Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 11
  1. #1
    Senior Member Strommer's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Masterton
    Posts
    3,847

    Question WIFI range extender

    Is there a unit that will extend the WIFI range when a house is connected with fibre? I have seen WIFI range extenders that plug into telephone jack points but with fibre copper wire is not used.
    .
    .

    The whole problem with the world is that fools and fanatics
    are always so certain of themselves, but wiser people so full of doubts.

    ~ Bertrand Russell

  2. #2
    Where is Metla these days Chilling_Silence's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Auckland
    Posts
    17,146

    Default Re: WIFI range extender

    WiFi range extenders are less than ideal, in all scenarios. They repeat what's already a half-duplex connection, so it more than halves your throughput...

    Yes, they'll work with Fibre, they just plug into the power and are connection agnostic (They don't care what's upstream, they just repeat the WiFi), but you'd be better off getting a better router and / or positioning your one better.
    I mostly do Bitcoin & DigiByte things these days, feel free to say hi on Twitter: https://twitter.com/dgb_chilling

    Before you ask a question here, or before you get upset by a response, see here:
    http://www.catb.org/~esr/faqs/smart-...ons.html#intro

  3. #3
    Where is Metla these days Chilling_Silence's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Auckland
    Posts
    17,146

    Default Re: WIFI range extender

    I should ask, what make / model router have you currently got ?
    I mostly do Bitcoin & DigiByte things these days, feel free to say hi on Twitter: https://twitter.com/dgb_chilling

    Before you ask a question here, or before you get upset by a response, see here:
    http://www.catb.org/~esr/faqs/smart-...ons.html#intro

  4. #4
    Senior Member 1101's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    6,735

    Default Re: WIFI range extender

    Quote Originally Posted by Strommer View Post
    Is there a unit that will extend the WIFI range when a house is connected with fibre? I have seen WIFI range extenders that plug into telephone jack points but with fibre copper wire is not used.
    single unit boosters/extenders are usually a complete waste of time.

    Powerline wifi kits work very well.
    They plug into the power & send internet through the houses power cables to the slave unit at the other end of the house

  5. #5
    Computer Tech
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Oamaru
    Posts
    5,798

    Default Re: WIFI range extender

    Quote Originally Posted by 1101 View Post
    single unit boosters/extenders are usually a complete waste of time.

    Powerline wifi kits work very well.
    They plug into the power & send internet through the houses power cables to the slave unit at the other end of the house
    Agree, if running a cable directly is not an option then Powerline adapters would be the best option.
    Wifi boosters / range extenders never work that well.

  6. #6
    Unknown Device wratterus's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Top of the South
    Posts
    12,338

    Default Re: WIFI range extender

    I fourth that. Basically running a cable is always the best option, if that is not possible, then try powerline adapters, or if you want service to a different building, you want to setup a proper wireless point to point network with some Ubiquiti equipment, failing any of that a range extender is the very last option, they are flawed by design and never perform very well.
    Microsoft: "You've got questions. We've got dancing paperclips."

  7. #7
    Senior Member Strommer's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Masterton
    Posts
    3,847

    Default Re: WIFI range extender

    Quote Originally Posted by Chilling_Silence View Post
    I should ask, what make / model router have you currently got ?
    It is a NF4V, see here: http://www.netcommwireless.com/produ...t-modem-router

    It would be difficult to reposition it somewhere else. It does give good coverage everywhere inside of the house, in the front yard and most of the back yard. The only reason I am enquiring about a range extender is for our guestroom which is at the back of the house, separate from the main house; we will have family staying with us later this year and while the WIFI reaches to the guestroom it is not 100%. In other words, a range extender is not essential but if I could pick one up on eBay for a good price then I may get it.

    Thanks everyone for the info regarding a unit that sends WIFI via a home's power lines. I have read about these but did not know they were available. Any idea of the cost? [Edit - Found them on eBay - around $40 to $50+]
    Last edited by Strommer; 12-09-2016 at 05:14 PM.
    .
    .

    The whole problem with the world is that fools and fanatics
    are always so certain of themselves, but wiser people so full of doubts.

    ~ Bertrand Russell

  8. #8
    Senior Member 1101's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    6,735

    Default Re: WIFI range extender

    Quote Originally Posted by Strommer View Post
    Found them on eBay - around $40 to $50+]
    make sure you get a pair (they do come as addon singles) and 1 unit has wifi (some kits dont have wifi, etherent only on the slave end)
    also, make sure it has a NZ plug (ha, ebay, as if) , not some US/UK plug with an adapter that makes it too dodgy for good results

    The 1st one I saw in that ebay link, does NOT have wifi despite what the listing says

    So, in other words, dont buy these from ebay. It MUST have a NZ plug, it will hang out from the wall too far to be reliable with a UK,US adaptor
    Try PBTech
    Last edited by 1101; 12-09-2016 at 08:48 PM.

  9. #9
    Unknown Device wratterus's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Top of the South
    Posts
    12,338

    Default Re: WIFI range extender

    I've found the TP-Link TL-WPA4220KIT to be good.
    Microsoft: "You've got questions. We've got dancing paperclips."

  10. #10
    amateur expert dugimodo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Posts
    7,985

    Default Re: WIFI range extender

    The best option is always run an Ethernet cable if you can, if not then look into these other solutions. I'm using marginal Wi-Fi myself until I get around to running a cable after powerline adapters failed to work for me.

    The trouble I have with powerline adapters is I need to use a multiboard and they don't work well plugged into those. They work best with a dedicated power point and that can be an issue.
    Some have a pass through power point on them, might be the best option in many cases.

    Also they require the 2 power points to be on the same phase and within a certain distance. I have a pair of Ethernet only TP-Link powerline adapters and they work ok to one bedroom, marginally out to the shed, and are incredibly slow and almost unusable to my main bedroom. I find Wi-Fi actually works better even though it's only on 2 bars. My main point is they aren't always a viable solution.
    Ryzen 2700X, 16Gb DDR4RAM, 512GB M.2 NVME SSD, MSI GTX1070

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 20
    Last Post: 11-04-2015, 01:03 PM
  2. Replies: 7
    Last Post: 30-08-2014, 07:06 PM
  3. Suggestions - WiFi extender
    By Nomad in forum PressF1
    Replies: 15
    Last Post: 04-01-2014, 10:05 AM
  4. Wireless Range Extender not configuring...
    By caffy in forum PressF1
    Replies: 31
    Last Post: 13-04-2013, 02:19 PM
  5. wireless range extender - no internet
    By stutank in forum PressF1
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 12-08-2012, 02:11 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •