Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
Results 11 to 14 of 14

Thread: Network Issues

  1. #11
    Where is Metla these days Chilling_Silence's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Auckland
    Posts
    17,146

    Default Re: Network Issues

    For the 901ND to work you need it plugged in to the "LAN" side, with the rest of your network and not the "WAN" port. Then as the others have mentioned, make sure DHCP is off.
    I'd say that's where you're likely getting the confusion.

    Also, the Huawei EchoLife device probably has DHCP which it'll be passing to the WAN of your Routerboard. That's OK but just make sure it's *not* in the same range as the Routerboard uses for the LAN
    eg Have the Echolife give out 192.168.1.0/24 and then have your Routerboard give out IP's on 192.168.5.0/24

    If the WAN of the Routerboard is the same IP range as the LAN, it's gonna lose the plot at you.
    I mostly do Bitcoin & DigiByte things these days, feel free to say hi on Twitter: https://twitter.com/dgb_chilling

    Before you ask a question here, or before you get upset by a response, see here:
    http://www.catb.org/~esr/faqs/smart-...ons.html#intro

  2. #12
    Old dick-head
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    between Lower Hutt & Carterton
    Posts
    1,198

    Default Re: Network Issues

    Are you a Truenet volunteer ? If so, the Routerboard box will be transparent and not affecting DHCP.

  3. #13

    Default Re: Network Issues

    If this makes it easier to understand Damiens link above as to our initial set up.
    So this is the set-up in our cupboard, Based on photo, and refer to Damien's

    Fibre comes into Cupboard and into the Huawei on the Left,
    (all Cat6 cables then run from hear to each individual room where needed)

    Grey Cable from the Huawei goes into the MicroTik
    on the MicroTik cables are:
    1: Grey - Input from Huawei
    2: Blue goes to TP-Link TL-SG108
    3: Green to Master Bedroom
    4: Dining Room
    5: Bedroom 2

    Then obviousl on the 8 Splitter
    1: Input from #2 on MicroTik
    2: EMPTY
    3: Lounge
    Rest to other rooms

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	2016-06-10 19.07.58.jpg 
Views:	64 
Size:	54.1 KB 
ID:	7235

  4. #14
    Web Developer dpDesignz's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    Hamilton, New Zealand
    Posts
    470

    Default Re: Network Issues

    Thanks all! I hadn't received an alert of all these replies! Will play around this and see what I can get. Also one of the issues, I hadn't been advised the right plug in the lounge was phone line so that's what the issue was there. Will keep testing for the dhcp though. Still getting some small issues so will try the suggestions

Similar Threads

  1. Windows 10 Network issues.
    By SphericRed in forum PressF1
    Replies: 14
    Last Post: 28-03-2016, 06:22 PM
  2. Network Coverage Issues
    By Chemical Ali in forum PressF1
    Replies: 12
    Last Post: 30-09-2012, 11:19 AM
  3. Help! Network Driver issues
    By Tukapa in forum PressF1
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 26-04-2011, 09:49 PM
  4. Network connection issues
    By roddy_boy in forum PressF1
    Replies: 24
    Last Post: 09-05-2006, 05:17 PM
  5. cleaning up few network issues
    By aidanmaz in forum PressF1
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 24-09-2005, 07:53 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •