etc...said when it does it again I'll have to ring back on ph activation and get them to do their thing from their end.

    OK so it did it last night. I pulled the network cable, got the phone this morning and went to ring, bought up the activation screen and voila, the PC says it's activated.

    No he does not have wifi in it.
    The cable was out.

    No it really didn't activate, at least in that it went online and did anything. It just decided it was all good by just bringing the screen up...


    Bizarre....so wtf is causing it? Son said maybe there's something weird installed. (Haha, yeah windows).
    He hasn't got any malware, no dodgy MS products, no hack tools or anything.

    Obviously I can't get MS to help if the damn thing is doing that......
    wipe your paws.

  2. #2
    Awaiting Enlightenment R2x1's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    North Shore.
    Posts
    13,946

    Default Re: Bonkers Windows Issue

    Sounds like you have the full Murphy version there
    Entropy is not what
    it used to be.



  3. #3
    Computer Technician wainuitech's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Wellington
    Posts
    27,477

    Default Re: Bonkers Windows Issue

    Come on, you should know this, any tech would, been mentioned before -- Simple way to test if there's some sort of program installed. Unplug the original HDD, put In a empty drive, install, activate if it holds then there is something in the original System causing it.

    You could spend weeks looking and not find anything, simple test will determine.

    Also straight to the point question:

    The product key, is it one on the COA or one obtained from somewhere else.

    What many don't know is on the COA stickers theres other codes that MS can check to make sure its legit.
    Last edited by wainuitech; 17-10-2016 at 07:44 PM.
    Update / Upgrades = Replace old bugs with new ones.

  4. #4
    Senior Member pctek's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    In the Wild West
    Posts
    24,212

    Default Re: Bonkers Windows Issue

    Quote Originally Posted by wainuitech View Post
    put In a empty drive, install, activate if it holds then there is something in the original System causing it.

    The product key, is it one on the COA or one obtained from somewhere else.
    I no longer have spare drives!

    Yes it's off the sticker.

    I don't think it's a 3rd party thing, I think it's windows messed up, how else could bringing up the properties screen cure it....
    No, I'm not doing a reinstall, he has so much stuff on it....work programs and things, done by the IT guy at his work, and he has loads of games and music nad stuff, nothing to back it all up to.

    Like I said, no spare drives or anything anymore.

    he says why not just do the activate and forget about it.

    Because it annoys me, it shouldn't. And all since SP1.

    he got his game, game wouldn't start, fix was a newer redistributable, that required SP1.
    Thats what started it, so everything else is the same, the only 2 things added were those, then the problem began.

    Which is the other reason I can't see it being 3rd party stuff installed, it would have been an issue before.
    wipe your paws.

  5. #5
    Member beama's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    where eye patches are worn with pride
    Posts
    1,724

    Default Re: Bonkers Windows Issue

    Have you stopped any " phone home " services
    Trust me. I know what I'm doing.Sledge Hammer

    Linux the only way to get rid of the windows boot sector virus ( Geoff Palmer , Jun 28, 2004 Tips & Help : Tux Love, PCWorld NZ)

    Parkinsons NZ


  6. #6
    Computer Technician wainuitech's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Wellington
    Posts
    27,477

    Default Re: Bonkers Windows Issue

    Something is corrupted somewhere, finding it could be the task.

    Found the following on MS forums relating to the problem , no idea if it will work, make things worse --Dunno.

    Recreate the Licensing Store
    *** 1) Click Start button.
    *** 2) Type: CMD.exe into the 'Search programs and files' field
    *** 3) Right-Click on CMD.exe and select Run as Administrator
    *** 4) Type: net stop sppsvc** (It may ask you if you are sure, select yes)
    *** Note: the Software Protection service may not be running, this is ok.
    *** 5) Type: cd %windir%\ServiceProfiles\NetworkService\AppData\Ro aming\Microsoft\SoftwareProtectionPlatform
    *** 6) Type: rename tokens.dat tokens.bar
    *** 7) Type: cd %windir%\system32
    *** 8) Type: net start sppsvc
    *** 9) Type: slui.exe
    *** 10) After a couple of seconds Windows Activation dialog will appear. You may be asked to re-activate and/or re-enter your product key or Activation may occur automatically.
    Update / Upgrades = Replace old bugs with new ones.

  7. #7
    Computer Tech
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Oamaru
    Posts
    5,798

    Default Re: Bonkers Windows Issue

    I would backup and do a fresh install.
    If Windows 7 was that old that it didn't even have SP1 installed then it's time for a fresh install!

  8. #8
    Senior Member pctek's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    In the Wild West
    Posts
    24,212

    Default Re: Bonkers Windows Issue

    Quote Originally Posted by CYaBro View Post
    I would backup and do a fresh install.
    I can't. I haven't got a big enough backup drive, only mine - he doesn't have one at all.
    I's 1TB.
    And pretty full with games, music etc.
    Told him that....but he doesn't pay attention to things like backups....

    Anyway, I'll give Wainuis idea a go..can't hurt....
    wipe your paws.

  9. #9
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Posts
    954

    Default Re: Bonkers Windows Issue

    Have you tried sfc /scannow

  10. #10
    Senior Member pctek's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    In the Wild West
    Posts
    24,212

    Default Re: Bonkers Windows Issue

    Quote Originally Posted by apsattv View Post
    Have you tried sfc /scannow
    Yes. No errors.

    Tried almost everything.
    wipe your paws.

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 3
    Last Post: 15-08-2014, 10:38 PM
  2. Coldplay + Midnight = Bonkers?
    By WalOne in forum PC World Chat
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 26-02-2014, 08:53 PM
  3. Home Network Setup - How? Its driving me Bonkers...
    By sportsboy83 in forum PressF1
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 05-03-2012, 04:06 PM
  4. windows update issue
    By GameJunkie in forum PressF1
    Replies: 28
    Last Post: 27-01-2011, 11:02 AM
  5. Palm digitiser has gone bonkers
    By in forum PressF1
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 01-03-2002, 11:57 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •