Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 12
  1. #1
    Needs a reversed Cougar! tuiruru's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Posts
    1,577

    Default Is it possible to migrate to another laptop using an image from the old one?

    Hi all

    It's ages since I've been on here but it's nice to see that a lot of the old names (sorry, that should probably be "familiar names") are still active.

    I've been experiencing problems with my Toshiba laptop (I'll post about them in a different thread a bit later on). I've been using Active@ Disc Image software as recommended by Wainuitech a few years ago (is he still around). It saves the image as a .adi file, and the emergency boot USB that the software created will get me into the image (the laptop won't let it go any further).

    So, as an interim measure I was wondering if I could restore an image to another laptop (eg if I have to buy a new one) so that I can carry on working. I know that will effectively obliterate what's on the receiving laptop, but I was wondering how much "architecture" info is stored in the image and whether this will actually produce a functioning laptop.

    Thanks in anticipation .......... I wait with bated breath!
    Noli illegitimi carborundorum

    As I hurtled through space one thought kept crossing my mind. Every part of this capsule was supplied by the lowest bidder.
    John Glenn

  2. #2
    Computer Technician wainuitech's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Wellington
    Posts
    28,108

    Default Re: Is it possible to migrate to another laptop using an image from the old one?

    Narrr I'm not here

    If its another toshiba it "May" load straight in depending on the age difference, any other brand it more than likely will not work. ( hardware to different) Sometimes they pick up and install fine other times they wont.

    If you don't mind experimenting and as you mentioned it will wipe the data from the drive you are imaging to, then try it and see what happens. If it turns turtle then what you can also try, is with the image on the laptop, run The Program from this page on the drive thats playing up. I had the program already on another paragon bootable CD but never used it, till a week or so back, then the OS booted on completely different hardware.

    In the process of doing the above now, I want to get a HP Drive booting on a workshop PC, its W7 and simply crashes when trying to boot, the hardware /drivers are to different, and its a HP after all

  3. #3
    Computer "Specialist" Agent_24's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    64 Bitville
    Posts
    14,305

    Default Re: Is it possible to migrate to another laptop using an image from the old one?

    If you get a new laptop you might as well just do a clean install of Windows and your programs, and copy your files over. It may well be a lot less hassle than trying to make an installation of Windows from one machine work on another one.

    Plus you get the benefit of a fresh Windows installation.
    Non-system disk or disk error. Replace and strike any key when ready.

  4. #4
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Plimmerton
    Posts
    3,421

    Default Re: Is it possible to migrate to another laptop using an image from the old one?

    Why would he have to install Windows on a newly bought machine??

  5. #5
    Computer "Specialist" Agent_24's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    64 Bitville
    Posts
    14,305

    Default Re: Is it possible to migrate to another laptop using an image from the old one?

    To blow out all the pre-installed crapware of course
    Non-system disk or disk error. Replace and strike any key when ready.

  6. #6
    Needs a reversed Cougar! tuiruru's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Posts
    1,577

    Default Re: Is it possible to migrate to another laptop using an image from the old one?

    Thanks for the replies guys.

    To give you a better idea of where I'm at, or coming from, (or something), I've started a new thread about my actual laptop woes here.
    Noli illegitimi carborundorum

    As I hurtled through space one thought kept crossing my mind. Every part of this capsule was supplied by the lowest bidder.
    John Glenn

  7. #7
    Needs a reversed Cougar! tuiruru's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Posts
    1,577

    Default Re: Is it possible to migrate to another laptop using an image from the old one?

    Quote Originally Posted by Agent_24 View Post
    To blow out all the pre-installed crapware of course
    Still the same old agent I see!!
    Noli illegitimi carborundorum

    As I hurtled through space one thought kept crossing my mind. Every part of this capsule was supplied by the lowest bidder.
    John Glenn

  8. #8
    Needs a reversed Cougar! tuiruru's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Posts
    1,577

    Default Re: Is it possible to migrate to another laptop using an image from the old one?

    Quote Originally Posted by wainuitech View Post
    Narrr I'm not here
    Thank Goodness. I'm really glad about that! Yesterday I tried doing a search for you whilst on my Asus Tablet, but couldn't turn you up
    Noli illegitimi carborundorum

    As I hurtled through space one thought kept crossing my mind. Every part of this capsule was supplied by the lowest bidder.
    John Glenn

  9. #9
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Plimmerton
    Posts
    3,421

    Default Re: Is it possible to migrate to another laptop using an image from the old one?

    Quote Originally Posted by Agent_24 View Post
    To blow out all the pre-installed crapware of course
    Of course!! Damn good option.

  10. #10
    Computer Technician wainuitech's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Wellington
    Posts
    28,108

    Default Re: Is it possible to migrate to another laptop using an image from the old one?

    Quote Originally Posted by tuiruru View Post
    I tried doing a search for you whilst on my Asus Tablet, but couldn't turn you up
    I was down for repairs at the time

Similar Threads

  1. Manual migrate Elements how ?
    By Organicpete in forum PressF1
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 04-10-2013, 09:40 AM
  2. Replies: 4
    Last Post: 08-02-2010, 06:07 PM
  3. Bad Image on laptop
    By Gedc in forum PressF1
    Replies: 15
    Last Post: 18-06-2009, 12:54 PM
  4. backup win2000 to migrate to xp
    By videoguy in forum PressF1
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 09-11-2005, 12:51 PM
  5. Migrate Hard Drives
    By ninja in forum PressF1
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 10-12-2004, 09:20 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •