Page 1 of 5 12345 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 47

Thread: New ISP

  1. #1
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Papamoa, Tauranga
    Posts
    1,216

    Smile New ISP

    Hi all.
    Getting my lappy updated to a SSD soon and was thinking about upgrading wifi to the AC band.
    My sparky modem is dual band, but been having so many problems with the fiber thinking about moving when contact expires in September.
    Any ideas on a good reliable ISP, hopefully with AC modems, cause cant afford to buy one?
    Thanks,
    Ian

  2. #2
    Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    NZ
    Posts
    44,855

    Default Re: New ISP

    The AC modem has nothing to do with it, that's within the house not what the ISP provides

    If you use AC adapters at home they'll use it. If you use Wireless B/G on the computers they'll go at G or N speed, when they're connected to the modem

  3. #3
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Papamoa, Tauranga
    Posts
    1,216

    Smile Re: New ISP

    Thanks Speedy.
    Okay understand that, now can anyone suggest a good reliable ISP with good speeds etc?
    We have terrible problems with buffering and that endless circle.
    Think it's trying to hypnotize us, or something.
    Goes round and round and round, etc, no connection like...

  4. #4
    Senior Member Driftwood's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    Central Otago
    Posts
    3,077

    Default Re: New ISP

    Which provider do you currently use.

  5. #5
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Papamoa, Tauranga
    Posts
    1,216

    Default Re: New ISP

    Quote Originally Posted by Driftwood View Post
    Which provider do you currently use.
    Currently with Sparky.
    Been with NZ POst Office/Telecom now Sparky for over 40 years.
    Woked with Post Office/Telecom for about 25 years.
    Be hard to leave, but been trying to get this resolved since about October last year.

  6. #6
    Computer Technician wainuitech's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Wellington
    Posts
    28,680

    Default Re: New ISP

    Quote Originally Posted by ianhnz View Post
    Currently with Sparky.
    Been with NZ POst Office/Telecom now Sparky for over 40 years.
    Woked with Post Office/Telecom for about 25 years.
    Be hard to leave, but been trying to get this resolved since about October last year.
    A LOT has to do with your location, the state of the lines, amount of usage etc. Sometimes it doesn't matter who your ISP is, if the location cant get a certain speed, reliability then it wont matter.

    See who your neighbors are with and what sort of speeds they get.

    Like today, at a persons place, their internet speed (if you can even call it that) was SLOWER than Dialup most of the time. When discussing the connection I was told the whole area is exactly the same.

    They are with Spark, but their neighbors and friends all with different ISP's, ALL having the same problem. Most of the time during the weekends its not even worth while going on the internet so they said, I did a slow test ( wont insult it by calling it anything else), it topped out at 0.09 (Thats not a typo either). I was trying to download a 63MB printer install, didn't happen.

  7. #7
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Porirua
    Posts
    3,421

    Default Re: New ISP

    He said his was a fibre connection, WT.

  8. #8
    Computer Technician wainuitech's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Wellington
    Posts
    28,680

    Default Re: New ISP

    Quote Originally Posted by linw View Post
    He said his was a fibre connection, WT.
    Missed that the original post the text is very small and don't have my glasses on.

    BUT again doesn't really matter -- heard horror stories from many people who have fibre, different ISP's, and rubbish service. All the ISP's use the same fibre line, which goes back to my original comment "See who your neighbors are with and what sort of speeds they get."

    Theres a guy down the road from me who is on the same plan I have with Vodafone cable, on the rare occasion theres a sustained problem he contacts me to see if I'm getting the same - its a good cross reference.

  9. #9
    Senior Member 1101's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    7,492

    Default Re: New ISP

    Quote Originally Posted by ianhnz View Post
    We have terrible problems with buffering and that endless circle.
    is this buffering on online vids ?
    Im with spark & I have the buffering issue with online/streaming video, except for youtube, that works perfectly (now that they fixed there issue with that)

  10. #10
    Where is Metla these days Chilling_Silence's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Auckland
    Posts
    17,146

    Default Re: New ISP

    Doesn't matter if it's YouTube, Facebook, Vimeo, Twitch.tv, you should be able to stream 2-3mbps easily for a 720p video. If you can't, there's something *horribly* horribly wrong...
    I mostly do Bitcoin & DigiByte things these days, feel free to say hi on Twitter: https://twitter.com/dgb_chilling

    Before you ask a question here, or before you get upset by a response, see here:
    http://www.catb.org/~esr/faqs/smart-...ons.html#intro

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •