Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast
Results 11 to 20 of 26
  1. #11
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2013
    Location
    Way out West.
    Posts
    1,486

    Default Re: Acer Iconia A3 cannot see my wireless network

    Quote Originally Posted by Jen View Post
    It was on channel 13. Just changed it to 11 and guess what? It works!

    Thanks to Speedy and Wainuitech too.
    For your sake, Jen, I hope your parents are technologically minded. Neither of my parents are and I am glad that they have an iPhone and an iPad between them (their choices based on their own research), rather than an Android device.
    Working on a few different projects.

  2. #12
    Computer Tech
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Oamaru
    Posts
    5,798

    Default Re: Acer Iconia A3 cannot see my wireless network

    Quote Originally Posted by Jen View Post
    It was on channel 13. Just changed it to 11 and guess what? It works!

    Thanks to Speedy and Wainuitech too.

  3. #13
    Computer Technician wainuitech's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Wellington
    Posts
    27,507

    Default Re: Acer Iconia A3 cannot see my wireless network

    Its all a process of elimination, trying basic things and asking the questions.

    You'd be surprised ( or not) how many times techs get calls " my wireless is not working" you ask is it turned on, on the device / Laptop. YES------- get there, press one button -- the Turn on wireless, and it all works
    Update / Upgrades = Replace old bugs with new ones.

  4. #14
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Posts
    2,703

    Default Re: Acer Iconia A3 cannot see my wireless network

    That is quite a common problem
    Many devices from the United States, such as Apple products and Xbox, will not operate on Ch 13


    Quote Originally Posted by Jen View Post
    It was on channel 13. Just changed it to 11 and guess what? It works!

    Thanks to Speedy and Wainuitech too.

  5. #15
    Unknown Device wratterus's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Top of the South
    Posts
    12,338

    Default Re: Acer Iconia A3 cannot see my wireless network

    I was just going to say that too, nice one. Very common problem.
    Microsoft: "You've got questions. We've got dancing paperclips."

  6. #16
    Moderator Jen's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Auckland
    Posts
    8,210

    Default Re: Acer Iconia A3 cannot see my wireless network

    Might be a common problem, but it was new one to me.

    Thanks to the helpful members, I can add this to my repertoire of 'things to consider' when dealing with future problems.

  7. #17
    Computer "Specialist" Agent_24's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    64 Bitville
    Posts
    14,184

    Default Re: Acer Iconia A3 cannot see my wireless network

    Quote Originally Posted by Safari View Post
    Many devices from the United States, such as Apple products and Xbox, will not operate on Ch 13
    Channel 13 doesn't work... *spooky*

    Non-system disk or disk error. Replace and strike any key when ready.

  8. #18
    Apple free in Appleby KarameaDave's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    Near Drummond, Southland
    Posts
    4,987

    Default Re: Acer Iconia A3 cannot see my wireless network

    Quote Originally Posted by Webdevguy View Post
    For your sake, Jen, I hope your parents are technologically minded. Neither of my parents are and I am glad that they have an iPhone and an iPad between them (their choices based on their own research), rather than an Android device.
    Not only shilling for cRapple, but channel 13 wouldn't have worked with an iCrap anyway!

    Stunning fail!!! LoL..... your parents must be proud.
    FTW

  9. #19
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2013
    Location
    Way out West.
    Posts
    1,486

    Default Re: Acer Iconia A3 cannot see my wireless network

    Quote Originally Posted by KarameaDave View Post
    Not only shilling for cRapple, but channel 13 wouldn't have worked with an iCrap anyway!

    Stunning fail!!! LoL..... your parents must be proud.
    Considering that neither of them like getting used to new technology, that they have two devices that both work well on their wireless network at home. So a "stunning fail" it is not

    The purchased the iPhone and iPad after getting advise from the store that they visited. I only found out about the purchases when I went over for dinner.
    Working on a few different projects.

  10. #20
    Computer Tech
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Oamaru
    Posts
    5,798

    Default Re: Acer Iconia A3 cannot see my wireless network

    Quote Originally Posted by Webdevguy View Post
    Considering that neither of them like getting used to new technology, that they have two devices that both work well on their wireless network at home. So a "stunning fail" it is not

    The purchased the iPhone and iPad after getting advise from the store that they visited. I only found out about the purchases when I went over for dinner.
    And good advice it was too, Apple is much better for those that aren't technically minded.
    My parents both have an iPad and Mum has an iPhone while Dad has a Samsung S5 phone.
    Neither of them have issues using their Apple devices but dad can't get the hang of the S5.
    He only has the S5 as it is work phone.

Similar Threads

  1. Acer Iconia A200 8GB
    By dugimodo in forum PC World Chat
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 27-03-2012, 01:44 PM
  2. Replies: 3
    Last Post: 01-10-2011, 04:58 PM
  3. Acer laptop not conneting to wireless network
    By mohadino in forum PressF1
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 29-12-2009, 03:18 PM
  4. Replies: 3
    Last Post: 28-12-2009, 01:42 PM
  5. Replies: 2
    Last Post: 02-01-2008, 06:54 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •