Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 26
  1. #1
    Moderator Jen's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Auckland
    Posts
    8,210

    Default Acer Iconia A3 cannot see my wireless network

    Hi all,

    I've just got my parents a reconditioned Acer Iconia A3-A10 tablet from PBTech - it is running Android 4.2.2. I am trying to connect it to my wireless network so I can update it and load a few apps before giving it to them. However, it does not see my wireless network. It can see the neighbours networks OK.

    My router/modem is set up to broadcast SSID but I do have it set to only accept certain MAC addresses. I did add the Acer MAC address but it still didn't see the wireless network. Next up I changed the router/modem to allow access from all connections, but this did not help - it is still invisible. I tried to add the network manually but it shows up on the Acer as 'not in range'. This is while standing right next to the router/modem!

    I can connect the Acer to the internet via my Nexus 4 smartphone but as I only have a limited mobile data plan that is not an option.

    I also tried to set my laptop as a ad-hoc wireless connection, but that was hopeless too and got ignored by the Acer.

    So, any suggestions?

    Thanks.

  2. #2
    Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    NZ
    Posts
    44,851

    Default Re: Acer Iconia A3 cannot see my wireless network

    Did they test it at Pbtech to make sure it worked? While you were there?

  3. #3
    Computer Technician wainuitech's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Wellington
    Posts
    27,508

    Default Re: Acer Iconia A3 cannot see my wireless network

    However, it does not see my wireless network. It can see the neighbours networks OK.
    Other wireless devices you have, can they see your own network OK ? Sounds more like the Router is not transmitting, esp if it can see your Neighbors.
    Update / Upgrades = Replace old bugs with new ones.

  4. #4
    Moderator Jen's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Auckland
    Posts
    8,210

    Default Re: Acer Iconia A3 cannot see my wireless network

    Quote Originally Posted by Speedy Gonzales View Post
    Did they test it at Pbtech to make sure it worked? While you were there?
    It was still factory sealed, so I wasn't able to start it up.

  5. #5
    Moderator Jen's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Auckland
    Posts
    8,210

    Default Re: Acer Iconia A3 cannot see my wireless network

    Quote Originally Posted by wainuitech View Post
    Other wireless devices you have, can they see your own network OK ? Sounds more like the Router is not transmitting, esp if it can see your Neighbors.
    My laptop, Samsung tablet and Nexus smartphone can all see my wireless network and connect without any issues. It is just the Acer tablet that can see the neighbours networks etc, but not mine.

    I tried powering off the Linksys WAG200G modem/router between changing settings, but even with allowing access to any device and broadcasting the SSID it is not seen by the Acer. I don't have a spare wireless modem to try.

    I was thinking the router, but it works OK for other devices.

  6. #6
    Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    NZ
    Posts
    44,851

    Default Re: Acer Iconia A3 cannot see my wireless network

    Since it looks like the modem is wireless G. The Acer isnt on wireless N only or something is it?

  7. #7
    Moderator Jen's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Auckland
    Posts
    8,210

    Default Re: Acer Iconia A3 cannot see my wireless network

    The specs says it does Wireless LAN Standard IEEE 802.11b/g/n. I would have thought it would just auto-detect. My Samsung Galaxy Tab Pro is only a few months old and it is OK on the network.

  8. #8
    Computer Tech
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Oamaru
    Posts
    5,798

    Default Re: Acer Iconia A3 cannot see my wireless network

    What channel is the wireless set to on the router?
    Often if they are set to auto they will sit on Channel 13 and not all devices can see that one.
    Change it to 11,6 or 1.

  9. #9
    Moderator Jen's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Auckland
    Posts
    8,210

    Default Re: Acer Iconia A3 cannot see my wireless network

    Quote Originally Posted by CYaBro View Post
    What channel is the wireless set to on the router?
    Often if they are set to auto they will sit on Channel 13 and not all devices can see that one.
    Change it to 11,6 or 1.
    It was on channel 13. Just changed it to 11 and guess what? It works!

    Thanks to Speedy and Wainuitech too.

  10. #10
    Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    NZ
    Posts
    44,851

    Default Re: Acer Iconia A3 cannot see my wireless network

    Sweet !

Similar Threads

  1. Acer Iconia A200 8GB
    By dugimodo in forum PC World Chat
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 27-03-2012, 01:44 PM
  2. Replies: 3
    Last Post: 01-10-2011, 04:58 PM
  3. Acer laptop not conneting to wireless network
    By mohadino in forum PressF1
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 29-12-2009, 03:18 PM
  4. Replies: 3
    Last Post: 28-12-2009, 01:42 PM
  5. Replies: 2
    Last Post: 02-01-2008, 06:54 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •