Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 20
  1. #1
    Helper < Helped DeSade's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Earthquake HQ
    Posts
    3,663

    Default Cloning HardDrive

    I can't get Acronis True Image to work (which came with the drive)

    Can anyone point me to some free/cheap cloning software, I really need to replace my C Drive.
    The Internet moves in mysterious ways.

  2. #2
    Soaring like an Eagle gary67's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    In a field in Hanmer
    Posts
    14,520

    Default Re: Cloning HardDrive

    The trial of active@ lets you make a bootable flashdrive to do that.

  3. #3
    Computer Technician wainuitech's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Wellington
    Posts
    27,118

    Default Re: Cloning HardDrive

    I can't get Acronis True Image to work (which came with the drive)
    Is there some sort of error message, or simply doesn't work ?
    Update / Upgrades = Replace old bugs with new ones.

  4. #4
    Helper < Helped DeSade's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Earthquake HQ
    Posts
    3,663

    Default Re: Cloning HardDrive

    acronis loader fatal error boot drive (partition) not found

    I looked it up but I cannot follow the fix as I have no idea where my Win7 CD is after 5 moves.
    Last edited by DeSade; 16-01-2015 at 09:13 AM.
    The Internet moves in mysterious ways.

  5. #5
    Computer Technician wainuitech's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Wellington
    Posts
    27,118

    Default Re: Cloning HardDrive

    Quote Originally Posted by DeSade View Post
    acronis loader fatal error boot drive (partition) not found

    I looked it up but I cannot follow the fix as I have no idea where my Win7 CD is after 5 moves.
    What I suspect has happened is Acronis has not cloned the boot partition, LOTS of software doesn't always copy the hidden partition.

    If you want to download your W7 Version from http://www.w7forums.com/threads/offi...wnloads.12325/ They are legit ISO's, you would still need your own product key to install.

    Then follow what ever instructions you have, the ones from the following - http://www.howtogeek.com/howto/32523...ader-problems/ Use the startup repair first, that often fixes it.

    Failing that what Gary posted will work, as you can clone or image the complete drive.
    Update / Upgrades = Replace old bugs with new ones.

  6. #6
    Helper < Helped DeSade's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Earthquake HQ
    Posts
    3,663

    Default Re: Cloning HardDrive

    i want the entire c drive copied to a new SSD, this is not for backup or anything
    i do not relish reinstall of terrabytes of games.
    The Internet moves in mysterious ways.

  7. #7
    Computer Technician wainuitech's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Wellington
    Posts
    27,118

    Default Re: Cloning HardDrive

    Quote Originally Posted by DeSade View Post
    i want the entire c drive copied to a new SSD, this is not for backup or anything
    i do not relish reinstall of terrabytes of games.
    Windows 7 has a hidden partition that contains boot guff ( technical term eh ) anyway, Some cloning software wont see or clone the hidden partition, hence one possible reason it wouldn't boot and you got the error message.

    In reality, ( stay with me now -- Geek stuff) When Windows installs, the hidden partition is actually C the working drive partition is D. but because by default the first partition is hidden, then windows will see D as C, and label it as so.

    To prove it, (if you want) open a command Prompt by clicking start, type in CMD right click run as administrator.
    WARNING: type ONLY in bold what I put, pressing enter afterwards, type something wrong and you can wipe everything faster than saying oops, there are no "are you sures"

    Type Diskpart

    Type List Disk

    You'll see all the drives listed, select the main HDD by number if you have more than one, in this case mines drive 0
    Type Select Disk 0 ( you'll get a confirmation)
    Type list Partition There you will see the hidden partition of roughly 100MB as well as the actual working partition.

    Type Exit

    Type Exit ( again) to close it.
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Diskpart.jpg 
Views:	77 
Size:	97.4 KB 
ID:	6146

    If you want to copy only the C drive, to work, you'll need to take the hidden partition as well, Going by what you have written, do you have more than one partition on the HDD ? Eg: main drive then partitions containing other data OR how is it all laid out ( screenshot of HDD would help)? Disk cloning software usually will take only the whole drive.

    Another option is to use AOMEI Partition Assistant - That has a Migrate to SSD option, but its the whole drive not single partitions. http://www.disk-partition.com/free-p...n-manager.html Never actually tried it on a SSD, always used active@ ( as gary posted)

    If you have a couple of partitions on the drive that you dont want cloned, it can be done easily enough, but takes a couple of extra steps.
    Last edited by wainuitech; 16-01-2015 at 01:31 PM.
    Update / Upgrades = Replace old bugs with new ones.

  8. #8
    Helper < Helped DeSade's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Earthquake HQ
    Posts
    3,663

    Default Re: Cloning HardDrive

    My C Drive is a 80Gb SSD and I use the entire drive as C.
    I have a 250GB drive to swap to as my 80 is full which the entire drive will also be C

    No partitions (that I created) on either drive they are both just C drive

    So I want the entire contents a exact copy of the 80gb on the 250gb
    everything exactly the same and in the same place just with the 170GB of extra space

    Not sure this is needed but as for the rest

    D = Mainly utilities and MY Docs folder is also on D 2TB Partitioned into 1.7TB and 300GB)
    E = Games (full disk 2TB not partitioned)
    F = Media (Full disk (2TB not partitioned)
    G = Media (Full disk 2TB not partitioned)
    I = Backup (300GB physically partition from D)

    My new C Drive is currently residing in a hard drive caddy attached to a USB port.
    Last edited by DeSade; 16-01-2015 at 02:04 PM.
    The Internet moves in mysterious ways.

  9. #9
    Computer Technician wainuitech's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Wellington
    Posts
    27,118

    Default Re: Cloning HardDrive

    Either Active@or AOMEI Partition Assistant should do it then, its free.

    On AOMEI, there is an option to migrate to SSD: See pic, if you look at the bottom sections in green you can see the hidden partition on the main drive as well.

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Screenshot_1.png 
Views:	83 
Size:	69.3 KB 
ID:	6147


    Just a suggestion, if I were doing it, I would disconnect all the drives with the exception of the Main Drive and the SSD --- its a real bugger if you clone to the wrong drive by mistake ----- Whistles
    Update / Upgrades = Replace old bugs with new ones.

  10. #10
    Helper < Helped DeSade's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Earthquake HQ
    Posts
    3,663

    Default Re: Cloning HardDrive

    I will try AOMEI then
    a push button like that looks nice and simple.

    I have all my HDD's carefully labelled and I am very careful with my clicking. unplugging them all would be a nightmare.
    The Internet moves in mysterious ways.

Similar Threads

  1. Cloning HDD.
    By Bryan in forum PressF1
    Replies: 12
    Last Post: 10-10-2011, 08:26 AM
  2. cloning
    By NZHawk in forum PressF1
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 20-04-2010, 09:32 AM
  3. HDD Cloning
    By bk T in forum PressF1
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 22-05-2008, 05:35 PM
  4. HDD cloning
    By GrahamBar in forum PressF1
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 10-03-2006, 07:23 AM
  5. HDD: cloning; partitioning
    By agent in forum PressF1
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 14-06-2003, 04:07 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •