Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 13
  1. #1
    Web Developer dpDesignz's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    Hamilton, New Zealand
    Posts
    462

    Default Port Forwarding on the Huawei HG659 - Telecom Router

    We have just received a Huawei HG659 - Telecom Router for work, and I need to port forward to my Spiceworks install on a local computer.

    I've followed the instructions on their help page (http://help.telecom.co.nz/app/answer...hg659%2Fhg659b) but it doesn't seem to work.

    We have a static IP, which if I enter that will go to my router config page, but when I try enter the port number it won't load the page.

    I've got a static IP on the computer that Spiceworks is installed on and I've allowed the program through the firewall, but it just isn't loading.

    Telecom support weren't much help either. :/

    Does anyone have any ideas I could try?

    It's installed on port 1080 on my computer, which when using a port checker shows that's open.

    Cheers
    Windows 10.1 Pro 64Bit // Intel i7-950 Nehalem 3.06GHz // 48GB DDR3 // EVGA GeForce GTX780 Superclocked ACX 6GB GDDR5 // Samsung EVO 250GB

  2. #2
    Computer "Specialist" Agent_24's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    64 Bitville
    Posts
    14,074

    Default Re: Port Forwarding on the Huawei HG659 - Telecom Router

    Quote Originally Posted by dpDesignz View Post
    We have a static IP, which if I enter that will go to my router config page, but when I try enter the port number it won't load the page.
    Can you explain that part in more detail? What IP are you talking about? LAN or WAN? Where are you entering it?
    Non-system disk or disk error. Replace and strike any key when ready.

  3. #3
    Senior Member 1101's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    5,793

    Default Re: Port Forwarding on the Huawei HG659 - Telecom Router

    Some of the Telecom modems can be a nightmare for this sort of thing. In the past Ive seen a few that just dont want to do this.
    Sometimes its easier to get a better modem/router, Im not sure about that one, might be OK ? maybee not.

    http://help.telecom.co.nz/app/answer...hg659%2Fhg659b
    Last edited by 1101; 27-06-2014 at 12:12 PM.

  4. #4
    Web Developer dpDesignz's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    Hamilton, New Zealand
    Posts
    462

    Default Re: Port Forwarding on the Huawei HG659 - Telecom Router

    So our phone line has a static IP assigned by Telecom. If I enter it into a device not connected to the network (ie my smartphone over data) I get the router page fine, but if I enter the port number I've assigned to forward it won't connect.
    Windows 10.1 Pro 64Bit // Intel i7-950 Nehalem 3.06GHz // 48GB DDR3 // EVGA GeForce GTX780 Superclocked ACX 6GB GDDR5 // Samsung EVO 250GB

  5. #5
    Web Developer dpDesignz's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    Hamilton, New Zealand
    Posts
    462

    Default Re: Port Forwarding on the Huawei HG659 - Telecom Router

    Quote Originally Posted by 1101 View Post
    I think you might be completely on the wrong track.
    You need a static IP on the PC
    Some of the Telecom modems can be a nightmare for this sort of thing. In the past Ive a few that just dont want to do this.
    Sometimes its easier to get a better modem/router, Im not sure about that one, might be OK ? maybee not.

    http://help.telecom.co.nz/app/answer...hg659%2Fhg659b
    As in original post "I've got a static IP on the computer that Spiceworks is installed on and I've allowed the program through the firewall, but it just isn't loading."
    Last edited by dpDesignz; 27-06-2014 at 12:15 PM.
    Windows 10.1 Pro 64Bit // Intel i7-950 Nehalem 3.06GHz // 48GB DDR3 // EVGA GeForce GTX780 Superclocked ACX 6GB GDDR5 // Samsung EVO 250GB

  6. #6
    Computer "Specialist" Agent_24's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    64 Bitville
    Posts
    14,074

    Default Re: Port Forwarding on the Huawei HG659 - Telecom Router

    I assume you have tested it locally, ie: try to load it locally from another machine on your LAN, using the host's LAN IP and port?
    Non-system disk or disk error. Replace and strike any key when ready.

  7. #7
    Web Developer dpDesignz's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    Hamilton, New Zealand
    Posts
    462

    Default Re: Port Forwarding on the Huawei HG659 - Telecom Router

    Quote Originally Posted by Agent_24 View Post
    I assume you have tested it locally, ie: try to load it locally from another machine on your LAN, using the host's LAN IP and port?
    Correct. . It runs fine locally for the last 9 months or so. I've just never tried to set this up because we were on a Vodafone router which didn't allow forwarding. So I decided to give it a go with the new router.
    Windows 10.1 Pro 64Bit // Intel i7-950 Nehalem 3.06GHz // 48GB DDR3 // EVGA GeForce GTX780 Superclocked ACX 6GB GDDR5 // Samsung EVO 250GB

  8. #8
    Web Developer dpDesignz's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    Hamilton, New Zealand
    Posts
    462

    Default Re: Port Forwarding on the Huawei HG659 - Telecom Router

    Ok so I'm still trying to sort this. I've managed to get the router accessible by using the IP address. I've setup the port trigger and setup the port forwarding. I've allowed both the programmes and ports through my firewall, and still no luck! . I even tried disabling my firewall and my routers but still no luck. I just get a "connection timeout" error. Does anyone have any ideas on what I could try next?
    Windows 10.1 Pro 64Bit // Intel i7-950 Nehalem 3.06GHz // 48GB DDR3 // EVGA GeForce GTX780 Superclocked ACX 6GB GDDR5 // Samsung EVO 250GB

  9. #9
    Computer "Specialist" Agent_24's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    64 Bitville
    Posts
    14,074

    Default Re: Port Forwarding on the Huawei HG659 - Telecom Router

    Did you restart router after setting up the rules? Some require it to work properly, even if they don't tell you to.

    It's also quite a possibility the router has shitty firmware that just doesn't work. Try a different router to at least narrow the problem down, preferably one you know can forward ports properly.
    Non-system disk or disk error. Replace and strike any key when ready.

  10. #10
    Unknown Device wratterus's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Top of the South
    Posts
    12,271

    Default Re: Port Forwarding on the Huawei HG659 - Telecom Router

    Those modems are mutts to port forward on, but in saying that I've done plenty and they've worked fine.
    Microsoft: "You've got questions. We've got dancing paperclips."

Similar Threads

  1. Port forwarding, RTA300 router - urgent
    By E|im in forum PressF1
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 08-12-2004, 10:37 PM
  2. Replies: 5
    Last Post: 07-09-2004, 12:51 PM
  3. Port Forwarding for VPN
    By Growly in forum PressF1
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 18-05-2004, 10:27 PM
  4. Port Forwarding??
    By heni72847 in forum PressF1
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 19-08-2003, 11:41 PM
  5. Port forwarding for games on an ADSL router?
    By DMcKenzie in forum PressF1
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 20-07-2003, 01:09 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •