Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 19
  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2015
    Posts
    5

    Default New broadband issue

    Hi all, I am new here and want to say thanks for giving me he chance to ask this question.

    Long story short, just moved into a rental, telephone/adsl point already there, signed up with naked broadband with Flip, bough my own D-Link ADS750 ADSL2+ modem router, connected, can get internet but cant open emails, can see my inbox in hotmail but cant access any of them, cant download videos, full pages don't appear, cant get into internet banking, cant access hotmail. Went on for 2 weeks and Flip had no idea. Cancelled. Signed up with Spark naked broadband, kept my modem - bugger, same issue. Tried different laptops, different cables, direct to router and wi-fi, same thing. Can go on stuff page and read other pages from there but no video. ADSL light on steady on modem, wi fi lights flash when accessing, internet light on steady. Please can anyone help? Thanks in advance.

  2. #2
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Auckland
    Posts
    876

    Default Re: New broadband issue

    does it work if you use someone elses internet or you tether WiFi to your smartphone etc?

  3. #3
    amateur expert dugimodo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Posts
    7,955

    Default Re: New broadband issue

    Are you sure you've set up the modem correctly, most ISP's have a guide.
    https://www.spark.co.nz/help/interne...-party-modems/

    You could try resetting your DNS settings or using Googles, it could be a problem with that, also do you have more than one device and are they all having issues?
    http://www.pctools.com/kb/article/pr...tings-519.html
    Ryzen 2700X, 16Gb DDR4RAM, 512GB M.2 NVME SSD, MSI GTX1070

  4. #4
    Senior Member 1101's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    6,650

    Default Re: New broadband issue

    Try another modem/router .
    Also, run an adsl speedtest of one of the speedtest sites & make sure you have usable speed, up & down

    Also, try the laptop at another site if possible.

  5. #5
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Posts
    1,131

    Default Re: New broadband issue

    What device or devices have you tried?

    More devices to check if they all experiencing the same problems to link it to just the internet as the issue.

    Issue sounds like it could be browser related or a program that could interfere like a firewall, addons, etc. Try alternative browsers, disable firewalls, etc.

    Cheers,

    KK

  6. #6
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Christchurch
    Posts
    2,344

    Default Re: New broadband issue

    Bit like our wireless modem daughter set up, cable was toooo short, now have an unnecessarily long cable.

    lurking.

  7. #7
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Posts
    2,703

    Default Re: New broadband issue

    Check the MTU setting in your modem as if it is incorrect it can cause issues with secure sites amongst others.
    Set it to 1492 and see if that helps.

  8. #8
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2015
    Posts
    5

    Default Re: New broadband issue

    I have tried other laptop, mobile phone, smart tv. Funny but the tv will open the email - slowly, but won't open any videos. I have tried disabling firewall, avg etc. Have tried different browsers, different cables too.
    Still the same. Yes I have set to Sparks recommended settings too.Yes MTU setting 1492. What I do notice in modem status is I{V6 status is not connected, does that mean anything?

  9. #9
    amateur expert dugimodo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Posts
    7,955

    Default Re: New broadband issue

    IPV6 nope, that's not important. What speed is the router syncing at ?
    Ryzen 2700X, 16Gb DDR4RAM, 512GB M.2 NVME SSD, MSI GTX1070

  10. #10
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Posts
    250

    Default Re: New broadband issue

    Did Spark give you their free modem/router ? If so have you tried it ? Unless I missed it you've tried changing everything but the router.

Similar Threads

  1. Broadband wiring issue
    By bk T in forum PressF1
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 26-02-2012, 07:22 AM
  2. Broadband issue
    By Emsley in forum PressF1
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 05-01-2012, 05:56 PM
  3. Broadband issue - do I need to call a Tech?
    By Disco_Dan in forum PressF1
    Replies: 36
    Last Post: 14-10-2011, 06:12 AM
  4. Broadband Usage Issue
    By rover1nz in forum PressF1
    Replies: 13
    Last Post: 17-07-2009, 10:35 PM
  5. Vista Broadband Connection Issue
    By CenC in forum PressF1
    Replies: 18
    Last Post: 24-11-2007, 08:12 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •