Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 19
  1. #1
    Where is Metla these days Chilling_Silence's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Auckland
    Posts
    17,146

    Default CGA returns: packaging?

    Hi all,

    So I bought a UPS. Problem is this one shuts down after exactly 5 minutes of being on battery. It shouldn't, I can power it off then back on again and it'll run for another 5 mins, and it'll keep doing this for over 3 hours.

    Took it back to PBTech, they tried telling me that's normal (BS that's normal!). Then they're trying to wrangle their way outta it coz I only have the box, the CD that came with it, the UPS itself and the power cable, but not the styrofoam packaging for inside the box.

    I'm not seeing anything specifically in here about them charging a restocking fee because the packaging is missing, or whatever, based on the CGA.

    Anybody had any experience in this?

    Cheers


    Chill.
    I mostly do Bitcoin & DigiByte things these days, feel free to say hi on Twitter: https://twitter.com/dgb_chilling

    Before you ask a question here, or before you get upset by a response, see here:
    http://www.catb.org/~esr/faqs/smart-...ons.html#intro

  2. #2
    Senior Member pctek's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    In the Wild West
    Posts
    24,212

    Default Re: CGA returns: packaging?

    Quote Originally Posted by Chilling_Silence View Post
    Took it back to PBTech, they tried telling me that's normal (BS that's normal!). Then they're trying to wrangle their way outta it.
    Wondered how long it would take before you struck that.

    They do this sort of thing all the time, right from when they very first opened, the very first store. Nothing has indicated they have changed any since.

    I suggest you see the manager, make noises about CGA, bring up the Disputes Tribunal and watch them co-operate.
    wipe your paws.

  3. #3
    Computer Technician wainuitech's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Wellington
    Posts
    28,038

    Default Re: CGA returns: packaging?

    Two things;

    1.Whats the Make and model of UPS ?
    Sure its not a power Setting in the Computer turning it off, 5 minutes sounds like a default time for a power shutdown.

    2. The packaging is a load of BS, some places say you have to have the original packaging, but this is generally only because some people cant package something to save themselves , and being in the original packaging assures that it can travel without being damaged.
    Example, Samsung warranty wording says it all really
    Whenever possible, the product should be returned in its original carton and packing or alternatively in packing suitable to prevent damage to the product. Samsung will not accept responsibility for damage to the product during this transport caused by unsuitable or inadequate packing.
    Normally when I sell Computers I suggest to people to keep the motherboard box. While its not essential its always handy if having to do a RMA claim, AND I always put any paid software licenses CD/DVD's in there as well, that way they know where they are.

    As for the CGA, they state
    Can the trader reduce my refund because I cannot return the goods in their original packaging?

    No. The Act entitles you to a refund of the amount you paid. In our view it is reasonable that packaging might be broken or thrown away before a fault is discovered

  4. #4
    Computer "Specialist" Agent_24's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    64 Bitville
    Posts
    14,292

    Default Re: CGA returns: packaging?

    Is it a cheap UPS?

    Low end UPSes often don't have adequate cooling or a big enough transformer to run indefinitely, so battery capacity means nothing, it will auto-shutdown after a specified time or when it gets too hot.
    Non-system disk or disk error. Replace and strike any key when ready.

  5. #5
    Where is Metla these days Chilling_Silence's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Auckland
    Posts
    17,146

    Default Re: CGA returns: packaging?

    There was no mention anywhere of the shut-off though.

    Definitely not the PC, happens if I have a Cellphone charger as the only thing done, or a router too...

  6. #6
    Computer Technician wainuitech's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Wellington
    Posts
    28,038

    Default Re: CGA returns: packaging?

    As asked before ---- 1.Whats the Make and model of UPS ?

  7. #7
    Where is Metla these days Chilling_Silence's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Auckland
    Posts
    17,146

    Default Re: CGA returns: packaging?

    Pass, took it back, they have it there to Henderson but they're now discussing with the Penrose branch (Main branch) how they're gonna handle it. Some el-cheapo brand...
    I mostly do Bitcoin & DigiByte things these days, feel free to say hi on Twitter: https://twitter.com/dgb_chilling

    Before you ask a question here, or before you get upset by a response, see here:
    http://www.catb.org/~esr/faqs/smart-...ons.html#intro

  8. #8
    Senior Member pctek's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    In the Wild West
    Posts
    24,212

    Default Re: CGA returns: packaging?

    Quote Originally Posted by Chilling_Silence View Post
    they have it there to Henderson but they're now discussing with the Penrose branch (Main branch) how they're gonna handle it.
    When they first opened I made the mistake of buying something off them.
    When I took it back (wasn't a fault, it was a incorrect description) he lost his english.

    It took until Disputes was actually filed before he rang me and agreed to replace it.
    Sudden english skills there too.....

    While he did it, he ranted on and on about how unfair it was and what a ***** I was.
    As I said, nothing has changed since, have seen others get the same kind of result over and over....
    wipe your paws.

  9. #9
    Senior Member paulw's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Auckland / Tauranga
    Posts
    4,079

    Default Re: CGA returns: packaging?

    I always kep all my packaging for the first 12 months just in case. Yep PBTech is great at selling things but if there's a problem they don't want to know you from my experience...
    Regards,

    Paul W
    Taco Bell is not a Mexican telephone company

  10. #10
    Computer Technician wainuitech's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Wellington
    Posts
    28,038

    Default Re: CGA returns: packaging?

    I've actually got a dealers account with them , BUT never use it because they dont honor the actual REAL warranties.

    Once I asked why did they only put a 1 year warranty for example on some components ( gigabyte and ASUS Motherboards) when in fact they have 3 Year by the manufacture ?

    The reply was -- We put 1 year, if you want the other 2 years, if theres a problem YOU need to contact the manufactures directly --- Errrrr NO, you are the supplier -- Well thats how it is !

    Never been back since

Similar Threads

  1. Top Gear returns
    By gary67 in forum PC World Chat
    Replies: 33
    Last Post: 30-01-2013, 11:16 AM
  2. Pinnacle USB TV Stick Lost packaging
    By Newteach in forum PressF1
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 08-11-2010, 06:59 PM
  3. CBM Returns!
    By SurferJoe46 in forum PC World Chat
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 30-08-2010, 12:00 PM
  4. packaging pc
    By ahoundau in forum PressF1
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 12-01-2004, 06:04 PM
  5. Clock returns to 00.00
    By in forum PressF1
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 14-05-2001, 05:02 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •