Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 12
  1. #1
    Senior Member GameJunkie's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    64 Bitville
    Posts
    5,182

    Question PC bluescreened when encoding video in handbrake

    so i started encoding a video in handbrake, and it got to 25ish percent done when it froze and my pc bsod



    the dump file mentioned nvlddmkm.sys as the potential issue



    realtemp said during the encoding that the cpu was in the low 70 celcius

    temps at idle are mid 30's, although it has been really warm lately



    my current overclock is @ 4.7GHz

    my current geforce driver is the latest 347.09



    I have encoded one video without issue
    This is the first time its BSOD on me, so im thinking its handbrake causing the issue??

    tried encoding again, but it comes up with an error caused by hal.dll and ntoskrnl.exe



    any other usage that i do on the pc is fine, just when i try to encode my video in handbrake





    is there another video encoding software i can use??
    Speed has never killed anyone, suddenly becoming stationary... That's what gets you.


    JOIN THE FREE FORUMS!!!!!!

  2. #2
    Computer Technician wainuitech's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Wellington
    Posts
    28,043

    Default Re: PC bluescreened when encoding video in handbrake

    When HB is trying to run its using the graphic Drivers this could be why you are getting the hal error.

    Have a read of the following, explains teh first error as well as a, which if it is the main cause then it should fix the second.

    is there another video encoding software i can use??
    Theres plenty, what are you trying to do ?

    Problem is if its the fault above then any other encoder will more than likely do similar errors.
    Last edited by wainuitech; 01-01-2015 at 09:03 PM.

  3. #3
    Senior Member GameJunkie's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    64 Bitville
    Posts
    5,182

    Default Re: PC bluescreened when encoding video in handbrake

    Quote Originally Posted by wainuitech View Post
    When HB is trying to run its using the graphic Drivers this could be why you are getting the hal error.

    Have a read of the following, explains teh first error as well as a, which if it is the main cause then it should fix the second.

    Theres plenty, what are you trying to do ?
    what am i reading WT???

    I've recorded gamplay using shadowplay, and i want to encode the file so its smaller to upload to youtube
    Speed has never killed anyone, suddenly becoming stationary... That's what gets you.


    JOIN THE FREE FORUMS!!!!!!

  4. #4
    Computer Technician wainuitech's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Wellington
    Posts
    28,043

    Default Re: PC bluescreened when encoding video in handbrake

    Okay, this time I'll put the link http://www.computertipsfree.com/fix-...-in-windows-7/

    One program that works well is Vidcoder http://vidcoder.codeplex.com/ Under Encoding - "setting" is where you fiddle about with sizing, output etc.
    Last edited by wainuitech; 01-01-2015 at 09:48 PM.

  5. #5
    Where is Metla these days Chilling_Silence's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Auckland
    Posts
    17,146

    Default Re: PC bluescreened when encoding video in handbrake

    What was your GPU temp during the encode?
    Download and keep Speccy open beside it while encoding. Free from piriform.com/speccy
    I mostly do Bitcoin & DigiByte things these days, feel free to say hi on Twitter: https://twitter.com/dgb_chilling

    Before you ask a question here, or before you get upset by a response, see here:
    http://www.catb.org/~esr/faqs/smart-...ons.html#intro

  6. #6
    Senior Member GameJunkie's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    64 Bitville
    Posts
    5,182

    Default Re: PC bluescreened when encoding video in handbrake

    Quote Originally Posted by Chilling_Silence View Post
    What was your GPU temp during the encode?
    Download and keep Speccy open beside it while encoding. Free from piriform.com/speccy
    bump

    not sure but the fans dont spin up until about 66 degrees
    Speed has never killed anyone, suddenly becoming stationary... That's what gets you.


    JOIN THE FREE FORUMS!!!!!!

  7. #7
    Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    NZ
    Posts
    44,851

    Default Re: PC bluescreened when encoding video in handbrake

    You'll be getting the hal.dll stop error, because of the overclock. Since a hal.dll crash is CPU related. Upload the dmp files somewhere like onedrive then post the link

  8. #8
    Senior Member GameJunkie's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    64 Bitville
    Posts
    5,182

    Default Re: PC bluescreened when encoding video in handbrake

    so i should knock the overclock back???

    i'll have to reinstall handbrake and re-encode the video
    Speed has never killed anyone, suddenly becoming stationary... That's what gets you.


    JOIN THE FREE FORUMS!!!!!!

  9. #9
    Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    NZ
    Posts
    44,851

    Default Re: PC bluescreened when encoding video in handbrake

    Yup. Or put it back to default. See if it crashes then.

  10. #10
    Senior Member fnphoto's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    90 Mile Beach
    Posts
    287

    Default Re: PC bluescreened when encoding video in handbrake

    I had the same problem, freezing using Premiere until I cut back my processor (AMD FX-8350) from 4.3 Mhz to 3.8. Never had a problem after that.

Similar Threads

  1. queing video in handbrake
    By GameJunkie in forum PressF1
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 15-05-2010, 03:29 PM
  2. Replies: 14
    Last Post: 16-12-2008, 07:30 PM
  3. Video encoding and game playing issues
    By ryangeezer in forum PressF1
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 22-04-2008, 01:29 AM
  4. Batch video converting/re-encoding
    By DukeStraykker in forum PressF1
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 21-01-2005, 02:28 PM
  5. Video Encoding
    By ApeNz in forum PressF1
    Replies: 27
    Last Post: 05-11-2004, 11:18 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •