Results 1 to 9 of 9
  1. #1
    Member mzee's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Posts
    2,462

    Question DrayTek Vigor DV130 ADSL/VDSL Modem Router,VDSL2/A

    Is the "DrayTek Vigor DV130 ADSL/VDSL Modem Router,VDSL2/A" reliable?

    $148 new.

  2. #2
    Unknown Device wratterus's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Top of the South
    Posts
    12,338

    Default Re: DrayTek Vigor DV130 ADSL/VDSL Modem Router,VDSL2/A

    Very much so.
    Microsoft: "You've got questions. We've got dancing paperclips."

  3. #3
    Helper < Helped DeSade's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Earthquake HQ
    Posts
    3,670

    Default Re: DrayTek Vigor DV130 ADSL/VDSL Modem Router,VDSL2/A

    One of the best you can buy
    The Internet moves in mysterious ways.

  4. #4
    Member mzee's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Posts
    2,462

    Default Re: DrayTek Vigor DV130 ADSL/VDSL Modem Router,VDSL2/A

    Thanks. I have an "Innbox" which is erratic, and my old Routers will not handle VDSL2

  5. #5
    Where is Metla these days Chilling_Silence's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Auckland
    Posts
    17,146

    Default Re: DrayTek Vigor DV130 ADSL/VDSL Modem Router,VDSL2/A

    The DV130 is one of the best. Combo that with something like a TP-Link TL-WR1043ND (v2) running Gargoyle firmware and you'll have months and months of uptime!! Mine lasted for several months without a single reboot, only died due to a power outage. I give mine a *hammering* too, with a few hundred gigs a month, roughly 2 dozen devices, and I host a number of services such as TeamSpeak which make lesser routers cry!

    The V50-U Innbox was OK but didn't hold up well under load. It was better than most of the likes of the Thomson TG589Vn etc, but still not the most stable in the world, and didn't hold a candle against the DV130.
    The V51 Innbox is much better, it's got almost identical internals to the Netcomm NF4V, but the casing is much better with better WiFi strength and it doesn't overheat (better airflow). The firmware I found to be much more reliable, second only again to the DrayTek DV130.
    I mostly do Bitcoin & DigiByte things these days, feel free to say hi on Twitter: https://twitter.com/dgb_chilling

    Before you ask a question here, or before you get upset by a response, see here:
    http://www.catb.org/~esr/faqs/smart-...ons.html#intro

  6. #6
    Network Engineer SolMiester's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    Napier
    Posts
    8,184

    Default Re: DrayTek Vigor DV130 ADSL/VDSL Modem Router,VDSL2/A

    Quote Originally Posted by Chilling_Silence View Post
    The DV130 is one of the best. Combo that with something like a TP-Link TL-WR1043ND (v2) running Gargoyle firmware and you'll have months and months of uptime!! Mine lasted for several months without a single reboot, only died due to a power outage. I give mine a *hammering* too, with a few hundred gigs a month, roughly 2 dozen devices, and I host a number of services such as TeamSpeak which make lesser routers cry!

    The V50-U Innbox was OK but didn't hold up well under load. It was better than most of the likes of the Thomson TG589Vn etc, but still not the most stable in the world, and didn't hold a candle against the DV130.
    The V51 Innbox is much better, it's got almost identical internals to the Netcomm NF4V, but the casing is much better with better WiFi strength and it doesn't overheat (better airflow). The firmware I found to be much more reliable, second only again to the DrayTek DV130.
    TBH, i havent had to cycle my Technicolor TG589vn v2 in months either. In fact, I havent have to reboot it once since going onto VDSL about 9 mths ago, although we have had a power outage once or twice!
    HOME-LianLi PC-9F,ASRock P67Pro3, i5 2500k @4Ghz, 8Gb HyperX, ASUS GTX660 OC, Corsair Force 120 SSD, HP zIPS22", HOME SERVER HP ML110G6 HOST-Plex\Ubuntu\8

  7. #7
    Member mzee's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Posts
    2,462

    Default Re: DrayTek Vigor DV130 ADSL/VDSL Modem Router,VDSL2/A

    I want to ask a stupid question! I have 3 ADSL2 Modem/Routers, all work. Is it possible to use ADSL2 routers on VDSL2?

  8. #8
    IT Contractor
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Posts
    2,677

    Default Re: DrayTek Vigor DV130 ADSL/VDSL Modem Router,VDSL2/A

    Quote Originally Posted by mzee View Post
    I want to ask a stupid question! I have 3 ADSL2 Modem/Routers, all work. Is it possible to use ADSL2 routers on VDSL2?
    Only if they're VDSL-capable, which most will not be.
    Windows 7 x64 // i5-3570K // 16GB DDR3-1600 // GTX660Ti 2GB // Samsung 830 120GB SSD // OCZ Agility4 120GB SSD
    Windows 7 x64 // Phenom II 955 // 8GB DDR3-1333 // GTX460 1GB // Corsair Force3 120GB SSD
    Samsung Galaxy S4 GT-I9505

  9. #9
    Where is Metla these days Chilling_Silence's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Auckland
    Posts
    17,146

    Default Re: DrayTek Vigor DV130 ADSL/VDSL Modem Router,VDSL2/A

    Quote Originally Posted by SolMiester View Post
    TBH, i havent had to cycle my Technicolor TG589vn v2 in months either. In fact, I havent have to reboot it once since going onto VDSL about 9 mths ago, although we have had a power outage once or twice!
    They crash on my network in under 20 minutes :-/ They just die under the load...
    I mostly do Bitcoin & DigiByte things these days, feel free to say hi on Twitter: https://twitter.com/dgb_chilling

    Before you ask a question here, or before you get upset by a response, see here:
    http://www.catb.org/~esr/faqs/smart-...ons.html#intro

Similar Threads

  1. Draytek Vigor 120 and Thomson TG585v5
    By jcr1 in forum PressF1
    Replies: 17
    Last Post: 20-10-2013, 07:58 AM
  2. DrayTek Vigor DV120 ADSL Modem?
    By EFFIGY in forum PressF1
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 14-06-2013, 04:32 PM
  3. Replies: 1
    Last Post: 26-04-2013, 09:07 PM
  4. Vigor 2600 ADSL Modem
    By Big John in forum PressF1
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 04-04-2003, 06:24 AM
  5. Replies: 3
    Last Post: 27-02-2003, 09:41 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •