Results 1 to 9 of 9
  1. #1
    Boulful Sallad goodiesguy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    Dunedin
    Posts
    2,856

    Unhappy BSOD with new RAM

    Bought some new RAM (same voltage, same timing etc....)

    Bios detects it fine and shows no issues, but It hangs my Windows startup and puts it in a loop. It won't let me boot off a USB either.

    The two errors I get are:
    IRQL_NOT_LESS_OR_EQUAL

    or:
    KERNAL SECURITY CHECK FAILURE.

    New RAM is the following x2:
    https://www.mightyape.co.nz/product/...black/24862004

    As soon as I switch back to the old RAM (2x2GB sticks, can check brand name if needed) the computer boots perfectly.

    Could this be dodgy RAM? I've tried every configuration I can think of. With both the old and new, just the new, one stick, one stick of each etc... Even tried suggestions from google searches, unplugging unnecessary peripherals, uninstalling Network drivers etc.

    Windows 10 Pro x64 (PC details in Signature below)
    Last edited by goodiesguy; 30-09-2016 at 04:33 PM.
    PC: Intel® Core™ i5-650 3.20 GHz | Intel® Desktop Board DQ57TM | 8GB DDR3 RAM | Radeon HD 4870 | Windows 10 Pro 64-Bit

  2. #2
    Senior Member Lawrence's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    Tauranga
    Posts
    2,036

    Default Re: BSOD with new RAM

    Depends on your Motherboard,what works on one does not work on another

    Check to see what ram runs on your board,usually the board manufacturer will give you a list for the ram that works some are a bit harder to find

    Been through this process

  3. #3
    Computer Technician wainuitech's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Wellington
    Posts
    28,138

    Default Re: BSOD with new RAM

    According to the Spec's from Intels site, the board works with DDR3 1066/1333 Mhz http://ark.intel.com/products/42486/...p-Board-DQ57TM, the one listed on mighty ape says its 1600Mhz.

    Looks like the New ones are to high a frequency that the board can't handle.
    Last edited by wainuitech; 30-09-2016 at 06:07 PM.

  4. #4
    Boulful Sallad goodiesguy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    Dunedin
    Posts
    2,856

    Default Re: BSOD with new RAM

    Quote Originally Posted by wainuitech View Post
    According to the Spec's from Intels site, the board works with DDR3 1066/1333 Mhz http://ark.intel.com/products/42486/...p-Board-DQ57TM, the one listed on mighty ape says its 1600Mhz.

    Looks like the New ones are to high a frequency that the board can't handle.
    The Bios shows them running at 1333mhz though?
    PC: Intel® Core™ i5-650 3.20 GHz | Intel® Desktop Board DQ57TM | 8GB DDR3 RAM | Radeon HD 4870 | Windows 10 Pro 64-Bit

  5. #5
    amateur expert dugimodo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Posts
    8,064

    Default Re: BSOD with new RAM

    I'd suggest running a memtest on each stick individually if you can get it to work. The RAM may be incompatible or it may be faulty, not sure how you'd tell the difference.

    You could also try manually setting the RAM timings in case it's auto setting them wrong and disabling XMP if you have it enabled.
    Ryzen 2700X, 16Gb DDR4RAM, 512GB M.2 NVME SSD, MSI GTX1070

  6. #6
    Senior Member Lawrence's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    Tauranga
    Posts
    2,036

    Default Re: BSOD with new RAM


  7. #7
    Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    NZ
    Posts
    44,851

    Default Re: BSOD with new RAM

    Could be an incompatible driver, the kernal stop error. What driver did you install recently?

  8. #8
    Boulful Sallad goodiesguy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    Dunedin
    Posts
    2,856

    Default Re: BSOD with new RAM

    Quote Originally Posted by Speedy Gonzales View Post
    Could be an incompatible driver, the kernal stop error. What driver did you install recently?
    The only thing I can think of is that I recently put back in my TV Tuner card, which is a bit on the old side.
    PC: Intel® Core™ i5-650 3.20 GHz | Intel® Desktop Board DQ57TM | 8GB DDR3 RAM | Radeon HD 4870 | Windows 10 Pro 64-Bit

  9. #9
    amateur expert dugimodo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Posts
    8,064

    Default Re: BSOD with new RAM

    Given that the problem goes away when you put the old RAM back I don't think a driver issue is likely as the cause.
    Ryzen 2700X, 16Gb DDR4RAM, 512GB M.2 NVME SSD, MSI GTX1070

Similar Threads

  1. BSOD
    By Sam Bos in forum PressF1
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 25-02-2013, 09:33 AM
  2. BSOD
    By theflyingsurfer in forum PressF1
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 07-03-2009, 06:14 AM
  3. BSOD help!
    By Blam in forum PressF1
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 18-06-2008, 10:28 PM
  4. bsod
    By patto in forum PressF1
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 23-06-2007, 03:44 PM
  5. BSOD
    By pine-o-cleen in forum PressF1
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 06-02-2007, 03:34 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •