Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1
    Senior Member GameJunkie's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    64 Bitville
    Posts
    5,182

    Question Reinstalling Windows 7

    Hi guys

    Currently my PC specs are FX-6300, Gigabyte 78LMT-S2P, GTX 660 SC, 8GB ram with my OS on a WD 1TB black, and a 2TB green drive as additional storage.

    Very soon I will be moving to a system consisting of a 4690K w/H100, GTX 660 SC(for now), 8GB 2400MHz ram, and i ill be reusing the above drives, all housed in an Air 540.

    Several questions: Can i just plug in the drives and be on my way???, or no??

    If i have to reinstall, will there be any problem using my product key again??

    Thanks
    Speed has never killed anyone, suddenly becoming stationary... That's what gets you.


    JOIN THE FREE FORUMS!!!!!!

  2. #2
    Senior Member pctek's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    In the Wild West
    Posts
    24,212

    Default Re: Reinstalling Windows 7

    Quote Originally Posted by GameJunkie View Post
    Very soon I will be moving to a system consisting of a 4690K w/H100, GTX 660 SC(for now), 8GB 2400MHz ram, and i ill be reusing the above drives, all housed in an Air 540.

    Several questions: Can i just plug in the drives and be on my way???, or no??

    If i have to reinstall, will there be any problem using my product key again??

    Thanks
    Motherboard different? Then yes, it will BSOD probably.
    If not too dissimilar then you can update the drivers and get away with it.

    O/S? Which one? Used to be you could get away with it, but newer stuff MS has made it way harder if there are any hardware chnages.
    wipe your paws.

  3. #3
    Computer Technician wainuitech's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Wellington
    Posts
    28,043

    Default Re: Reinstalling Windows 7

    Since the board will be changed it may throw a fit and simply blue screen. The Board listed is AMD where as the CPU listed is Intel.

    "Legally" if your OS is OEM then you are not allowed to change the OS to another system/Hardware, as its locked to the original Motherboard.

    Sometimes you can simply change drives and reinstall all the drivers etc, other times it will BSOD. ( there are ways around that as well) But often when changing like that its never the same as a fresh install. Some say windows will automatically boot and install drivers, -- But I can tell you now it doesn't always.

    As for reactivating if you have to you'll have to call MS and get it manually activated as their records will say its already been activated on another PC.

  4. #4
    Senior Member GameJunkie's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    64 Bitville
    Posts
    5,182

    Default Re: Reinstalling Windows 7

    Quote Originally Posted by pctek View Post
    Motherboard different? Then yes, it will BSOD probably.
    If not too dissimilar then you can update the drivers and get away with it.

    O/S? Which one? Used to be you could get away with it, but newer stuff MS has made it way harder if there are any hardware chnages.
    Windows 7 Home Premium

    Quote Originally Posted by wainuitech View Post
    Since the board will be changed it may throw a fit and simply blue screen. The Board listed is AMD where as the CPU listed is Intel.

    "Legally" if your OS is OEM then you are not allowed to change the OS to another system/Hardware, as its locked to the original Motherboard.

    Sometimes you can simply change drives and reinstall all the drivers etc, other times it will BSOD. ( there are ways around that as well) But often when changing like that its never the same as a fresh install. Some say windows will automatically boot and install drivers, -- But I can tell you now it doesn't always.

    As for reactivating if you have to you'll have to call MS and get it manually activated as their records will say its already been activated on another PC.
    I brought it when i built the PC last year

    Looks like a reinstall and a call to MS

    whats the number i would have to ring??
    Speed has never killed anyone, suddenly becoming stationary... That's what gets you.


    JOIN THE FREE FORUMS!!!!!!

  5. #5
    Senior Member GameJunkie's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    64 Bitville
    Posts
    5,182

    Default Re: Reinstalling Windows 7

    Edit: found the page on MS site on doing the phone activation

    Edit 2: the stuff on the second drive( The 2TB green), i can just plug that one in no trouble??
    Speed has never killed anyone, suddenly becoming stationary... That's what gets you.


    JOIN THE FREE FORUMS!!!!!!

  6. #6
    Computer Technician wainuitech's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Wellington
    Posts
    28,043

    Default Re: Reinstalling Windows 7

    Quote Originally Posted by GameJunkie View Post
    Edit: found the page on MS site on doing the phone activation

    Edit 2: the stuff on the second drive( The 2TB green), i can just plug that one in no trouble??

    As long as its only data on the second drive, no worries. Some people change the default location to install programs to a second drive, this may cause a problem if it was done.

    Microsoft Number 0800 676 334 / Option 1 ( know it off by heart, call them enough - Sad eh ! )
    Last edited by wainuitech; 06-11-2014 at 05:12 PM.

  7. #7
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2014
    Posts
    10

    Default Re: Reinstalling Windows 7

    Hi GameJunkie, hope you're doing good. As on your query, if the Windows 7 installation has been formatted or deleted, you can install it again on another computer. It can only be installed on one computer at a time. Even for that, you might have to call Microsoft and explain what happened to complete the activation.

    On top of that, you may replace any component of the computer except the motherboard without any problem with activation of an OEM Key. This is because OEM Keys are locked to the first motherboard on which they are activated. The only time they can be transferred to another motherboard is when it is replaced under warranty conditions.

    Alternatively, you may contact the Windows support team for more information on the Windows activation, here is the link for you:

    http://support.microsoft.com/contactus/

    Hope it helps.

Similar Threads

  1. reinstalling Windows 7
    By pct in forum PressF1
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 26-07-2013, 11:11 AM
  2. Try this before reinstalling Windows
    By i-gordon in forum PressF1
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 22-12-2005, 09:44 PM
  3. Reinstalling Windows
    By FrankC in forum PressF1
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 20-06-2003, 12:02 AM
  4. Reinstalling Windows 98
    By in forum PressF1
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 05-10-2000, 08:15 PM
  5. Reinstalling Windows 95
    By in forum PressF1
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 03-12-1999, 11:10 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •