Results 1 to 8 of 8
  1. #1
    Smiling Down On Youse SurferJoe46's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    Hamilton, Montana, USA
    Posts
    14,237

    Question Grub Boot Sequence

    I went to this looking for a way to change the sequence of booting to XP and change it to Puppy .

    I want to be able to make Puppy load as default. Is this OK for puppy?

    sudo add-apt-repository ppa:danielrichter2007/grub-customizer
    sudo apt-get update
    sudo apt-get install grub-customizer
    This looks impressive, but I'm not really sure that this will work.

    I assume that I copy/paste this inside urxvt terminal emulator... right? Or is this just a website that sends me the grub customizer?

    What it looks like to me is that it is calling up something that's already inside Puppy and just makes it run.

    But I'm not too sure that a sudu-thing is correct.


    I figger that as far South as I have gone so far, I may now get a break in bad fortune
    until the rest of the world catches up with me.

  2. #2
    Smiling Down On Youse SurferJoe46's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    Hamilton, Montana, USA
    Posts
    14,237

    Default Re: Grub Boot Sequence

    Well - that didn't work.

    First - you can't c/p inside that command box. That's just wrong on every count I think.

    But after entering it, it just barfed it up and told me I was wrong (again)..... which may or may not be it's way of keeping itself safe from me......

    sudu bash ---- something or other


    ............ tells me it was a bad command. I'll keep experimenting here until it smokes.

    Going here next --- but it looks very scary......

    I think they (Linux-heads) make this stuff odious and scary on purpose. I don't want to write code, I just want to use Puppy.

    Boy! I can sure get into a lot of trouble here while youse guys are asleep.
    Last edited by SurferJoe46; 20-03-2016 at 05:18 AM.


    I figger that as far South as I have gone so far, I may now get a break in bad fortune
    until the rest of the world catches up with me.

  3. #3
    Soaring like an Eagle gary67's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    In a field in Hanmer
    Posts
    14,257

    Default Re: Grub Boot Sequence

    One reason I put Linux Mint Mate on my netbook instead of Puppy.
    Puppy is fine but is much harder to get to grips with.

  4. #4
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Posts
    1,066

    Default Re: Grub Boot Sequence

    You are using Slacko.

    sudo will work, add-apt-repository or apt-get won't. This is a command for debian based distributions, like Puppy based on Ubuntu.

    You really do not need a grub customizer. It is much simpler to edit grub.conf, possibly found in /boot/grub and change the default= line to the index of the entry, 0 being first entry, 1 being the second, etc.

    Cheers,

    KK

  5. #5
    Moderator Jen's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Auckland
    Posts
    8,191

    Default Re: Grub Boot Sequence

    Edit: just read Kame's reply and I hadn't realised Puppy cannot use apt-get. Removed what I suggested.

  6. #6
    amateur expert dugimodo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Posts
    7,547

    Default Re: Grub Boot Sequence

    maybe this'll help http://www.howtogeek.com/196655/how-...ders-settings/
    I've managed to edit grub in the past but never on slacko and not for a long time.

    If that's not helpful you'll have to wait for one of the Linux guru's to wake up, I just dabble with it.
    Ryzen 2700X, 16Gb DDR4RAM, 512GB M.2 NVME SSD, MSI GTX1070

  7. #7
    Smiling Down On Youse SurferJoe46's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    Hamilton, Montana, USA
    Posts
    14,237

    Default Re: Grub Boot Sequence

    Quote Originally Posted by Kame View Post
    You are using Slacko.

    sudo will work, add-apt-repository or apt-get won't. This is a command for debian based distributions, like Puppy based on Ubuntu.

    You really do not need a grub customizer. It is much simpler to edit grub.conf, possibly found in /boot/grub and change the default= line to the index of the entry, 0 being first entry, 1 being the second, etc.

    Cheers,

    KK
    Reading that - it makes sense. Let me see if I can either implement it or ruin something in the process.

    I was gonna use a different distro but there was a lot of discussion about the server being hacked and they were working on it - so needing something fast I grabbed Puppy and installed it.

    I really appreciate your patience with me here. It means a lot.


    I figger that as far South as I have gone so far, I may now get a break in bad fortune
    until the rest of the world catches up with me.

  8. #8
    Smiling Down On Youse SurferJoe46's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    Hamilton, Montana, USA
    Posts
    14,237

    Default Re: Grub Boot Sequence

    Quote Originally Posted by dugimodo View Post
    maybe this'll help http://www.howtogeek.com/196655/how-...ders-settings/
    I've managed to edit grub in the past but never on slacko and not for a long time.

    If that's not helpful you'll have to wait for one of the Linux guru's to wake up, I just dabble with it.
    This different time zone stuff is kinda strange --- different day even!


    I figger that as far South as I have gone so far, I may now get a break in bad fortune
    until the rest of the world catches up with me.

Similar Threads

  1. Boot sequence
    By Buff_K in forum PressF1
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 31-05-2009, 03:24 AM
  2. Grub dual boot - OS sequence?
    By Murray P in forum PressF1
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 17-05-2007, 11:25 PM
  3. Boot up sequence
    By Lurking in forum PressF1
    Replies: 12
    Last Post: 15-10-2006, 04:20 PM
  4. WIN 98 Boot Sequence
    By paulmckendry in forum PressF1
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 01-05-2003, 02:48 PM
  5. boot sequence
    By Will in forum PressF1
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 24-07-2002, 11:01 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •