Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    NZ
    Posts
    44,851

    Default If a motherboard supports 4K natively, does the CPU have to support 4K too?

    I've got the H97M-E which according to the ASUS site it says it supports 4K natively, (up to 4096x2160 via HDMI or displayport (this mobo doesnt have DP)

    But the CPU I'm using (the G3240) doesnt say anything about 4K in its specs, on the Intel site. All it says (the Intel site) is maximum HDMI 1.4 1920x1080.

    So would I get 60 hz even if the CPU may not support 4K?? I was going to buy a Samsung 27' UHD /4K monitor. But thats only if it'll work

  2. #2
    Where is Metla these days Chilling_Silence's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Auckland
    Posts
    17,146

    Default Re: If a motherboard supports 4K natively, does the CPU have to support 4K too?

    HDMI 1.4 doesn't support 4K @ 60hz, only HDMI 2.0 does, and it requires both the sending HDMI device, the HDMI cable and the receiving HDMI port on the monitor all are HDMI 2.0
    HDMI 1.4 will get you an eye-jarring 30hz. It's bearable, for web-browsing, but even a YouTube video will make you want to claw your eyes out

    You'll want to go down the path of using a displayport cable (Which you've mentioned it doesn't have a DP port on the motherboard) if you want 60hz.

    CPU itself is largely irrelevant
    I mostly do Bitcoin & DigiByte things these days, feel free to say hi on Twitter: https://twitter.com/dgb_chilling

    Before you ask a question here, or before you get upset by a response, see here:
    http://www.catb.org/~esr/faqs/smart-...ons.html#intro

  3. #3
    amateur expert dugimodo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Posts
    8,034

    Default Re: If a motherboard supports 4K natively, does the CPU have to support 4K too?

    What Chill said. With the addition that if by CPU you meant the integrated GPU then yes it does need to also support it.

    My research into 4K so far has left me thinking it's still too soon to go there. I'm contemplating QHD (2560x1440) or the extra wide screens instead at present but there don't seem to be a lot of options available here for that and they are often more expensive than some 4K screens which doesn't seem right.

    I'm a gamer and I favour Nvidia so I'm looking for a certain combination of features/price before I'll move from 1080p.
    Namely :_ Gsync, 27" or bigger, QHD or 4K, high refresh rate, low latency, price under $1K, availability of a single graphics card that'll run it well at a price I'm willing to pay - my 980 is not good enough for 4K but can probably handle QHD
    Ryzen 2700X, 16Gb DDR4RAM, 512GB M.2 NVME SSD, MSI GTX1070

  4. #4
    Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    NZ
    Posts
    44,851

    Default Re: If a motherboard supports 4K natively, does the CPU have to support 4K too?

    The Intel site says the CPU is 1.4. The ASUS site doesnt. The ASUS site says it (the mobo) supports 4K natively. It doesnt say it depends on the CPU you install.

    So if the CPU isnt relevant, then it should get 60 hz

    Doesnt matter now, decided to get an Xbox 1. And decided to sell the older 360's, I had
    Last edited by Speedy Gonzales; 13-06-2016 at 08:11 PM.

  5. #5
    Where is Metla these days Chilling_Silence's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Auckland
    Posts
    17,146

    Default Re: If a motherboard supports 4K natively, does the CPU have to support 4K too?

    "Natively supports 4K" yes, but over HDMI if it's 1.4 then it'll only be 30hz

    @dugimodo, I'd go 144hz @ 1080p myself given the chance now...
    I mostly do Bitcoin & DigiByte things these days, feel free to say hi on Twitter: https://twitter.com/dgb_chilling

    Before you ask a question here, or before you get upset by a response, see here:
    http://www.catb.org/~esr/faqs/smart-...ons.html#intro

  6. #6
    Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    NZ
    Posts
    44,851

    Default Re: If a motherboard supports 4K natively, does the CPU have to support 4K too?

    Well thats true but i have no idea what the HDMI port is on this mobo.

  7. #7
    Where is Metla these days Chilling_Silence's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Auckland
    Posts
    17,146

    Default Re: If a motherboard supports 4K natively, does the CPU have to support 4K too?

    Why not just look on the website:
    https://www.asus.com/nz/Motherboards...pecifications/

    Multi-VGA output support : HDMI/DVI-D/RGB ports
    - Supports HDMI with max. resolution 4096 x 2160 @ 24 Hz / 2560 x 1600 @ 60 Hz
    - Supports DVI-D with max. resolution 1920 x 1200 @ 60 Hz
    - Supports RGB with max. resolution 1920 x 1200 @ 60 Hz

    And you now have your answer. Can't do 4K @ 60hz.
    I mostly do Bitcoin & DigiByte things these days, feel free to say hi on Twitter: https://twitter.com/dgb_chilling

    Before you ask a question here, or before you get upset by a response, see here:
    http://www.catb.org/~esr/faqs/smart-...ons.html#intro

Similar Threads

  1. motherboard cpu support
    By termz in forum PressF1
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 06-07-2009, 08:53 PM
  2. Motherboard supports 1 Terabyte?
    By almightynugget in forum PressF1
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 20-10-2008, 07:04 PM
  3. does my motherboard support USB 2.0
    By dawg1467 in forum PressF1
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 26-08-2006, 02:26 PM
  4. motherboard supports AGP or PCI-e ?
    By russell108 in forum PressF1
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 16-01-2006, 12:14 PM
  5. Motherboard CPU support
    By in forum PressF1
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 04-02-2001, 11:26 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •