Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: GPU-Z question

  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Hamilton
    Posts
    76

    Default GPU-Z question

    Just downloaded GPU-Z 0.8.4. Want to run ASIC quality but don't know how or what ASIC actually means. Thanks.
    "I'm trying to think but nothin' happens" -Jerome "Curly" Howard

  2. #2
    Senior Member pctek's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    In the Wild West
    Posts
    24,212

    Default Re: GPU-Z question

    Application-specific integrated circuit
    The technical explanation:

    https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Applic...grated_circuit

    The short explanation:
    A specific chip like your GPU.
    wipe your paws.

  3. #3
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Hamilton
    Posts
    76

    Default Re: GPU-Z question

    But how do I accesses the ASIC quality test that is somewhere I don't know on GPU-Z?
    "I'm trying to think but nothin' happens" -Jerome "Curly" Howard

  4. #4
    ember BBCmicro's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Wellington
    Posts
    1,137

    Default Re: GPU-Z question

    Do you mean the blue question mark? (right of bus interface)
    Ryzen 7 1700 @ stock, EVO 960 500GB M.2 NVMe, G-Skill 2 x 16GB @ 2.4GHz,
    GA-AB350N-Gaming Wifi (mITX), EVGA GTX970. Media player: i7-6700k

  5. #5
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Posts
    1,972

    Default Re: GPU-Z question

    try a right click on the top left area of the GPU-Z gui - I think the menu has a function "Read ASIC Quality"

  6. #6
    ember BBCmicro's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Wellington
    Posts
    1,137

    Default Re: GPU-Z question

    Quote Originally Posted by bevy121 View Post
    try a right click on the top left area of the GPU-Z gui - I think the menu has a function "Read ASIC Quality"
    Yes - thanks for that.

    My GTX 970 is 73.1%

    However, it seems to me it's only reading the specs of the card and comparing with an average - not doing anything of substance

    (The bus configuration test claims not to be a stress test but it loads my GPU above 90%.)
    Ryzen 7 1700 @ stock, EVO 960 500GB M.2 NVMe, G-Skill 2 x 16GB @ 2.4GHz,
    GA-AB350N-Gaming Wifi (mITX), EVGA GTX970. Media player: i7-6700k

  7. #7
    amateur expert dugimodo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Posts
    8,143

    Default Re: GPU-Z question

    What functionality is it you are trying to test? There are probably other tools around.
    I only use CPU-Z & GPU-Z to identify the CPU/GPU and clock speeds. I use other tools to stress test or monitor temperatures.

    For example I use furmark and speccy to stress test & monitor my graphics card, prime95 for the CPU, and memtest for the RAM. When I build a new PC to really stress it out I run furmark and prime95 and speccy all at the same time, a load I never expect the PC to ever repeat in normal usage. If a hardware manufacturer supplies their own monitoring software I will use that on the theory it's less likely to misread the sensors (some programs give weird impossible numbers with some sensors).
    Ryzen 2700X, 16Gb DDR4RAM, 512GB M.2 NVME SSD, MSI GTX1070

  8. #8
    ember BBCmicro's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Wellington
    Posts
    1,137

    Default Re: GPU-Z question

    Who needs Prime95 when routine software does it for you

    The screenshot shows 100% CPU activity on all 4 cores. I can't picture how Prime95 could stress the CPU more than that?

    (The particular application is reSpeedR for straightening videos - reducing camera shake. I have the paid version but the free one is identical except it puts a couple of logos on the screen. Even with the logos on the screen, the result is far better than not straightening. I highly recommend it for cellphone videos and similar. But you need a good CPU.)
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version. 

Name:	CPUs100percent.jpg 
Views:	72 
Size:	92.1 KB 
ID:	6630  
    Ryzen 7 1700 @ stock, EVO 960 500GB M.2 NVMe, G-Skill 2 x 16GB @ 2.4GHz,
    GA-AB350N-Gaming Wifi (mITX), EVGA GTX970. Media player: i7-6700k

Similar Threads

  1. WinTV200 Question...Just A Simple Question.....
    By SurferJoe46 in forum PressF1
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 01-05-2008, 02:40 PM
  2. Linux question - CD burning question
    By johcar in forum PressF1
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 15-05-2007, 08:09 AM
  3. An FAQ question
    By paradox in forum PressF1
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 26-01-2007, 11:51 PM
  4. PSU Question
    By cold_fusion in forum PressF1
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 23-12-2005, 10:03 AM
  5. Replies: 1
    Last Post: 15-10-2004, 08:33 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •