Page 1 of 4 1234 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 31

Thread: All In One

  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2016
    Posts
    4

    Smile All In One

    Hi

    Currently use a Sony Vaio All In One - good quality kit BUT it is now 6 years old!! And Sony have bailed out.

    What would be a good similar replacement for general purpose use (incl basic graphics and basic gaming eg Civ IV

    Not too fussed about cost but want something of good quality that doesn't have Apple in the title.

  2. #2
    Senior Member paulw's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Auckland / Tauranga
    Posts
    4,098

    Default Re: All In One

    Have a look at PB Techs ex lease desktops and all in ones. They're good value for general use.. I've bought a few of them for family and friends..
    Regards,

    Paul W
    Taco Bell is not a Mexican telephone company

  3. #3
    Large Member plod's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Posts
    7,413

    Default Re: All In One

    Consumer has just D one round up of all in ones if you can get access.

  4. #4
    Computer Tech
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Oamaru
    Posts
    5,811

    Default Re: All In One

    What are the specs of the current Sony?

    Maybe look at putting an ssd into it as that might be all it needs to give it a new lease on life.

  5. #5
    Senior Member Lawrence's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    Tauranga
    Posts
    2,036

    Default Re: All In One

    Most of those are i5/i7's,if it has not got a SSD it should

    Have been a new convert too SSD's,even on a LGA775 Board it's been a real eyeopener

  6. #6
    Computer Tech
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Oamaru
    Posts
    5,811

    Default Re: All In One

    Quote Originally Posted by Lawrence View Post
    Most of those are i5/i7's,if it has not got a SSD it should

    Have been a new convert too SSD's,even on a LGA775 Board it's been a real eyeopener
    Yea I agree, unless it happens to be a Celeron or entry level AMD!

  7. #7
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2016
    Posts
    4

    Default Re: All In One

    Quote Originally Posted by CYaBro View Post
    What are the specs of the current Sony?

    Maybe look at putting an ssd into it as that might be all it needs to give it a new lease on life.
    It is a Intel E7400 (twin core) 2.8 MHz with 3Gb RAM - not worth upgrading (where do you stop

    I will look at that Consumer article - thanks.

  8. #8
    Senior Member 1101's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    7,107

    Default Re: All In One

    Just personally, I would avoid an all in one PC
    If you must, try & get one with a 3year MANUFACTURERS warranty (so they are more likely to hold parts for it)

    If it fails, it could be an expensive repair, or replacement . With separate PC & monitor, you can just replace those separately , as needed.
    And especially avoid the cheapy all in ones. Some of those are so slow they are barely usable (just really low spec)

  9. #9
    amateur expert dugimodo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Posts
    8,063

    Default Re: All In One

    I bought a Compaq Elite 8200 AIO from this guy http://hungrypc.co.nz/
    He lists on trademe and was quite a bit cheaper than PBtech who were selling the same thing ex-lease, he doesn't have any decent ones listed at the moment but I got good service from Him.

    The elite AIO is a great little machine too and I Duct taped an SSD into it to make it even better (needs an offset bracket I couldn't find locally and I had some tape handy....) Still it's a 2011 vintage i5 so maybe not what you're after. I use it mainly for streaming shows in the bedroom.
    Ryzen 2700X, 16Gb DDR4RAM, 512GB M.2 NVME SSD, MSI GTX1070

  10. #10
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2016
    Posts
    4

    Default Re: All In One

    1101 - Agree in principle but an All in One takes up less space and no cables to get in the way The things that usually fail are the HD or the DVD Drive and they are usually replaceable with a bit of hassle.
    Last edited by Kiwibarge; 20-10-2016 at 10:17 AM. Reason: typo

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •