Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 13
  1. #1
    Unknown Device wratterus's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Top of the South
    Posts
    12,338

    Talking New house - ADSL only - what/who to go with?

    Finally bought a house....

    Anyway, am in the process of sorting out phone/internet etc etc and was wondering what is the best option at the moment, I'm a bit out of touch.

    I'm thinking that going with unlimited broadband and a VOIP plan could be the go?

    Unfortunately there is only ADSL where we will be moving to, which does suck a little. I was looking at bigpipe, who have unlimited naked ADSL for $79 a month. I've got extremely limited experience with VOIP - is that a good option on ADSL? Are there any VOIP providers in NZ who could set us up with a 'local' number so it doesn't cost people calling locally?

    Any thoughts from who has done this recently, or has more experience than me with the whole voip thing would be appreciated!

    Thanks heaps.
    Microsoft: "You've got questions. We've got dancing paperclips."

  2. #2
    Unknown Device wratterus's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Top of the South
    Posts
    12,338

    Default Re: New house - ADSL only - what/who to go with?

    Just looking at 2talk - their $10 + GST plan looks pretty legit. And I assume a 'local' number means that anyone in that same area can call from a normal landline for free?
    Microsoft: "You've got questions. We've got dancing paperclips."

  3. #3
    Old dick-head
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    between Lower Hutt & Carterton
    Posts
    1,189

    Default Re: New house - ADSL only - what/who to go with?

    Quote Originally Posted by wratterus View Post
    Just looking at 2talk - their $10 + GST plan looks pretty legit. And I assume a 'local' number means that anyone in that same area can call from a normal landline for free?
    Yes, it just appears to be a normal local number for other people and calls are free. I like 2talk.
    One thing I found though is that if you don't already have a local PSTN number to port across, you get given a number starting with "9" and I have been surprised at the number of people who query "what sort of number is that?"

    In Carterton, "all" numbers start with "379...." and my VoIP number confuses some people easily.
    Last edited by decibel; 11-02-2016 at 08:44 PM.

  4. #4
    Systems Engineer Alex B's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    London
    Posts
    1,669

    Default Re: New house - ADSL only - what/who to go with?

    VOIP doesn't always play nice with CG-NAT. So if you go with BigPipe, make sure you pay the $45 one off cost for a static IP.

  5. #5
    Soaring like an Eagle gary67's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    In a field in Hanmer
    Posts
    14,741

    Default Re: New house - ADSL only - what/who to go with?

    I feel your pain we are on ADSL here in Brightwater, nothing else available, we transferred our Snap account from Christchurch (now 2Degrees) still very happy with the service we did have a Voip no with them but in the end dropped as paying extra for something we didn't use seemed pointless. The Voip worked just fine however we have the Fritzbox router which is very good, not sure if 2d still give those out.

    Where have you bought? Out Riwaka way?

  6. #6
    Where is Metla these days Chilling_Silence's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Auckland
    Posts
    17,146

    Default Re: New house - ADSL only - what/who to go with?

    If you're going with VoIP, because of the pathetic upload (~500-800kbps usually) of ADSL2+ you'll want some sort of a router that can prioritize it, and an ISP that will also do likewise.
    2talks support blows, they're a pain to get hold of, but thankfully their service is probably the most reliable VoIP service in the country (I do VoIP for a living). Their DSL services aren't too bad either, and their "Private IP only" connections actually work really well. As Alex B mentioned it _can_ cause some issues, but 2talk do it well and because the voice service is theirs along with the DSL service, it works absolutely fine.

    Mixing and matching 2talk with BigPipe may not be too wise unless you get a public static IP like he said though.
    I mostly do Bitcoin & DigiByte things these days, feel free to say hi on Twitter: https://twitter.com/dgb_chilling

    Before you ask a question here, or before you get upset by a response, see here:
    http://www.catb.org/~esr/faqs/smart-...ons.html#intro

  7. #7
    Unknown Device wratterus's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Top of the South
    Posts
    12,338

    Default Re: New house - ADSL only - what/who to go with?

    Thanks for the thoughts guys. Yes - I would definitely go with a static IP so the CG-NAT thing shouldn't be an issue. Currently I'm paying a dyndns sub, so that can go away too which would save a few $$.

    Bought in Mot Gary - been a bit of a rigmarole finding a place to be honest stuff sells like hotcakes around here, but feels good to finally have a place locked in.

    Chill - is there a different solution you would recommend, or possibly trying to consolidate the DSL and VoIP with the same provider? I currently have a Draytek 2710, which (while I've never used it) does seem to have decent QoS built in.

    So would I be right in saying all I'd need is a Cisco SPA112 or equivalent, configure it up and away we go?
    Microsoft: "You've got questions. We've got dancing paperclips."

  8. #8
    Where is Metla these days Chilling_Silence's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Auckland
    Posts
    17,146

    Default Re: New house - ADSL only - what/who to go with?

    I've never used the QoS on the DV2710. Always used the QoS in Gargoyle, and hung the rest of the network off that, so DV2710 -> Gargoyle -> Rest of network (Including ATA)

    Yeah the SPA112 will work just fine
    I mostly do Bitcoin & DigiByte things these days, feel free to say hi on Twitter: https://twitter.com/dgb_chilling

    Before you ask a question here, or before you get upset by a response, see here:
    http://www.catb.org/~esr/faqs/smart-...ons.html#intro

  9. #9
    Systems Engineer Alex B's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    London
    Posts
    1,669

    Default Re: New house - ADSL only - what/who to go with?

    SPA112 are pretty solid. My folks use VFX, you plug it in, put in a configuration URL, tell VFX the MAC and that's it. I assume similar with 2talk.

  10. #10
    Soaring like an Eagle gary67's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    In a field in Hanmer
    Posts
    14,741

    Default Re: New house - ADSL only - what/who to go with?

    Yes stuff is selling fast here again. We are looking for a bush block with no building covenants

Similar Threads

  1. ADSL not going to all phone jacks in house.
    By sahilcc7 in forum PressF1
    Replies: 18
    Last Post: 13-04-2012, 12:30 AM
  2. 2 ADSL in same house
    By cityhunter2000 in forum PressF1
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 29-10-2008, 09:25 PM
  3. Do you own a house?
    By rogerp in forum PC World Chat
    Replies: 13
    Last Post: 02-07-2007, 09:42 PM
  4. New house.
    By Thomas in forum PressF1
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 13-09-2003, 08:11 PM
  5. Replies: 3
    Last Post: 27-02-2003, 09:41 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •