Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 14
  1. #1
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Posts
    125

    Default Issues with Fibre install and router appearing to crash - Any ideas what to look for

    Short version of a long 10 days.

    Fibre installed in Christchurch. 200/100 plan. Supplied router is a Netcomm Wirelss NF5. Noticed VOIP kept deregistering / registering at random intervals ( even thought ISP swore blind it said registered on their end) and internet would drop roughly 3 to 5 times a day. Couldn't access router after it dropped out and got a timeout error each time. Had to keep rebooting it which unfortunately clears the logs. Sent out new router by my ISP.

    Somewhat better in that after install I got 4 hours uptime before it crashed..then after a reboot about 35 hours uptime...ISP ( Actrix) have been as helpful as I guess they can be given they wholesale from snap who sub it out to downers ( i think ). Short of rebooting the router everytime the internet drops and it crashes we have run out of options other than escalate it to somebody. Still awaiting that call.

    The router feeds my desktop from Lan1, and Lan 2 feeds a gigabit switch that is connected to 5 ports in my cat 6 patch panel. It also provides wireless for around the home - phones and ipads generally. Dropouts appear completely random and I first thought heat, ethernet cable etc so am ruling out everything one by one. I've changed ethernet cables around, keep the room fairly cool, have the router running on a UPS and have also disconnected my switch and patch panel so it's only feeding wireless to the house and one wired connection to my desktop. So far the internet has been up for 30 hours.

    First thing I know its bad is the little exclamation mark in the bottom right of the screen and the kids all turn up saying their connection is limited. Can't login to the router admin at that time and it gives me a timeout error so I'm thinking the router has crashed. It still has lots of flashing lights on the front but the 'www' light is dead. The other thing to note is VOIP is still not working properly - still randomly unregistering my end - became unregistered overnight and is still off. If I leave it, it will fire back up at some point on its own or I can reboot the router and it generally finds it. VOIP is definintely not my wiring as the phone is plugged straight into back of router avoiding my old copper.

    Any clues or suggestions would be helpful. Could something in my wiring be causing the internet issues? I'm stumped and short of continuing to run isolation tests over days and weeks not sure what else to think of.

    Cheers for any ideas

    Ged

  2. #2
    amateur expert dugimodo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Posts
    8,034

    Default Re: Issues with Fibre install and router appearing to crash - Any ideas what to look

    Sounds like one of those hard to pin down faults unfortunately. I know some routers just can't handle too much traffic, are you and the kids heavy users? As an example I was using the (then) xtra freebie router for a while on ADSL2+ and I discovered if any PC running XP was used to download a torrent the router would immediately crash, no matter what PC, port, etc, just as long as it was XP + a torrent. It also crashed a bit less frequently using windows 7 so something must have been a little easier on the router with that OS.

    Point is, some consumer routers just aren't up to the loads some people subject them too, may or may not be your issue. Try and see if you can get everyone to agree to not download anything for a couple days and stick to streaming, games, what have you, see if it makes a difference? I had some good luck on VDSL using the supplied router in bridge mode and using a better one to do all the actual routing, DHCP, WiFi, etc. Dunno if that's applicable for fibre,you should at least be able to use an old DSL router as a wireless access point to reduce the load on the main one.
    Ryzen 2700X, 16Gb DDR4RAM, 512GB M.2 NVME SSD, MSI GTX1070

  3. #3
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Posts
    125

    Default Re: Issues with Fibre install and router appearing to crash - Any ideas what to look

    Yup. Good points. We are heavy users but have deliberately kept them offline other than steam / gaming while this gets sorted. It drops out when we are at work / school as well. The disconnects although probably not, do appear random. I had 4 in the space of 10 minutes last week. I do torrent a fair bit so thought it might be that so stopped that as well to see. I just said the other day while sitting on the sofa " Router's been online for a good bit. fingers crossed " and I swear about 5 mins later my son walked through and said it's down. He was on WoW - wired connection in another room and I was doing some ftp which wasn't too onerours or demanding. Nothing else running. I nearly bought a new router but then realised it would be easy for whoever to point at that and say ' its not supported by your ISP ' etc etc. The VOIP issue gives me hope it's something connection or setup wise that is causing this and not something I've done insde the home. I'm also becoming wary of the various parties that have all combined to get fibre to my home. Not quite sure if its actrix, snap, 2 degrees or downers I should be chasing Thanks again

  4. #4
    Computer Technician wainuitech's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Wellington
    Posts
    28,038

    Default Re: Issues with Fibre install and router appearing to crash - Any ideas what to look

    Those Netcomm Wirelss NF5 routers are a complete waste of money, even if they are free from your ISP. Replaced with better Routers for many failures from customers.

    Seen so many fail, even brand new ones can play up within hours. I once tried one for testing purposes,( brand new, I was given it) it worked a couple of times for roughly 5 minutes each time, then would never work again.

  5. #5
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Posts
    125

    Default Re: Issues with Fibre install and router appearing to crash - Any ideas what to look

    I'm happy to invest in something that will last. I specifically asked Actrix helpdesk re the quality etc of the router and he genuinely seemed to indicate they were fairly stable. Can you suggest several makes and models and I'll have a dig around reviews etc.
    Thanks again

  6. #6
    amateur expert dugimodo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Posts
    8,034

    Default Re: Issues with Fibre install and router appearing to crash - Any ideas what to look

    Also be aware the ONT sometimes fails, I don't know what the symptoms of that is but have heard from one of the managers in charge of the fault teams that they have to replace them from time to time. I work for one of the sub contractors but am not personally involved with faults or field work, it does give me some insights though.

    On the router front, I've killed more than my fair share. A combination of bad luck and poor positioning but even a couple of the more popular models have died on me despite recommendations. I figured out mine was getting direct sunlight for an hour or two in the middle of the day so I moved it and made a cooler for it to sit on out of an old case fan and a 12V supply from a dead router (somehow I have a few of those ) and have had very stable performance for the 2-3 years since. I'm currently waiting for my fibre to be connected up so hopefully I don't have these problems again.
    Ryzen 2700X, 16Gb DDR4RAM, 512GB M.2 NVME SSD, MSI GTX1070

  7. #7
    Where is Metla these days Chilling_Silence's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Auckland
    Posts
    17,146

    Default Re: Issues with Fibre install and router appearing to crash - Any ideas what to look

    I'm with wainuitech, those Netcomm ones are a total waste of space...

    It's a tough one coz I'd suggest the TP-Link TL-WR1043NDv2 (That firmware is _solid_ as a rock), but the problem is that they don't support VLAN10 by default on the WAN port which is required for a lot of UFB providers. I have an override but it requires being OK with SSH'ing in to the router to flash it.

    If you wanna just go retail, a friend has the R7000 Nighthawk working well and his home would definitely be considered "power users".
    I mostly do Bitcoin & DigiByte things these days, feel free to say hi on Twitter: https://twitter.com/dgb_chilling

    Before you ask a question here, or before you get upset by a response, see here:
    http://www.catb.org/~esr/faqs/smart-...ons.html#intro

  8. #8
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2016
    Posts
    131

    Default Re: Issues with Fibre install and router appearing to crash - Any ideas what to look

    Make sure you are running the latest firmware on the device.

    http://support.netcommwireless.com/product/4g/nf5

  9. #9
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Posts
    125

    Default Re: Issues with Fibre install and router appearing to crash - Any ideas what to look

    So having spoken to a senior bod at the ISP today he indicated I wasn't the only customer seeing the above issues. He was confident they would be on top of the problems in the next week or two, having now identified the issues at play and believed I should see the disconnects and VOIP problems disappear. I'm still keen on exploring a new router however as firmly believe you get what you pay for in most cases.

    Will update as it progresses / or not as the case may be.

  10. #10
    Where is Metla these days Chilling_Silence's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Auckland
    Posts
    17,146

    Default Re: Issues with Fibre install and router appearing to crash - Any ideas what to look

    Quote Originally Posted by Gedc View Post
    He was confident they would be on top of the problems in the next week or two, having now identified the issues at play and believed I should see the disconnects and VOIP problems disappear. I'm still keen on exploring a new router however as firmly believe you get what you pay for in most cases.
    My money says no, seeing as those issues are going to be firmware related, unless they're rolling a new firmware specifically from Netcomm? I doubt it...
    I mostly do Bitcoin & DigiByte things these days, feel free to say hi on Twitter: https://twitter.com/dgb_chilling

    Before you ask a question here, or before you get upset by a response, see here:
    http://www.catb.org/~esr/faqs/smart-...ons.html#intro

Similar Threads

  1. Fibre with NOW and router question
    By swazi in forum PressF1
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 12-01-2016, 12:51 PM
  2. Fibre capable wifi router
    By bk T in forum PressF1
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 27-07-2014, 11:11 PM
  3. Replies: 6
    Last Post: 31-01-2014, 08:26 AM
  4. Install fibre at new premesis
    By Gobe1 in forum PressF1
    Replies: 23
    Last Post: 05-09-2011, 09:53 PM
  5. Fibre Router
    By stainton in forum PressF1
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 12-12-2009, 08:36 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •