Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
Results 11 to 14 of 14

Thread: SMART Error 301

  1. #11
    Senior Member 1101's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    7,036

    Default Re: SMART Error 301

    Quote Originally Posted by linw View Post

    Can anyone see any fish-hooks here, like ramifications of heaving the Recovery and Tools partitions?
    worst case senario
    There might be a non standard bootloader(for the recovery partition) &/or the partitions may all be out of order (seen that ), so bootup might look for Windows on the previous non standard partition: its fixable.
    Also, there is normally a Windows 'system reserved' partition. Make sure you get that one.

    It may be easiest to image as is (proportionally) and then manually remove the 2 unwanted partitions, then just increase the size of the C: last.
    Perhaps run CCleaner first to clear out temps & reduce total 'data' size.
    Last edited by 1101; 19-05-2015 at 05:16 PM.

  2. #12
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Plimmerton
    Posts
    3,421

    Default Re: SMART Error 301

    Thanks WT and 1101 for helpful replies.

    The test C: image restore to the spare went fine but I had to reboot to the Macrium PE disk to get it to fix the booting. After that it boots and runs fine.

    Then I found it was riddled with PUPs and a Trojan downloader or two. Thank goodness for MBAM! The faster machines tend to disguise the infections as they don't suffer as much from getting bogged down.

    Uninstalled every HP prog I could find. The fact that nothing broke says it all about the crap these companies install. Never figured why they do it.

    I got the size down to 52GB but 1101 you reminded me to try ccleaner as well. It came up with another 2.9GB. Every bit welcome!

    Interesting and educational exercise, anyway.

    And the SSD has been ordered! It's going to end up a quick little machine.

  3. #13
    Computer Technician wainuitech's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Wellington
    Posts
    28,038

    Default Re: SMART Error 301

    Want some more space ?? Run TFC http://www.bleepingcomputer.com/download/tfc/ It gets more than Ccleaner

  4. #14
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Plimmerton
    Posts
    3,421

    Default Re: SMART Error 301

    Only another 109MB! Now at 45.6GB. Good enough - leaves approx 75GB head room. That'll do.

Similar Threads

  1. Smart TV
    By Bryden in forum PressF1
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 07-03-2014, 10:21 AM
  2. Who's got an LG smart TV?
    By fred_fish in forum PressF1
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 30-11-2013, 09:29 AM
  3. Error 1706 re HP Smart Web Printing
    By bellbird in forum PressF1
    Replies: 12
    Last Post: 23-07-2008, 02:44 PM
  4. APC Smart 700 ups
    By bk T in forum PressF1
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 16-06-2006, 05:14 PM
  5. Replies: 1
    Last Post: 09-04-2002, 01:17 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •